Favorite Books of 2010: Part 2

When I started compiling this year’s list of favorite books, I found it pretty easy to choose which books to include. Because twenty books made the list, I’m splitting my post into two parts: children’s books and those for adults.  The list isn’t in any particular order and behind each title is the publication year. By reading my lists, I hope you find a few books that you want to add to your TBR list. Enjoy.

Children’s books

City Dog, Country Frog by Mo Willems. (2010) The story of a city dog who moves to the country and makes friends with  a frog is short but oh so sweet. The ending almost made me cry.

How Rocket Learned to Read by Tad Hills. (2010) A dog who learns how to read from a bird and falls in love with books.

The Story Blanket by Ferida Wolff. (2008) The storyteller of a small village makes a sacrifice for her neighbors. A great story about giving.

Miss Brooks Like Books (And I Don’t) by Barbara Bottner. (2010) Miss Brooks is a librarian who’s determined to get her young patron to fall in love with books. Can Miss Brooks find the perfect book for her young spunky patron?

Bink and Gollie by Kate DiCamillo. (2010)Two  inseparable and very different friends go on small adventures. The illustrations are part of the magic of this book. This is one of the best books published this year. My kids loved this book and I did too.

Tan to Tamarind: Poems about the Color Brown by Malathi Michelle Iyengar. (2009) NF A collection of poetry about various shades of brown.

Children of the Dust Bowl: The True Story of the School at Weedpatch Camp by Jerry Stanley (1993) NF Reading this book, I learned so much about the children who moved with their families to California during the days of the Dust Bowl, the problems with education the children faced, and how Weedpatch Camp and its school helped so many children.

Middle Grade


Grow: A Novel in Verse by Juanita Havill. (2008) Grow is the story of blooming friendship between Berneetha, a laid-off special ed. teacher, twelve-year-olds Kate and Harlon as the trio turn a rundown corner lot into a beautiful garden. It’s a great book for reluctant readers.

One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia. (2010)  Set in Oakland, California during the 1970’s, One Crazy Summer is an coming-of-age story about three sisters who spend a summer with the mother who abandoned them. The main character is the oldest sister Delphine, a outspoken and caring young girl.  This is a book that’s great for tweens, teens, and adults.

When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead. (2009) Miranda is a sixth-grader whose best friend no longer wants to be friends. She loves Madeline L’Engle’s  A Wrinkle in Time and carries the book everywhere with her. When she starts receiving mysterious notes that are accurately predicting future events, she doesn’t know what to think. When You Reach Me is the rare sort of book that demands to be re-read the very second you finish it. Whether you read the print version or the audio, readers are in for a treat.

Smile by Raina Telegmeier. (2010) NF For all the readers out there who read The Baby-Sitters Club series by Ann M. Martin, Telegmeier is the illustrator of the BSC graphic novels. So when I read that she had her own memoir being published in graphic format, I ran out to buy it. When Telegmeier was around eleven or twelve, she loses her two front teeth after running and falling. She spends the next few years getting her teeth fixed through various surgeries and procedures in an attempt to look normal. It’s bad enough losing your two front teeth, but doing so during adolescence when you’re really trying to fit in is even worse. I enjoyed this book so much that when I shared it with my younger sisters and daughter, all three girls took turns reading the book at the same time. Three bookmarks in different places so each girl could know where they left off at. No many books can do that.

Young Adult books

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by David Leviathan and John Green. (2010) If you haven’t read this yet even after all the buzz throughout the blogisphere, you need to place this book at the top of your TBR list. This is the story of two Will Graysons who meet on a winter night in Chicago and how their lives intersect. Their story is funny and really sweet. Excellent read.

Absolutely True “Diary” of a Part-time by Sherman Alexie. (2007) One of the best books I’ve read this year. Charming and authentic, it’s a great read for teens and adults.

I Kill Giants by Joe Kelly and J.M. Niimura. (2009) Hands down, this is one of the best graphic novels I’ve read this year. Barbara Johnson isn’t your average middle school student.  She insists that she kill giants and has special amulets to ward off evil. This is a great story about grief with an unforgettable main character.

So that’s part two of my favorite books of 2010 list. Have you read any of the books that I listed?


About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in favorites. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Favorite Books of 2010: Part 2

  1. Carrie K. says:

    Yay for When You Reach Me! And I just got Will Grayson, Will Grayson out from the library.🙂

  2. I tried one David Leviathan that didn’t work for me so I need to try Will Grayson. He is such a popular author among bloggers! I just read a graphic novel that I totally loved and can’t stop talking about – Yummy by G. Neri. It’s one I think everyone should read too! :–)

  3. Nymeth says:

    I Kill Giants made my list as well. Such a beautiful book.

  4. wonderful picks!

    I could read only 96 books. But that’s ok. I was in a reading slump for more than four months.

    Here are my Best Reads of 2010.

  5. zibilee says:

    What a great year in children’s books! I love some of your choices!

  6. Gavin says:

    Great selection! I have to find some of those picture books at my library. The TBR Dare will finally get me to read Will Grayson, Will Grayson!

  7. Aarti says:

    I really enjoyed reading Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian with you! I know we have veered off a bit from our plan to read more Native American authors, but maybe this summer we can read Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee?

  8. Memory says:

    I’ve only read one book off your lists: BELOVED. I know I’ll definitely read ONE CRAZY SUMMER this year, though, and many of the others also look right up my alley!

  9. kiss a cloud says:

    I’d really like to read When You Reach Me this year. I Kill Giants I haven’t heard of before but it seems interesting, will put that on the wish list, thanks! (See, one day into blogging and already I’ve added to the list.. this is what scares me, lol.) I also didn’t know Mo Willems has a new book out. My kids adore him so will look for that as well..

  10. Bellezza says:

    I have When You Reach Me which I’ve not yet read; after your review I’m dying to pick it up! Carries around Madeleine L’Engle?! Yippee!! Happy New Year, Vasilly.

  11. Jupiter says:

    How have I missed out on these books? I feel so behind!

    My husband met Rocket the Dog recently. The author visited my kids’ school last month, without Rocket. My son was annoyed that Daddy got to meet Rocket. Dogs are much more impressive than authors,i guess🙂

  12. I loved The Part Time Indian book as well! Great list here!

  13. Beth F says:

    Now I have some more to add to the list…. Happy, happy new year!

  14. Ferida Wolff says:

    What a wonderful site! I will certainly check out some of the reviewed books. Meanwhile, I am delighted to have one of my books, The Story Blanket, listed as one your favorite books for 2010! Happy New Year to you and your followers.

  15. I’ve read two of those: Will Grayson, Will Grayson and The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian. I wasn’t thrilled with Will Grayson (it was a little overwhelming to me) but I loved True Diary. I read it in 2007 and it’s *still* stuck with me. Sherman Alexie is amazing.

  16. Heather says:

    Oooo! Thank you for this! I’m always on the look out for children’s books to read with the kiddos. Woo hoo! 🙂

    Happy New Year!

  17. Jenny says:

    I’ve seen I Kill Giants on so many best-of lists, and I am mildly annoyed with myself for not placing a library hold on it earlier in the year. I just kept thinking that the copy my branch claimed to have would show up eventually. This is why I am dumb. :p

  18. Thanks so much for including TAN TO TAMARIND on your list! It’s wonderful to see it in such great company, so thanks for introducing it to your readers.

Comments are closed.