Weekend Cooking: Gourmet Today

Hosted by Candace over at Beth Fish Reads, Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post toshare: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, fabulous quotations, photographs.

 

Gourmet Today

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Sept. 2009

Life has been so busy this month with school piling on homework and all the kids getting sick. It was practically impossible for my daughter and I to try out any new recipes. Yesterday with the wind blowing and rain pounding, my mother had a craving for roasted chicken. I was happy to make it for her but I couldn’t find my recipe or remember where I got the recipe from. I decided to try out Gourmet Today’s recipe for Salt Roasted Chicken.

Salt Roasted Chicken

Serves 4

Active Time: 15 minutes

Start to Finish: 13 hours for overnight salting

 

1 (3 ½ pound) chicken, rinsed and patted dry

2 ¼ teaspoons of fine sea salt

¼ teaspoon of freshly ground black pepper

1 tablespoon unsalted butter, softened

3 ( ¼ inch thick) lemon slices

Sprinkle chicken inside and out with sea salt and pepper. Set in a shallow dish, cover loosely with plastic wrap, and refrigerate for at least 12 hours. Put a rack in the middle of oven and preheat oven to 500◦F.

Pat chicken dry. Rub skin with butter and put lemon slices in cavity. Place chicken in a small roasting pan, transfer to oven, and reduce oven temp to 425◦F. Roast chicken, basting occasionally with pan juices, until thermometer inserted 2 inches into fleshy part of thigh registers 170◦F, about 50 minutes.

Let chicken stand for 15 minutes before carving.

*Because I didn’t have much time before I had to cook the chicken, I only brined it for a few hours instead of twelve. Next time I would do it for the full twelve hours because the chicken didn’t have much flavor but it still came out almost perfect. The skin was crisp and the meat was juicy.

I can’t wait to try more recipes from Gourmet Today.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in cookbooks, meme.. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Weekend Cooking: Gourmet Today

  1. Ash says:

    12 hours! I’m afraid I wouldn’t be in the mood for it by the time it was ready!

  2. Beth F says:

    That looks so wonderfully good and simple. I love Gourmet magazine but I never bought any of their cookbooks. I’ll have to look for this one at the library.

  3. bermudaonion says:

    I’ve tried brining pork chops before. I thought they came out more tender, but didn’t think it added much flavor. That recipe does look easy, though.

  4. Kim says:

    That recipe looks yummy and easy! I have never even looked at Gourmet magazine because I think of their stuff being more time intensive.
    *smiles*

  5. Andi says:

    I love salty and I love chicken, so this one sounds like a winner to me!

  6. kay says:

    This sounds yummy! It’s been a while since we’ve made some roasted chicken.

  7. zibilee says:

    I like the sound of this recipe better than the one I have, and think that I might have to try it out. My roasted chicken doesn’t really impress me, though the family seems to like it, and I think this recipe might help! Thanks for sharing it!

  8. Bree says:

    I’ve never brined anything before. May have to try this technique.

  9. Kathleen says:

    This sounds so good! Today I saw a chef making a salt-roasted pork on Food TV. I’ve never brined anything before but would love to give it a try.

  10. I make Slow-Roasted Glazed King Salmon from the book ALL the time. It is so easy to make and tastes far superior! Here is a link to the recipe http://cuceesprouts.com/2011/05/slow-roasted-glazed-king-salmon/

Comments are closed.