It Begins!

I’m up! I’m up! It’s 5:27 am right now and the read-a-thon started more than twenty minutes ago. It’s dark and cold outside while inside, I’m the only person awake. (Thank you God.) My first book is

And The Pursuit of Happiness

by Maira Kalman

First Hour Meme:

Where are you reading from? My computer desk in Southern California.

3 Facts about me: Mother to three beautiful kids, lover of coffee, and bubblegum ice cream

How many books do you have in your TBR pile for the next 24 hours? 30?

Goals for the read-a-thon: Have fun and to read about six books

As a veteran, any advice: Have fun!

Update 1: Hour 6

So I finished two books: And The Pursuit of Happiness by Maira Kalman along with Amulet Book 1: The Stonekeeper by Kazu Kibuishi.

Next up: Amulet Book 2: The Stonekeeper’s Curse

I already had four cups of coffee (and I’m feeling it). Next meal is hash browns with eggs.

How are you doing?

Hour 10 Update

Now I’m on book 5. I just finished Amulet 3: The Cloud Searchers. Before book 3, I read book 2 of the same series. I’m changing gears and I think I’ll read Hamlet next since I’ve been ignoring it for the past two weeks.

I’m no longer hyper over the coffee, laid down for a few minutes, and now I feel refresh. I’ve been eating a ton of rice krispies treats. Now I’m munching on cucumbers with salt. Yum! Okay so how are you holding up?

 

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Readathon. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to It Begins!

  1. Emily says:

    Happy Readathon!

    I absolutely adore Maira Kalman’s columns from And the Pursuit of Happiness – I hope you enjoy them too!

  2. Trisha says:

    Ah yes, coffee, the thing that makes the readathon possible! Happy readathon!

  3. Melanie says:

    Happy Reading! Hope you are off to a good start and you’ve got lots of coffee prepared…

  4. Trish says:

    Hope you have a great day! I woke my husband up while making my vlog, but it was almost 7:00 here. 🙂 Enjoy the reading!!

  5. Anastasia says:

    Bubblegum ice cream?! Does it literally just taste like bubblegum? (Weirdo!! :P)

    • Vasilly says:

      LOL! It doesn’t taste like bubble gum. It’s blue ice cream with chunks of bubble gum in it. Like those balls of bubblegum you get out of a bubblegum machine. It’s so good but almost no one sells it anymore.

  6. nanscorner says:

    I bet my nephew would LOVE bubblegum ice cream! Happy reading!

  7. Amanda says:

    Have a great time!

  8. i’ve never heard of that book OR bubblegum icecream!

  9. Michelle says:

    Six books? Holy smokes! I’ll be happy to do half that, haha.

    You’ve got it going on….it’s all about the fun. We’er gearing up for hour three and I’m about to start my second book. Book #1 is already complete mainly because it was short and I started it yesterday, LOL

    Have a great time!

  10. stacybuckeye says:

    “Reading is to the mind what exercise is to the body.” – Joseph Addison
    Have a great workout today🙂

  11. Irish says:

    Six books? An impressive goal! Good luck with that!

  12. I have this book on my Read-a-Thon pile too. I think I’m saving it for later tonight, since I’m going to be tired and think illustrations will be awesome. It’s such a beautiful looking book. Happy Read-a-Thon!

  13. Mystica says:

    A lot of books to get through! Enjoy the read.

  14. Frances says:

    And the Pursuit of Happiness is in my near future too. So excited about it as I enjoy the author’s work – a lot. Good luck today! I hope the little friends are cooperative.🙂

  15. kay says:

    Good luck! I’m sure you’ll do a lot of great reading today!

  16. softdrink says:

    (Non)traditional Buddhist readathon blessing:

    Just as the books fill the shelves,
    Pile together on the floor and stack up on the table
    So may the joy of the readathon
    Flow forth to brighten your day and lift your spirit.
    Books already read, books in progress and books yet to be read.

    By the power of every word on the page
    May your book be delightful,
    As scary as Lovecraft’s Cthulhu
    Or as sweet as a box of See’s candy.

    Let the power of the images evoked by words
    Keep you stay awake long through the night
    May no obstacle impede
    Your day filled with books.

    For all of those who are reading today
    Who follow in the path of Dewey
    May your day be filled with the four blessings
    Of fabulous books, tasty snacks, comfy chairs and joy.

  17. The Pursuit of Happiness is at the top of my wishlist. Lucky, lucky you.

    I’m focusing on reading children’s books today. It’s going quite smoothly, so far.

  18. Ronnica says:

    Sounds like it’s going well…keep up the reading!

  19. Joanna says:

    Wow, well done on finishing two books already, way to go!!!

  20. Natalie says:

    Have fun today! Good luck with your goal and happy reading.
    Natalie :0)

  21. Trish says:

    Hurrah for finishing TWO books!! Way to go! 😀

  22. Valerie says:

    You are doing very good! 4 cups of coffee so far? Well, you did have to get up one hour earlier than me🙂 . (Pacicic time vs Mountain Time) Technically, we did get up at the same time but you know what I mean! Enjoy the rest of the readathon!

  23. Florinda says:

    Looks like your Readathon day is going pretty well so far – keep it up, and have a great time!

  24. I’ve (sadly) only finished one! BUT it was a good one! Mockingjay! So now I’m on to the next! Good luck with the readathon!

    Julie @ Knitting and Sundries

  25. Edi says:

    Sounds like you’re doing well and enjoying yourself! I’m going to get dinner in a few.

  26. Sharon says:

    I remember bubblegum ice cream…wow! Been a long time since I had some!
    Good luck with your reading and thanks for stopping by my blog!

  27. msysspinks says:

    I just got started but happy reading!

  28. kai charles says:

    i read vol one of the amulet but not the rest, great job, thanks for stopping by my blo🙂

  29. Memory says:

    Wow, you’re doing great! Five books as of Hour 10, and I’m sure you’re even further along now.🙂 I haven’t even finished one (though I did start pretty late, on account of my time zone).

  30. amymckie says:

    Wow, book 5, impressive! Happy reading🙂

  31. Trish says:

    Congrats on a great readathon!

  32. Amy says:

    Oh, I heart Maira Kalman.

Comments are closed.