Sunday Salon 7: February’s TBR pile

Remember that really ambitious pile of books that I posted earlier this month? I only read three books out of that pile. Three: The Lotus Eaters, The Weird Sisters, and Changing my Mind. The first two were read for blog tours while the last one was for a read-along. The other twenty-nine books I read in January were based on mood and curiosity.  Once again I’m forced to admit that I’m a moody reader. That’s not a bad thing though I was hoping to add a little more structure to my reading.

Some of the best books I read this month were:

  • I Kill Giants by Joe Kelly
  • Turtle in Paradise by Jennifer L. Holm. It’s a middle grade book with a memorable character. Review to come.
  • The Night Bookmobile by Audrey Niffenegger
  • We are in a book by Mo Willems (children’s book)
  • Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles
  • Yummy: The Last Days of a Southside Shorty by G. Neri
  • Foster by Claire Keegan
  • Here by Wislawa Szymborska (poetry)
  • Junkyard Wonders by Patricia Polacco (children’s book)
  • The Unsinkable Walter Bean by Aaron Renier. It’s one of the most perfect graphic novels that I have ever read. Review to come.

So I had a pretty good reading month. It was so good that I made a pile of books to read in February. One of my goals for next month is to mostly from my tbr pile. As much as I love checking out books from the library, I need to read some of the books I own. The February stack:

 

 

 

 

 


  • Waiting for Superman edited by Karl Weber
  • Ninth Ward by Jewell Parker Rhodes
  • Stop-Time by Frank Conroy
  • Will Write for Food by Dianne Jacob
  • Reading is my Window: Books and the Art of Reading in Women’s Prisons edited by Megan Sweeney
  • Someone Else’s Garden by Dipika Rai
  • Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston
  • Lonely by Emily White
  • Tourquai by Tim Davys
  • The Flat World and Education by Linda Darling-Hammond
  • Heat Wave: The Life and Career of Ethel Waters by Donald Bogle
  • Twelve Steps to a Compassionate Life by Karen Armstrong
  • Hair Story by Ayana D. Byrd and Lori L. Tharps
  • Blankets by Craig Thompson (re-read)
  • Drinking Coffee Elsewhere by ZZ Packer
  • Soul Kiss by Shay Youngblood
  • A Wish After Midnight by Zetta Elliot
  • Big Machine by Victor LaSalle
  • The Rock and the River by Kekla Magoon
  • Flygirl by Sherri L. Smith
  • The Color Purple by Alice Walker
  • Maus by Art Spiegelman
  • Satchel by Larry Tye
  • A Widow’s Story by Joyce Carol Oates
  • Create Dangerously by Edwidge Danticat

Not pictured:

  • Palm Sunday by Kurt Vonnegut
  • No Surrender by Ai (poetry)
  • The Warmth of Other Suns by Isabel Wilkerson (I’m almost halfway through it.)

Am I going to read all of these books? Of course not but it’s nice to have a pile of books to choose from. Sometimes owning so many unread books can feel a little overwhelming but making an effort to read more off my shelves makes me feel better at times. I’m hoping to read more than three books off the pile this time around. What I don’t read, I’ll probably just return to the library or giveaway.

So here’s my question for you: Have you read any of the books in my pile? Is there some you think I should place at the top of my pile? Do you have any reading plans for February?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in not enough time, reading, Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Sunday Salon 7: February’s TBR pile

  1. iliana says:

    I’m definitely a moody reader too so that’s why I typically don’t have a plan for books to read during the month aside from books for book group. Good luck with your February stack – looks like you have a lot of good variety there.

  2. Nymeth says:

    I need to start reading from my stacks instead of borrowing from the library all the time as well. Or worse, buying more books.

    I loved Maus and The Color Purple, and though I haven’t read it I love the sound of Reading is my Window. Happy reading in February, Vasilly!

  3. Brittanie says:

    I read Flygirl last year and liked it. I read The Color Purple and Their Eyes were Watching God in school so I really don’t remember that much about them. I can’t believe my ten year high school reunion is this year. I have outrageous amounts of books I want to read too. Some days I wonder what my life would be like without my huge TBR piles. lol🙂

  4. Move Maus to the top of your list and read that. They’re quick reads and both are good.

  5. Aths says:

    Did I read the number 29 rightly? You sure had a great month! Love some of the titles in there!

    I read best when I pick whatever suits me at the moment. But most of the time, I pick based on review dates, which is sad, because it becomes pressure reading too. I have quite a bunch of books to read for the next few months – all books I’m really looking forward to, so that should make it easy.

  6. Gavin says:

    There are some wonderful books in those piles. My “read this first” suggestion in The Rock and the River. I cannot wait to read your thoughts about that one. Have a great week!

  7. Florinda says:

    I have several TBR piles in different places around the house. Like yours, they get shuffled around and sometimes ignored in favor of something else, but I like having them around as a starting point for my immediate reading consideration.

  8. Shonda says:

    29 books?! That’s a book a day! Impressive. Like you, I decide what books I want to read for the month (tried to do it weekly and it didn’t go so well) and by the end of the month my actual reading list is different than my planned list. I’m a mood reader and and I am now embracing this and realizing it’s okay. Having too much structure for my reading is trapping for me (I have so much structure in other areas of my life), so I try to relax and just go with my mood. Hope February is another good reading month for you.

  9. Ash says:

    I usually come up with a few books I really want to finish every month and put those on a specific shelf so I see them often and get in the mood to read them. This seems to mostly work for me, surprisingly. That is quite an impressive stack you have there!

  10. zibilee says:

    I am so amazed with how much you have read this month! January has been an abysmal reading month for me, but I hope to get back on track for February. I haven’t read any of the books on your list, but that’s ok, because I will be interested in hearing your perceptions on them!

  11. Chris says:

    *puts Their Eyes Were Watching God at the top of your pile* :p That’s such a fantastic book! Ooooh and Annabel…the cover looks so intriguing…off to learn more!

  12. Trish says:

    Ha–yes, see this is why I don’t use the library! Mood and too many of my own TBR books to read. 😉

    I’ve been hearing such great things about The Lotus Eaters. And I agree with Chris and some of the others–Their Eyes Were Watching God is such a fantastic and beautiful book. Maybe I’ll see if I can find an audio version!

    Have a great week!

  13. Jenny says:

    Oh my God, The Color Purple. Read that one. The Color Purple is one of the very very best books I have ever read in my whole life, definitely in my top ten and probably in my top three. It’s superb. It’s about everything. I could not possibly love it more.

  14. Christina says:

    I’m a moody reader as well so I try not to put too much pressure on myself to read certain books in a certain time period. (School does enough of this for me.)

    Move Maus to the top of your pile. It’s very, very good and very quick so you’ll be able to cross it off your list. Their Eyes Were Watching God and The Color Purple are both supposed to be wonderful reads.

  15. bookmagic says:

    I haven’t read any except for Their Eyes Were watching God many, many years ago.

    I, too, am going to try and read from my shelves this month as I bought way too many ebooks last month. I may do some rereading. Also I have several started but not finished books that I need to get to. I am going to try that this month in an effort to save some money. This means The Weird Sisters gets put on hold for awhile. It is harder to read according to my mood when I have to read from my own shelves😦

  16. Beth F says:

    SOme great books there. I still haven’t read Blankets and you’re on a reread!

  17. Bree says:

    Love the title “Will Write for Food.” haha makes me laugh. Need to find that book at library to see what it’s about. My daughter swears by “The Color Purple” Ranks it as one of her top books ever. So much so she is going to see the play version in March. Thanks for reminding me I still need to buy her tickets.

  18. Andi says:

    Ooh! Oooh! Their Eyes Were Watching God is a favorite. I’ve read it multiple times and it just gets better and better.

  19. I say Warmth of Other Suns (I loved this one!) and then go for Maus. Oh, what a book. Not sure it should be read during the bleak days of winter, though.

  20. Edi says:

    There’s a contest, you know! She who dies with the most book wins! I think I entered when I was in grade school and have been collected books ever since.

  21. Pingback: Sunday Salon « 1330v

Comments are closed.