Guest Post: Erin Deedy from Peachtree Publishers

Today’s guest post is from Erin over at Peachtee Publishers. If you don’t know Erin, you really need to follow her on Twitter. Erin is funny, smart, and always has great book recommendations for kids and adults. I asked Erin to guest blog and tell readers what it’s like to be a part of the Peachtree family.

I have had the pleasure of calling Peachtree Publishers my home for almost 20 years now. I know this may seem difficult, seeing as I am only 27, but hear me out. My name is Erin Grace Deedy and I am the child of a Children’s Picture Book author. As a kid, I would tag along while my mom would go to Peachtree for editorial meetings. I would give my opinion about art even when it wasn’t asked and was paid $5 for every manuscript I read so that the editors could get a child’s perspective on projects.

My playground was the warehouse full of books where my sisters and I would play hide & seek among the boxes. We would get distracted by the many books on the shelves, so the game would never last long. I gave MQ, Peachtree’s President, her (now deceased) cat Arthur when I was 8, who would come to the office every day being carried in a basket. I would sneak into KL’s office and leave her notes letting her know I had messed with all of her stuff. She would always forgive me and when I had my first heartbreak, she had just the book to get me through it. However, I had just as much affection for Peachtree’s books. I jumped with joy when I learned that Peachtree was publishing books by my favorite illustrator, Quentin Blake, and cried when Harry Horse, the author of one of my favorite series, died. I’ve gotten to play and grow up in the place where I now work.

My job, like many in our office, has evolved from when I first started here. I’ve been an unpaid intern, spending days putting books into plastic boxes and trudging through the slush pile. I spent months working in the warehouse shipping books in the cold with Maureen and years answering the phones at our front desk. When I eventually got a desk and business cards, I felt like I had finally made it! Now I get to be one third of an amazing publicity team, with the added bonus of being able to focus on our online and social media publicity. I write our blog, set up blog tours, run our Facebook page, and Tweet throughout the day about books, publishing, reviews, etc. I get to spend time talking to other book lovers, getting to know them and introduce them to our books, many of which I have loved my whole life. How amazingly lucky is that?!

Peachtree Publishers is an amazing place to work and being small has its benefits. Besides being able to bring my dog with me to work from time to time, I have the opportunity to be involved in aspects of publishing I wouldn’t be able to at a larger publisher. I get to participate in acquisitions meetings, and give my opinion about book covers. When there is an interesting YA manuscript, it often gets passed to me for feedback, since everyone here knows how much I love YA books and that I read them all of the time. We even have an unofficial book club in the office. Being able to sit in on meetings and work with all of the different departments has taught me so much about the world of publishing and has helped me to understand everything that goes into making a beautiful book. I love my job and the people I work with, which can make all the difference.

Erin’s Top 10 Favorite Peachtree Publishers Books:

1.     The Little Rabbit Series by Harry Horse-I know this is more than one book, but I cannot get enough of this bratty little bunny. If you have young kids, these are books that even you will enjoy reading over and over again.

 

2.      Mr. President Goes to School by Rick Walton- This is a new book that just came outthis fall. It is very funny and clever, with bright illustrations that kids will be drawn to. Besides, who doesn’t want to see the president finger painting in disguise?

 

3.      Captain Small Pig by Martin Waddell- This book has a cranky turkey, an understanding goat, and a little pig who wants nothing more than to catch a whale while floating on the lake for the day. How amazing is that?!

4.      The Book of Shadowboxes: A Story of ABC’s by Laura L. Seeley- I LOVED this book as a kid. The illustrations were so detailed and fun that I couldn’t get enough of it. It is one that I still pick up from time to time just for the simple enjoyment of it.

5.      Loveykins by Quentin Blake- Following a blustery night, Angela Bowling finds a baby bird, who turns into a giant vulture named Augustus. Genius.

6.      The Monster Who Ate My Peas by Danny Schnitzlein-Would you make a deal with a fiendishly funny monster to avoid eating your peas? What if it meant giving up your dog?

7.      The Opposite by Tom MacRae- If you wake up with an Opposite standing on your ceiling, you know that you are in for a long day.

8.      My Dadima Wears a Sari by Kashmira Sheth- This book always reminds me of spending time with my own grandmother. While the cultures are different, the sentiment is the same.

9.      The Brain Finds a Leg by Martin Chatterton-An alligator that thinks he’s a dog, evil koalas and a kid who fell into his parents’ genius machine. Sounds like a normal day for the Brain and his sidekick Sheldon.

10.     Eleanor’s Story: An American Girl in Hitler’s Germany by Eleanor Ramrath Garner- This is an AMAZING memoir about Eleanor and her family, who moved back to Germany shortly before World War II and what the war was like for her in Berlin. I couldn’t put this book down.

Thanks Erin for letting us know more about yourself and Peachtree. My question for you: Have you ever wanted to work for a publishing company? What’s your dream job?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Guest post. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Guest Post: Erin Deedy from Peachtree Publishers

  1. Pam says:

    This is a great post and what a wonderful life you have lead Erin.

  2. bermudaonion says:

    Oh my gosh, what a heavenly childhood!

  3. Jennifer says:

    Awesome post, Erin! And what fun to grow up around publishing and get paid $5 to read the books! That’s so awesome! I’m going to have to check out “Eleanor’s Story”. I love books about WWII and this one sounds fascinating!

    I have always wanted to work in publishing, just to see what it’s like! I always thought I would make a good editor, but I don’t really know everything that an editor has to do, so I may be completely wrong about that! LOL

    Thanks for the great post!

  4. zibilee says:

    Erin sounds like she’s had the best childhood in the world, and how cool is it that she is still there, loving her time at Peachtree? I loved this post, and am so glad that she told us about it!

  5. Kay says:

    Hi Erin,

    Thanks for your beautiful account of life and work with Peachtree. Most of all a huge thank you for including my late brother Harry Horse amongst your favourites. I am grateful to Peachtree for continuing to publish his books so that a readership in the USA may share in the delightful tales of the floppy eared bunnies that Harry brought to life!

    Kind regards, Kay.

    • Erin says:

      Kay, Even though your brother is no long with us, his books bring so much joy. I share them with all of the little people in my life, who always fall in love with the charmingly bratty Little Rabbit. He was an amazing artist and a wonderful author. My nickname is Roo, so his series with his dog Roo in them have a special place on my bookshelf and are very much loved. -Erin

  6. Heather says:

    What an idyllic childhood! How amazing to grow up surrounded by books, and even get paid to read them! No wonder you (Erin) grew up to work for Peachtree! And how lucky. I would love to work for a publisher. *sigh*

  7. Michelle says:

    I didn’t realize Erin’s mother is a picture book author! How cool that she’s been able to be with Peachtree for so long. 🙂

  8. Pam says:

    We’re so close to PTP!! This was a great look into one of the lives that make it go. Thanks!🙂

  9. amymckie says:

    Sounds like a pretty great place to grow up! I just love Erin, she’s a lot of fun and really great in person too. I’ve only read one Peachtree title (Suspect) but I really enjoyed it!

  10. Erin says:

    Thanks for all of the kind words guys. It’s certainly been fun. I’m glad that I am able to work with and share books with so many of you!

  11. LOVE this guest post! Erin, you’ve had a pretty amazing life! I’m totally jealous!

  12. Michelle says:

    Loved reading this. I am very jealous, Erin.

  13. Ash says:

    I’m so jealous that Erin got to experience the publishing industry as a child! I’m kind of trying to break into publishing right now in any way I can and Erin’s job basically described my dream. I want to get the word out about books and sell them. This was a great guest post!

  14. Amy Eubanks says:

    I remember going to see Carmen Deedy at Oxford Books with my mom many years ago. Later, she came to visit the elementary school where I worked. I loved seeing my children’s delighted faces when she told her stories! As a kindergarten teacher I count Peachtree Publishers among my favorites. My picture book collection now stands at 1000+ and they will never be replaced by e-books. (Although I do have a small collection on my iPad.) I have my dream job, but children’s book editor ranks a close second.

Comments are closed.