Sunday Salon: January’s TBR Pile

Click to enlarge picture.

You see those piles of books? That is this month’s TBR pile. It’s a combination of library and review books along with a few of my own books sprinkled in. I’ve never put aside the books I plan on reading a month in advance but thought that if I make a note of the books I need to read this month, it might just help my reading go a little more smoothly than in earlier years.

At the top:

  • Heart of a Samurai by Margi Preus

Left side:

  • The Last Daughter by Elena Ferrante
  • Drinking Coffee Elsewhere by ZZ Packer
  • We Need to Talk about Kevin by Lionel Shriver
  • Soul Kiss by Shay Youngblood
  • Spilling Ink by Ellen Potter and Anne Mazer
  • Cinderella Ate My Daughter by Peggy Orenstein
  • The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown
  • Ugly Beauty by Ruth Brandon
  • Waiting for Columbus by Thomas

Right side:

  • Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson
  • Love Poems by Pedro Salinas
  • The Flat World and Education by Linda Darling-Hammond
  • Changing My Mind by Zadie Smith
  • The Plot by Will Eisner
  • Footnotes in Gaza by Joe Sacco
  • The Decorated Page by Gwen Diehn
  • How to Be a Genius by DK Publishing

Not pictured:

  • The Fates Will Find Their Way by Hannah Pittard
  • The Lotus Eaters by Tatjana Soli

One of my literary resolutions for this year is to read 235-240 books, so 20 is the magic monthly number to hit. It’s also the number of books in my pile.

I think what surprises me about this list is the number of non-fiction titles that appears. Non-fiction is a genre that I neglected last year, so I’m probably reading the same number of non-fiction this month that I read in all of 2010. So that’s my pile.

Do you plan your reading in advance? What’s in your stack for January?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in reading, Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Sunday Salon: January’s TBR Pile

  1. Literary Feline says:

    That’s quite a stack of books! My stack for this month is much smaller–and I still don’t think I’ll manage to get through them all. I’ll have fun trying though!

    I don’t usually plan my reading ahead so not sure why I did this month. I do have what I call an immediate TBR pile that I pick from but that usually lasts me all year, sometimes longer, with other books added in now and then.

  2. bermudaonion says:

    I don’t plan my reading in advance – I just go with the flow unless I’ve committed to a date. Good luck with your goal and Happy New Year!

  3. Wow! Aren’t you organized?! No, I don’t plan out what I am going to read each month, though I do try to set aside a few books that I’d like to finish each year.

    Happy New Year!

    Here is my Sunday Salon post.

  4. I normally don’t plan my reading in advance, but I’m involved in a couple of readalongs and challenges including Waiting for Columbus and a Haruki Murakami Reading Challenge, so I’m “having to” plan in advance. It’s okay, though. Later in the year, I’ll be to go “free-for-all,” I hope.

  5. Megan says:

    240 books in a year is definitely more than I can handle. I think per month reading about 14 books is the absolute best I can do. I hope all that reading goes very smoothly for you.

    I go on and off about planning what I am going to read next and how far ahead. I am trying to review a little more and that means getting myself into a schedule. I didn’t finish any of the 8 books on my remainder of December pile and 6 HAVE to get read, rather than feeling behind I am going to intersperse them with January books. On that list I have 12 books but I am thinking I want to reevaluate the books I have listed.

    One of my mini goals this week is to start at least on book from each of my challenges. I was going to officially join the Outdo Yourself challenge but decided to skip it and just focus my attention on more book specific challenges. And I have to remember the Steampunk one I joined late last year and keep forgetting about!

  6. kai charles says:

    great books! i sort mine by review deadlines and since im in 13 challenges this year (gulp) Ive sorted my books by challenges also

  7. Gavin says:

    That is quite a stack of books. I’ve got The Lotus Eaters and Major Pettigrew on my pile as well. Have a wonderful week, Vasilly!

  8. Michelle says:

    You have quite a January ahead of you! Enjoy all these fantastic books.🙂

  9. amymckie says:

    Wow, I’m never good at planning my reading in advance so I’m impressed! Best of luck with it.

  10. nanscorner says:

    That is quite a TBR pile! I took out a couple of books from the library last week so I hope to read those 2 this month: Little Bee and Unbroken. I’m loving Little Bee. I’m also toying with the idea of getting a NOOK, so if I get that I will read some books on it.

    Happy reading and happy new year!

  11. Anastasia says:

    Oh, that’s a really good idea! Normally I just stack my TBR books on my shelves and then stare at them when it comes time to pick a new read. Having a separate stack of books you specifically want to read in a month is pretty nifty.

    I don’t overly plan my reading (obviously), but this month I need to read three specific books (two for my book clubs and another for the Classics Circuit) plus a few review books (I think two?). It’s all a mix of fantasy/sci-fi, non-fiction and adventure, so that’s exciting.😀

  12. She says:

    Wow! I would love to read that many books in a month! I hope your new strategy works out well for you– I might have to borrow it from you.😀

  13. kiss a cloud says:

    Last year I attempted to plan my reading in advance, but often I couldn’t follow through. This year I’ll take it a book at a time, but also will be reading from the TBR pile because I can’t stand knowing I’ve so many books around that have been unread for a couple of years now. By the way, 240 books is a lot for one year so I applaud you for the goal and wish you the best in that. I might attempt for 10 books a month, just to make sure I’ve wiped out all the TBR by the end of the year but..

  14. Memory says:

    Ooh, lots of good books! (Or books that look good, at any rate. I, um, haven’t read any of them…)

    I want to spend January working my way through my Christmas books and the last few library books I borrowed in December. Should be a full month; I’ve got lots of chunksters sitting around.

  15. zibilee says:

    I am reading We Have to Talk About Kevin right now and have to say that it’s totally amazing and beautifully intricate. It also makes me shiver and is crazy chilling, but I am loving it. I am about halfway through. I hope you enjoy it as well!

  16. woo-hoo! Books! 🙂 Looks like you have some great reading ahead of you. Just wanted to thank you for joining and ahem remind you about the Buy One Book and Read It Challenge as well.🙂

  17. Molly says:

    I am amazed and inspired by your reading ambition! I would love to read 100 books a year🙂

    I LOVE the idea of setting aside the books that you plan to read for the month. I bet if I did that I would accomplish more!

    I wish you a wonderfully joyous New Year.

  18. bookmagic says:

    Aarg, I hate WP, makes me sign in over and over then posts before I finish.

    Anyway, that is a lot of books to read each month. I don’t plan out anything, I just go with the flow and my mood. Right now I’m getting annoyed by one book I’m reading. If I kept at it, I would end up hating it. So break time and I’m in mood for a light book. Good luck for January! I hope you love Waiting for Columbus

  19. Veens says:

    That is an awesome pile! I don’t plan in advance because it never works for me.

    I hope you have a great time getting into these books!

  20. Wallace says:

    I don’t usually plan ahead, but since our chat and with my new goal I have signed up for numerous reading challenges. Because of that I have planned some reading (but not all) and I find that I’m actually inspired by it. Of course, I reserve the right to change every single thing about the lists I’ve made, so that might make a difference about how I feel about them.😉

  21. Michelle says:

    That’s quite the stack of books! I’ve never made a monthly TBR pile, but I can see why you would do it to reach our goal. Good luck! And happy new year!

  22. Christy says:

    I don’t plan my reading in advance much. Eventually, the varied due dates of interlibrary loan and regular library due dates dictate the order in which I read the books.

    Looks like you have some great reading ahead – I’ll be interested in your thoughts on Waiting for Columbus and Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand, as I hope to read them at some point.

  23. Christina says:

    That’s quite of few books to read each month. The most books I’ve read in a single year was 217, but that includes all the books I had abandoned during the year. I also don’t usually plan my reading simply because so much of it is dictated during the school year.

  24. Care says:

    wowza! I hope you love Waiting for Columbus and We Need to Talk About Kevin – THAT one you will need to talk about with real person when you are done! so feel free to tweet at me… 🙂
    Those are the only two I’ve read but I have some of these on my wish list. I only have 2 books that I MUST read this month: Shadow Tag by Louise Erdrich and Someone at a Distance by Dorothy Whipple.
    ENjoy! Happy New Year!

  25. I love the idea of planning out a month’s reading in advance, but I would probably give myself enough lee-way to choose some non-planned books. I know for January I’m in 5 readalongs, but besides that my schedule for reading is open wide.

  26. iliana says:

    That’s an impressive goal you have ahead of you but I’m sure you can do it! I don’t plan my books like that. I wish I could but I get very sidetracked by other books🙂

  27. Bree says:

    Wow, I didn’t realize you read so many books in 2010. Amazing! You have inspired me to pick out my books for January and divide up my year Goal # by months. However, I don’t ever want pleasure reading to become a chore so mentally this will just be a fun thing to do and see if I accomplish but not a GOAL stamped in concrete. The things we do with our brains.

  28. Kathleen says:

    I’ve never had much luck with planning my reading in advance. The minute I plan to read something I always want to read something else! I guess it says something about my rebellious nature. Good luck with your reading plans. I’ve got a few of your planned books on my shelves to read this year too! I’ll look forward to your thoughts on them.

  29. Erin says:

    That’s a lot of books! I find the more I try to plan specifically what I will read when, the less likely I am to stick to that schedule. So, I tend to have a big pool of books I’m interested in and then I choose from those books based no what strikes my fancy moment-to-moment.

Comments are closed.