Library Loot: National Book Awards Edition

Library Loot is a weekly meme co-hosted by Claire and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library.

School has been keeping me pretty occupied so I haven’t been able to post as often (or at all) as I would like to. But it hasn’t stopped me from doing one of the things I love most: going to the library. Because it’s unlikely that I can read as much as I want to for pleasure, I’ve only checked out a few books lately.

Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi.
One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams- Garcia.
Lockdown by Walter Dean Myers.

All three of these books are finalists in the Young People’s Literature category for the National Book Awards.

Some Sing, Some Cry by Ntozake Shange and Ifa Bayeza.
Bayou by Jeremy Love. This is one of the books I picked as the three best books I’ve read in the past few years. I’m re-reading it again.

This is a pretty small stack but I think I can get through it without renewing books several times. What’s in your library loot this week?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Library Loot. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Library Loot: National Book Awards Edition

  1. Ash says:

    I haven’t heard of any of these! I haven’t been able to go to the library for awhile because I’ve had so many other books to read. I just returned one to the library but I didn’t check anything else out, I just didn’t even tempt myself.

  2. bermudaonion says:

    I hope you enjoy them all and find them award worthy!

  3. zibilee says:

    These look like great books, and I hope that you end up enjoying them!

  4. Mollie says:

    I really enjoyed Ship Breaker! Hope you enjoy it!

    I picked up Bayou a few trips back but haven’t gotten around to it yet!

  5. Care says:

    I am a sucker for a book list and love to see what books have been nominated for awards. Thanks for the reminder to put Bayou on my tbr and to say it was YOU that referred it to me. 🙂

  6. Natalie says:

    Interesting loot! Hope you enjoy your reads,
    Natalie :0)
    http://www.thebookinn.net

  7. Jen says:

    I loved Ship Breaker. And I too got a copy from the library just a few weeks ago. Although, after reading it, I wished I bought it! 🙂 Enjoy.

  8. Michelle says:

    I hope you enjoy ShipBreaker, it was quite an interesting read.

  9. She says:

    Hope ya like Ship Breaker. I’ve been interested in Bayou for a while, but neither of the libraries I’ve frequented have it in stock😦

  10. Jodie says:

    Shipbreaker looks so good. Not sure if Lockdown might be too intense for me, but it does look good.

  11. Frances says:

    First year in a long time that I have not read the NBA finalist titles for the young folks. And I have not read one of them. Hanging my head. If only I could make the time to get to everything I want to read. I know you understand. Enjoy them!

  12. bybee says:

    I always forget that there are NBAs for the peanut gallery. (Slapping forehead)

  13. Edi says:

    Hi!
    Just want to be sure you know part 2 of Bayou is out.

  14. Marg says:

    I don’t think I have ever read an entire lot of loot without renewing at least some of them!

    Enjoy your loot!

Comments are closed.