Favorite Books of 2010: Part 1

When I started compiling this year’s list of favorite books, I found it pretty easy to choose which books to include. Because twenty books made the list, I’m splitting my post into two parts: children’s books and those for adults.  The list isn’t in any particular order and behind each title is the publication year. By reading my lists, I hope you find a few books that you want to add to your TBR list. Enjoy.

Beloved by Toni Morrison. (1982) A magnificent book about the horrors of slavery. This is a book that you want to read with a highlighter or notebook next to you because the prose is just so beautiful.

Twelve Angry Men by Reginald Rose. (1954) One of the most powerful plays to have ever won the Pulitzer Prize. It’s about class and opportunity.

Fences by August Wilson. (1983) One of my favorite plays ever.

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz.  (2007)  If you haven’t read this, you need to. It’s about Dominican history, passion, and finding the courage to love no matter what the consequences are.

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender. (2010) The story of a girl who discovers she has the power to know the emotions of others through the food they make.

Blankets by Craig Thomspon. (2003) Blankets is unlike any graphic novel I have ever read. The true story of Thompson’s teenage years and his first love is so heartbreaking but beautiful.

Bayou Vol. 1 by Jeremy Love. (2010) A very Alice-in-Wonderland-like world set in 1920s Charon, Mississippi that has one of the best female protagonists ever. Heather from The Capricious Reader calls it’s a “Southern fairytale” and I have to agree.

So that’s part one of my list. I hope you come back tomorrow to read part two. Have you read any of the books on my list?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in favorites. Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Favorite Books of 2010: Part 1

  1. I didn’t like the Lemon Cake book so much although I *loved* the concept! And I *loved* the drawings in Bayou, even if I didn’t always know what the heck was going on! Blankets was too sad for me. In fact, that was the problem with Lemon Cake. I guess I’m kind of a wimpy reader!

  2. zibilee says:

    I need to read Lemon Cake!! I have had it on my Kindle for months now, and haven’t yet taken the time. I also have heard amazing things about Blankets and it’s one that I want to read this year for sure. Great choices, Natasha!

  3. Frances says:

    Loved Blankets and have read all of Morrison, and (finally) have Oscar Wao in my future this year as one of the reads for my book group. Looking forward to popping back by for the rest of that list.

  4. Amy says:

    I loved Lemon Cake too, although we seem to be in the minority on that. I’ve seen a lot of commentary where people thought the protagonist should have used her “gift” to help others. That would have made me hate that book.

    • Vasilly says:

      Amy, we do seem to be in minority for Lemon Cake. I definitely agree. Maybe it would be different if the protagonist came from a normal family but she doesn’t. . .

      • Amy says:

        Not even close. And that scene towards the end with her father, that was a knockout for me, really made the book.

    • Vasilly says:

      Amy, yes! That conversation with her father shocked me so much! After reading that I wanted to know more about their family but that would have to be included in a different book.

  5. Carrie K. says:

    Loved Blankets when I read it in 2009! And now I see that you’re hosting the 2011 Graphic Novels Challenge – how did I not know that?!?! – so I’m going to have to join.🙂

  6. christina says:

    Twelve Angry Men was such a brilliant film as well. Have you seen it? God, it gives me shivers. I must read the actual play.

    Also, isn’t Blankets simply MARVELOUS. It is one of my all time favorite memoirs ever!

  7. Gavin says:

    I haven’t read the Bender or the two plays but am adding the plays to my TBR list. I plan on rereading Beloved, along with more of Morrison in 2011. Loved Oscar Wao</I. and loved, loved, loved Bayou. I can’t wait for the rest of you list:)

    • Vasilly says:

      I love that we have similar taste in books! I hope you enjoy the plays. When you start re-reading Beloved, let me know. I think I’ll re-read it with you.

  8. Aarti says:

    Is 12 Angry Men the movie based on this play? I just watched the full movie last week and REALLY liked it. It was fascinating to see prejudices and the like come out. We also watched it in class as an example of persuasion techniques. If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend it!

  9. amymckie says:

    Wow, I haven’t read any of the books on your list! The more I read best of lists, the less well read I feel🙂

  10. iliana says:

    I picked up the Oscar Wao book a while back but I wasn’t really in the mood for it at the time so had to set it aside. Looking forward to reading that one though. Love seeing your favorites list!

  11. JoAnn says:

    I haven’t read any of these. Had Oscar Wao in my hand at B&N yesterday… guess I should have brought it home!

  12. Edi says:

    I am so impressed by the wide range of your reading selections! I’ve read too few of those books to admit. What can I say, I dwell in the world of YA. Yes, I know several of those titles easily cross over!

    Happy New Year!

  13. Care says:

    Oh, how I love this time of year – I get all giddy with these best of lists! I’ve read Wao and agree – amazing even as I didn’t get some of the language. I read Blankets, too. Beloved is on my list of MUST-READ-SOON so hopefully this is the year. I think I’ll go move it up in my goodreads stack…
    Happy New Year!

  14. I’m glad to hear you loved Blankets – I just picked it up from the library and am looking forward to it. Great picks!

  15. Kathleen says:

    I haven’t read any of these but am so excited to read them now that you have named them as your favorites of the year.

  16. Christy says:

    Great choices! Beloved is definitely a masterpiece and sticks in your head. It was assigned reading for me both in high school and in college. I understood and appreciated it much better in college. It kind of bewildered me in high school.
    I also really enjoyed Blankets and would like to read Bayou which I’ve heard such good things about.

  17. bookmagic says:

    I keep meaning to read The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake but it gets pushed back. I *will* get to it soon

  18. toothy says:

    i love reading these favorite books of 2010 lists, although now my wishlist is turning into a monster. i read beloved in college for a class and remember loving it. and i’m starting to see blankets on a few lists so i’m definitely adding that one to my wishlist!

  19. Matthew says:

    Beloved is on my all-time favorite list.🙂

  20. I love Blankets – such a great graphic novel. And I’ve been really curious about The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake; I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it so much!

  21. Literary Feline says:

    I’ve been going back and forth about The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake. I am glad to see you liked it so much. And I can’t wait to read Blankets. Hopefully this coming year.

    I hope you have a great New Year!

  22. Iris says:

    I haven’t read any of the books on your list, but Beloved and …Lemon Cake have been on my wishlist for quite some time! Happy 2011!

  23. kiss a cloud says:

    Yes, and Beloved remains one of my all-time favourite books. Unforgettable. It screams to be read over and over. And Blankets, too, so beautiful. I’ll be reading Oscar Wao this year so looking very much forward to that! Happy new year, dear Vasilly!

    • Vasilly says:

      Claire, that book really wants to be read over again. I’m thinking about giving in to it. I can’t wait to read your thoughts about Oscar Wao! Happy new year!

  24. Jupiter says:

    Beloved is such a haunting book. I read Twelve Angry Men ages and ages ago but it’s still quite memorable. I think I have all of the rest of these on my To Read List.

  25. Andi says:

    Angels start singing in my head any time I see mention of Twelve Angry Men. I read it earlier this week and LOVED IT! Can’t wait to watch the film.

  26. Beth F says:

    I have Blankets and Lemon Cake waiting here — Glad to know they will be worth the wait.

  27. Heather says:

    Ooo! I loved Twelve Angry Men, the (original) movie! I’ll have to read that. I bet it’s even more tense in book form. I loved Blankets, and you know I adored Bayou. Sorry our review fell apart; crazy time of year. Maybe we can review the next installment together? I can’t wait to read it.

  28. Jillian says:

    Sounds like some great reads! Thanks for sharing.🙂

Comments are closed.