Sunday Salon and Weekly Geeks: Making time to read

With daylight savings time starting last week, I now have an extra hour every day to devote to reading. The problem is that I haven’t been reading; or at least not as much as I would like to be. I let everything else get in the way: from homework to video games, Twitter to research. When night finally rolls around, I’m too tired to read and happy to go to bed.

Earlier this year I had a great morning ritual. I would wake up, make a pot of coffee, and then read at my kitchen table for at least twenty minutes before the kids woke up. I don’t know what happened to my morning reading but after awhile, it became easy to turn on my computer and see what’s new online instead.  You know that saying “so many books, so little time”? My life became “so many books, no time to read”. It wasn’t because of obligations but because of the things I let take over by giving it the precious time that I have for myself. Does this ever happen to you? I have so many great books lying around, ready to be read and instead of picking one up, I get online.

So today I’m taking a stand. Instead of spending so much time online, I’m going to go and read. Maybe today I’ll finish one of the many books I’m in the middle of like Dawn Light by Diane Ackerman which is a collection of essays. Or maybe I’ll start Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King, this month’s pick for one of my book clubs.

What are you reading today? Ever find yourself so caught up in being online, that you don’t read as much as you want to?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Sunday Salon and Weekly Geeks: Making time to read

  1. Jenny says:

    Hahaha, I’m having exactly the opposite problem. With my present extremely long commute, I have tons of time for reading and no time at all for going online and catching up on my blog reading. It is sad for me. I love to read but I also love reading blogs. *sigh*

  2. Iris says:

    I spend a lot of time online when I could be reading as well.. And I love how you have a morning ritual. If only I could get out of bed on time to have one as well.. Guess I will try from now on🙂 Monday is always a good day to start with intentions like that.

  3. Lu says:

    I’m doing the same thing right now, but I’m letting crocheting take over my life! All my free time is spent crocheting, not reading. I’m going to try and read more today.

  4. heidenkind says:

    I always resolve to read an hour before bed, but I never do. By the time I get into bed, I’m tired.

  5. Christina says:

    I hear you. I’m always complaining that I don’t have enough time to read since I’m at university, but the real reason is that I spend too much on the computer. Rather the using reading to wind down my day (like I did when I was still at home), I turn to the internet for entertainment.

    This weekend, though, I cleared my schedule to work on a paper and got it done so I decided to read instead. Finished a book that has been taking me forever to read in addition to a novel for class. Now I’m on to Margaret Atwood’s Alias Grace. Except now I’m on the computer again…Whoops!

  6. gnoegnoe says:

    I hear ya! Ever since I finished my last book I haven’t even been able to pick up another one… It’s been *weeks* now!😮 There’s so much else trying to get my attention and I just can’t decide on my next book either… So many books to choose from!

    Now the blog posting part is even worse…😦 I need to get back on track!

    But I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one😉

    Still, I feel that reading other blogs and commenting is important as well…😉

  7. Ash says:

    This post sums up the last two months for me. I want to spend time reading, but keep getting distracted by my computer. Plus, like you, I’m busy all the time with school and work. I’m really looking forward to Thanksgiving break and getting a chance to sit down a read for awhile. Next semester my days are going to start two hours earlier and I think I might start reading in the morning like you talk about here. It sounds like such a nice way to start off the day and then you can go through the rest of it knowing you got at least a little bit of reading done.

  8. Gavin says:

    Good luck with your reading!

  9. Eva says:

    Sometimes I let the internet take over! lol But usually what happens is I’m already in a reading slump, and to fill the void I spend more time on the internet.

  10. bermudaonion says:

    The computer can definitely be a time suck! I’ve backed away from Twitter a lot because of that!

  11. I was wondering where you were today🙂. But I’m glad to know you’re getting some time to read and it sounds like something good too. We will be interested to hear what you thought.

    I actually did get a little reading done here tonight…starting to read Charlie Chan mysteries. I’m listening to Steelers/Patriots game. We’ll see how much more I get read tonight, but I’m enjoying this first book so far.

  12. Carrie K. says:

    Yes – the online world can be a huge pull! I turn my computer on “just to check e-mail” and end up spending an hour or two reading blogs, tweeting, etc. I do occasionally listen to audiobooks while tweeting, but I end up missing too much and having to rewind.

  13. zibilee says:

    I have to put time limits on how much time I spend online. If I don’t, I could putter around for hours and not get anything else done at all. I notice that when I am really strict about my online time, everything regarding reading and reviewing seems to get so much smoother. I know what you mean about having to make time to read as well. I sometimes find myself caught up in all kind of things if I don’t!

  14. I totally do exactly the same thing as you. There are these great books next to me, and here I am on the computer! :–) In some ways, I think for me it has to do with laziness – although books can be wonderful, they are not as “easy” a form of entertainment and definitely not “instant gratification” the way the computer is! Sigh, maybe a New Year’s Resolution is in order… :–)

  15. I agree, the internet is SO distracting!

    I love it, but just have to step away sometimes.

    Reading in the morning is pretty awesome, especially as you can hear the coffee brewing, what a wonderful way to start the day.

  16. Molly says:

    Since focusing on NaNoWriMo this month, I have discovered that I really do have more time in the day if I use the internet intentionally. I need to find a balance, which is one of my New Year’s Resolutions for 2011.

  17. Chris says:

    I’m ALWAYS online but never seem to get anything accomplished online😛 I love your taking a stand idea!! I really want to get back to reading more…I feel like I haven’t been reading much at all lately and I’m CRAVING books right now. I’m reading London Triptych as my main read and it’s AWESOME.

  18. Memory says:

    Since I moved overseas, I find that evening has become my main reading time. I used to spend my evenings on the computer, writing and keeping up with the blogosphere. Nowadays, I take care of that in the morning, doing outside-the-house things in the afternoon (grocery shopping, wandering the streets, etc), and read in the evenings. I often go to bed pretty early and read until I’m too sleepy to continue.

    I do read in and around the other stuff, too. I carry my current book with me, and I’ll read whenever I find a spare bit of time. I’ve started listening to audiobooks while I walk around the city, too, and that’s helped me feel like I’m utilizing all my potential reading time.

  19. Bree says:

    This is soooo true. I try to justify it by saying I am actually reading, it’s just in a different format. Lame excuse.

  20. Kathleen says:

    I definitely struggle with finding time to read. I get caught up online too and have to remember to carve time out to read my books!

  21. Care says:

    I found that my new puppy was a huge distraction from everything! I am just back from a trip that allowed me LOTS of reading time and am also slowing coming back to blogging. I’ve missed everyone.

  22. bookmagic says:

    I never spend enough time reading. I come home from work and veg in front of the tv. When I go to bed, I feel like reading but I know I will hate myself in the am when I drag myself out of bed. I do read on my lunch hour at work which drives my co-workers crazy, but I am adamant. I need that time to refresh and reading refreshes my mind.

  23. Pingback: Spotlight on the Wordpress.Com Book Bloggers! « Randomize ME

  24. Jodie says:

    I do get distracted by the computer, but because I try to make my time at home less computer heavy I tend to have less time for reading blogs than for reading books.

    I hope you did get to Vera Dietz and it was good. I’ve heard so many wonderful things about it.

Comments are closed.