Sunday Salon: Swapping books and making lists

It’s that time of the year where the online world is gearing up to release their “best of” 2010 book lists. A few of the chosen books I plan on reading like The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot and The Warmth of Other Suns by Isabel Wilkerson have been featured repeatedly on different lists while others like the lesser-known The Hare with Amber Eyes by Edmund de Waal, have also made it on just a few lists so far.

I think my favorite thing about reading these lists is that I think of them as a celebration of reading. When the average American reads less than one book a year, to see so many readers taking the time to share their favorite books is pretty inspiring. Hopefully it’ll get more people to at least pick up a book. At my library many of the books featured on the LA and NY Times’ “best of” lists now have anywhere from ten to fifty holds each.

Looking at so many different lists is causing me to think about my own. Because I don’t often read new books, my yearly list is a mishmash of new and old books that I’ve really enjoyed. This year, instead of posting a list of favorites, I’m going to review every single book that I read and loved this year. I haven’t reviewed enough books this year, so I can’t wait to share with you my favorites.

Book Swap

You may have noticed that pairs of bloggers are getting together and exchanging a list of books for each other to read in 2011. I’m pairing up with Carrie from Books and Movies. Carrie asked me to pick five books that she never heard of or thought about reading while I wanted Carrie to pick five books that she really loved and wished other people would read more. The books I recommended to Carrie:

  • Annie on my Mind by Nancy Garden.
  • Perma Red by Debra Magpie Earling.
  • We are the Ship by Kadir Nelson. I really think this book should have won the Newbery award the year it was published. It’s a book that I would love to put into the hands of children every where.
  • Locomotion by  Jacqueline Woodson.
  • The Liar’s Club by Mary Karr.

Carrie recommended that I read:

  • Broken for You by Stephanie Kallos
  • Fieldwork by Mischa Berlinski
  • Children of Men by P.D. James
  • Snow in August by Pete Hamill
  • The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R. King

Have you read any of these books? How’s your “best of 2010” list coming along?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Sunday Salon: Swapping books and making lists

  1. Carrie K. says:

    I am really excited to dive into the books you listed for me! Hope you’re having a good Sunday.🙂

  2. Marie says:

    I’m almost ready to post my best of 2010 list. The book I’m reading now is sure to be on it but I’m not sure if I should wait till I’m done, which may be awhile, or go ahead and do it now!

  3. zibilee says:

    This is such a cool idea and I am looking forward to hearing more about the books you will both be reading for the swap! I hadn’t come across any information on it yet, so thanks for sharing this!

  4. Amanda says:

    I love all these swaps.🙂

  5. Allie says:

    These swaps are an excellent way of getting book recommendations!

  6. I do love Kadir Nelson’s work. We have his He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands and Moses. Beautiful – and thoughtful – books.

  7. I’m very interested in The Liars’ Club and We Are The Ship. I saw your list over at Carrie’s blog today and love the idea of you two swapping book ideas.

    I already have my “Best of 2010” list post started. They will be the best books I’ve read this year with only one, I think, that was published this year. I plan on posting the list the last Wednesday of this month.

  8. Frances says:

    Huge, happy recommendation of The Beekeeper’s Apprentice and all things Laurie King. Can’t go wrong there!

  9. Gavin says:

    The book swap is a wonderful idea and you both have great books on your lists!

  10. Aths says:

    I love best-of lists too! There’s a greater chance that I’ll pick a book from that list sooner than later. I love sharing my lists too – nothing better than talking about the finer points of a book that you loved so much!

  11. Pingback: Tweets that mention Sunday Salon: Swapping books and making lists « 1330v -- Topsy.com

  12. Eva says:

    Squee for The Beekeeper’s Apprentice!!!😀

  13. heidenkind says:

    I’ve read The Beekeeper’s Apprentice. It was pretty good! Are you a Sherlock fan?

  14. Michelle says:

    I’m loving this book swap list trend! Good luck🙂

  15. Yes! I LOVE book lists! Totally my favorite (one of my favorite) forms of reading celebration. Woohoo!

  16. JoAnn says:

    I can’t wait for the end of the year lists – always such fun to read and they give me more ideas for my own tbr lists! Haven’t read any of the books above, but I loved a different title by Pete Hamill, North River. Have been meaning to read more of his work ever since Enjoy!

  17. Edi says:

    This swap looks like a great idea except for people like me who hasn’t read any of those books and now has TEN new books in the TBR pile!

  18. amymckie says:

    I’ve read Annie on my Mind but that’s about it. All of the books sound interesting and I hope that you both enjoy your selections!

  19. Nymeth says:

    Ooh – I’m very excited that Carrie picked The Beekeeper’s Apprentice for you! I love that series. Enjoy😀

  20. Jenny says:

    I haven’t even thought about my best of 2010 list yet. I feel like if I tried to do a best of 2010 list, I would just end up screaming about Monsters of Men for an entire post.

  21. Memory says:

    I’ll look forward to your favourites reviews!

    I’ve got a long list I plan to post in the next couple of weeks, but I haven’t firmly chosen my Top 5. I have three definites, but the other two are gonna be a tough call. Maybe I’ll end up with a Top 7 again.

  22. Jodie says:

    Fieldwork’s cover is soooo pretty.

    I just finished making my 2010 list for posting next week. It’s hard when you’ve read so many great books. Really like your idea that it’s a celebration of reading though and I also hope it encourages reading.

  23. Christy says:

    Beekeeper’s Apprentice is so wonderful. I kind of envy you reading it for the first time.

  24. My new favorite illustrator is Kadir Nelson. I stand up all of his books in my library and it looks like I’m in an art gallery.

    My Sunday Salon: http://readerbuzz.blogspot.com/2010/12/tss-2010-virtual-advent-tour-walk-mile.html

  25. I would love to do the Book Swap list. How can I participate?

Comments are closed.