Weekend Cooking: Thoughts on Jane Yolen’s Fairy Tale Breakfasts

Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, fabulous quotations, photographs. If your post is even vaguely foodie, feel free to grab the button and link up anytime over the weekend. Please link to your specific post, not your blog’s home page. For more information, see the welcome post.


Fairy Tale Breakfasts: A Cookbook for Young Readers and Eaters

Jane Yolen, Heidi E.Y. Stemple, and Philipe Beha

Pages: 32

Publisher: Windmill Books

Publication Year: 2010

Source: Library

Every year my daughter decides she wants to try a new hobby. When she was seven, she wanted to become a fashion designer. So I bought her fabric, needle and thread, and plenty of books. For most of the year she made clothes for her dolls, drew outfits for hours in her sketchbook, and put on fashion shows.

When she was eight, she decided to that she was tired of designing clothes and wanted to become a scientist. So once again I bought books about different areas of science, gave her my old biology textbooks, and searched for science-y things online. The whole family participated in the various experiments she tried.

I call my daughter’s interests expensive. Her fourth-grade teacher calls them part of my daughter’s schema.

Now that Pip (pronounced Pipe), is nine, cooking is her newest interest. For the past six months or so, we’ve checked out dozens of cookbooks from the library, coping some of our favorite recipes. We’re making our own personal cookbook and one of the things we’re doing is cooking one new recipe every week. Some weeks have been better than others. With most of the family suffering from colds, we haven’t been cooking much.

I wanted to share with you all, one of the books we’ve checked out a few weeks ago: Jane Yolen’s Fairy Tale Breakfast. The book is the perfect combination of fairy tales and recipes. It contains four fairy tales such as “The Runaway Pancake” and “The Magic Pot of Porridge”, followed by a recipe that relates to the story. Each story is entertaining and each recipe is simple enough for a young child to understand and try with an adult’s help.

We haven’t tried the recipes in the book yet but the fairy tales have kept us entertained enough that I would definitely recommend this book.

Also written by Yolen and company:

  • Fairy Tale Lunches
  • Fairy Tale Dinners
  • Fairy Tale Desserts
  • Fairy Tale Feasts

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in cookbooks, meme., reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Weekend Cooking: Thoughts on Jane Yolen’s Fairy Tale Breakfasts

  1. i think it would be wonderful… and very useful…to have a child who loved to cook.🙂

  2. vivienne says:

    My girls are into cooking too. It can be quite hard work as I have to cook alternately with them.
    I love this book and that you can share the experience with your daughter.
    I am trying to do one new receipe a week too.

  3. Beth F says:

    Oh I love the sound of this book (well series of books). I would have been happy to have had them when my niece was young. Now that she’s all grown up (at almost 16 — LOL), she is cooking and baking all on her own.

  4. michelle says:

    My daughter would love this series of cook books. I will have to check our library. My 8-yr-old changes interests on a daily basis-right now she is in spy-mode. Yesterday she was in fairyland. It’s hard to keep up.

  5. This is a new title but sounds like it is good!

  6. What a fun concept for a book! I’m glad the stories are working well even if you haven’t had a chance to cook from it yet.

  7. Andi says:

    Fun! I’ve never seen this but it looks like a great idea!

  8. Trish says:

    I love that you’re doing this with your daughter! I have fond memories helping my mom cook and bake growing up and I still enjoy being in the kitchen (although I wish I had more time to do so). Hope you’re able to find some great recipes! Starting on the 1st I’ll be hosting the monthly edition of Whip Up Something New on my blog, so if you find anything good–pop by and share it with us!

  9. heidenkind says:

    That’s very cool. And a useful skill to have! I had to teach myself how to cook. Actually I’m still doing that…

  10. Chinoiseries says:

    I think it’s wonderful how you indulge your daughter, she’s getting every chance of developing herself🙂 This book sounds like a fun read!

  11. Bree says:

    I love your daughter. I’m so glad to hear you are a mom who doesn’t stiffle their children’s interests but encourages them to try and grow. Wonderful! Of course, I would expect nothing else after “knowing” you for the past few years.

    Her cooking experiment is turning out like my resolution this year. Cooking through old recipes and keeping the keepers in another personal cookbook. She will cherise this experience when she gets older and hopefully do the same with her own children someday.

  12. Marie says:

    The book sounds great. I hope you guys have fun experimenting.

  13. zibilee says:

    My daughter also tends to move from hobby to hobby as well. Right now it’s making clay pendants for friends and family. Come to think of it, a lot of her hobbies tend to focus on the arts. I think this book sounds like a lot of fun and would love for you to do a follow-up post once you get a chance to make some of the food!

  14. Molly says:

    When my daughters were younger I tried to find some children’s cookbooks, but the selection was rather limited. This series sounds delightful! I will have to check them out to see if perhaps they might be something I’d like to buy to have on hand when grandchildren are old enough to experiment with me in the kitchen.

  15. Kathleen says:

    Sounds like a charming book. It is wonderful how you support your daughter’s interests and let her explore the things she is curious about. Someday she will realize the gift you have given her.

  16. Heather says:

    This sounds like and enchanting cookbook. We have several children’s ones that we used again and again.

  17. Heather says:

    I’ve had a lot of fun cooking with my children from cookbooks specially designed for kids.

Comments are closed.