Weekly Geeks: Readathon! Readathon! Readathon!

I’m going to apologize in advance for this long post. There’s something about the read-a-thon that helps make fall one of my favorite seasons. To set aside 24 consecutive hours to do one of the things I love most in the world: read. And to do it with a ton of people who love reading as much as I do is the icing on the cake. Some people hear about the read-a-thon and think it’s a race but it’s not.

My strategy for the read-a-thon is to spend today preparing for by cleaning up the house, going grocery shopping, and doing all of my homework to get it out the way. I don’t plan on cooking tomorrow so it’s sandwiches, cold cereal, pizza, and lots of snacks for my family. The great thing is that they understand and a few of the kids plan on participating with me during the event.

I don’t plan on reading as many books as possible (though I do love the pressure). I just want to spend as much time as I can reading. I’m not going to set a specific amount of time. I started checking out books from the library last week, so my reading pile is a combination of TBR books, rereads, and also library books. No ARCS allowed!

Dewey, the wonderful caring blogger who created the read-a-thon, was such a great person. She was so generous and loved sharing books. Participating in the read-a-thon is a great way to keep her memory alive but I also wanted to do something special. So for each book I finish this weekend, I’m giving $10 to a non-profit organization.

Here’s my stack:

The Purloined Boy by Mortimus Clay
A Wish After Midnight by Zetta Elliot
Amulet 3: The Cloud Searchers by Kazu Kibuishi

Spilling Ink by Ellen Potter and Anne Mazer
Beloved by Toni Morrison
Bamboo People by Mitali Perkins

Keeper by Kathi Appelt
Anything But Typical by Nora Raleigh Baskin
Butterfly by Sonya Hartnett

The Gifted Gabaldón Sisters by Lorraine Lopez
The Last Summer of the Death Warriors by Francisco X. Stork
And the Pursuit of Happiness by Maira Kalman

Vice: New and Selected Poems by Ai
Notes from No Man’s Land: American Essays by Eula Biss
Drinking Coffee Elsewhere: Stories by ZZ Packer

Not pictured:

A Raisin in the Sun by Lorraine Hansberry
Topdog/Underdog by Suzan-Lori Parks
The Haiku Anthology edited by Cor Van Den Heuvel
Nat Turner by Kyle Baker
Spoon River Anthology by Edgar Lee Master
The Baby-Sitters Club: The Summer Before by Ann M. Martin
Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury
Anna in the Tropics by Nilo Cruz
The Whale Rider by Witi Ihimaera

So that’s my list. Are you participating in the read-a-thon? If not, what are your plans for the weekend?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in meme., Readathon. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Weekly Geeks: Readathon! Readathon! Readathon!

  1. yes, i’m participating! and i can’t wait!

    i don’t think i’ll read for the entire 24 hours like i did last time (because in retrospect, that’s just crazy), but i’ll do my best. 🙂

  2. Marieke says:

    It looks like a fantastic stack of books! I’m so glad it’s not a race, because I’d be one of the last. But I agree, it’s fun just to set aside a day for reading. I need to get my snacks figured out so I don’t have to do any cooking tomorrow. Good luck with your preparations!

  3. Jodie says:

    Have fun readathoning this year – I’ll be cheering you all on in spirit even if I can’t be involved this year. Really excited that Wish is on your list and Beloved too, it’s fab.

  4. lavenderlines says:

    You’re like me. I needed a HUGE stack of books to pick from so I wouldn’t feel pressured to read certain books.

    Happy reading!

  5. Jenny says:

    Excellent choices! And I absolutely understand the impulse to get together a massive pile of books. Whenever I go on a car trip, even if it’s only an hour or two, I bring a ridiculous number of books so that I’ll be able to choose what I’m in the mood for.

  6. zibilee says:

    Good luck! I hope you get tons read!

  7. vivienne says:

    I just love looking at everyone’s reading choices for the readathon. I really wish I could take part, but my weekend is jam packed. Have a great time.

  8. Edi says:

    I’m doing the readathon also! I brought home a few short MG reads for this one. I admit it: I read slowly and I want to feel a sense of accomplishment on this one! I’m going to do 4 or 5 hours tonight so that I can get some sleep tomorrow! Good luck!

  9. You’ve got a good stack to choose from! Something Wicked This Way Comes is in my read-a-thon pile too!

  10. Christy says:

    Yes, I’m participating for the first time. I have eight books in my pile, plus two that I’m in the middle of and will probably finish off tomorrow. Beloved is a dense sort of book, but very good. I don’t know what it would be like to read in a read-a-thon. I was assigned to read it in high school, so I believe I was reading it in chunks.

  11. Amanda says:

    I can’t wait to get my hands on that Zetta Elliot book! I’ve had it on paperback swap forever, but still no luck getting ahold of it.

    Yay readathon!!

  12. Ash says:

    Yay for Eula Biss! I had good intentions of finishing all my homework, but I’ll have some time on Sunday to work on things so hopefully it’ll be fine. Good luck tomorrow and I’ll be cheering you on!

  13. Molly says:

    Have a great time!! You have some great choices and a wonderful attitude.

  14. O.K., after the Readathon I’m definitely going to have to look into Bamboo People, as I keep seeing it around! Good luck on the readathon and it’s awesome that you’re donating!

    Julie @ Knitting and Sundries

Comments are closed.