Sunday Salon: December reading plans

The sun is out, the wind is blowing, and there are plenty of clouds in the sky. Right now is the perfect time for a cup of coffee and a good book. For the Thankfully Reading Weekend, even though I started early, I managed to finish only four books:

 

  • Nat Turner by Kyle Baker
  • Bookhunter by Jason Shiga
  • The Song of the Whales by Uri Orlev
  • Bayou by Jeremy Love

Bayou was a re-read while the other books were by new-to-me authors. Be on the lookout for a buddy review for Bayou with Heather from Capricious Reader in a few days (hopefully).

Since the year is coming to an end (not fast enough!), I decided to dedicate December to my tbr pile. I started the year with just enough space on my shelves to fit every book I owned. I went on a few book binges in the past few months so now I need another bookcase. It would be much easier (and less expensive), if I just read what I have. So tomorrow I plan on returning most of my library books except the two that I’m in the middle of.

A few of the books that I’m looking forward to reading next month:

  • One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia
  • Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan
  • We Need to Talk about Kevin by Lionel Shriver
  • Lit by Mary Karr
  • Everything Matters! by Ron Currie Jr.
  • Beloved by Toni Morrison
  • The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca  Skloot

So now I’m off to read The Undertaking: Life Studies From the Dismal Trade by Thomas Lynch. I’m doing a research project about art, cemeteries, death and dying.  Lynch is an undertaker and a poet. So far the writing is really good.

What are you reading today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Sunday Salon: December reading plans

  1. Nicole says:

    I am looking forward to hearing what you and Heather have to say about Bayou. I know that we have discussed how dense it is, and so good. I am so glad that you read it. This reminds me that we have to do The Other Wes Moore. I read and reviewed Henrietta Lacks. Looking forward to seeing your thoughts. Happy reading.

    • Vasilly says:

      I can’t wait for volume 2 of Bayou to come out. I definitely need to add that to my wish list. We did forget about The Other Wes Moore, didn’t we?🙂 I’m determined to read Henrietta Lacks before the end of the year. I really want to know more about this story. Have a great week!

  2. iliana says:

    I’m on a library ban so I can get through some of my shelf sitters. So I understand wanting to tackle your pile!

    Granted I did have to check out one book (always an excuse – haha) but it’s for book group so I figured that’s ok. Good luck with getting through your TBR stack.

    • Vasilly says:

      I love an excuse to use the library! It’s hard not to rely on the library so much but I think we’ll probably find some amazing books unread in out piles. How long are you going to be on your library ban?

  3. bermudaonion says:

    I think 4 books in one weekend is awesome!

    • Vasilly says:

      Thanks! After reading everyone’s comment, I really think I need to pat myself on the back sometimes about the amount of reading I’m able to get done.😉

  4. JoAnn says:

    The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks will be on my list of favorites this year… hope you enjoy it. And I think four books read over the weekend is pretty impressive!

  5. Melissa says:

    I absolutely loved The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and like JoAnn, it will be one of my favorite books of this year too. Hope you enjoy it!

  6. Florinda says:

    I’ve had We Need to Talk About Kevin in TBR for over two years – maybe I’ll liberate it in 2011! I thought Lit was a good read – I’ll be interested in your take on it.

    • Vasilly says:

      I can’t wait to read Lit. Karr is such a great writer. I doubt it will be as good as her first book, The Liar’s Club, but Karr always find a way to satisfy her readers! I’ll be sure to review it.

  7. Gavin says:

    I want to read Bayou again. I am cutting way down on my library books to try and get a handle on my own books, at least that is the plan. Of course, I just added The Song of the Whales to my hold list. Have a great week!

  8. christina says:

    Tender Morsels is on my list. Can’t wait to see what you think about it.

  9. Yes, The Undertaking is fantastic. As is We Need to Talk About Kevin.

    And be proud of finishing four books. Remember: The average American reads less than one book a year. Not even a whole book.

    • Vasilly says:

      I didn’t know you read The Undertaking?! It’s pretty good so far. Very interesting.

      I really need to remember that fact the next time I complain about not reading enough!

  10. Frances says:

    Lit was a wonderful surprise for me so I hope that you also enjoy it. Happy reading!

  11. Chris says:

    You ONLY read four books this weekend? :p I’ve read that this month. YAY TENDER MORSELS!!!! Oh I hope you love it!! I think you will🙂

    • Vasilly says:

      I’m pretty sure I’ll enjoy Tender Morsels too. You guys have talked so much about that book that I don’t doubt it. Have a great week, Chris!

  12. The Song Of The Whales looks good!

  13. Eva says:

    Beloved and Tender Morsels are both incredible!!! Also, what do you mean only four?! lol

  14. Haha four? I finished one and started on two! Way to go!

  15. Beth F says:

    What a great idea. I really should take a lesson from you. I recently did a major examination of my shelves and made a huge donation to my library, but it did make me a bit sad to see all those really good books just waiting to be read.

    I managed only 3 books during the weekend, and one was a graphic novel.

  16. Kathleen says:

    You’ve got some good ones on your TBR for this month!

Comments are closed.