Sunday Salon: Banned Books Week and Reading Too Many Books at One Time

It’s that time of the year again where Americans celebrate the freedom to read whatever we want to, when we want to, and how we want to! It’s the start of Banned Books Week and I’m celebrating by reading as many banned books as I can this week. I’ve just started reading The War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells for the first time. It’s a book that has been banned and/or challenged but I haven’t been able to find any information about why. The American Library Association (ALA) has a ton of great resources to help readers find books that have been banned and/or challenged. At the end of this post, you’ll find a few links on banned books.

Looking at the lists, I’ve found a ton of great books that I’ve read that have been challenged or banned in some libraries. One example is Sherman Alexie’s The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian which I read for the first time this year. It’s been challenged by parents for references of masturbation and has been called vulgar and racist. Obviously the parents who challenged it hadn’t read it. It just proves that if a book is challenged/banned, it must be a great read. . .

About that stack of books I’m in the middle of. It started out innocently enough with Plenitude by Juliet B. Schor. Then I started reading The Flat World and Education by Linda Darling-Hammond. Both books are dense non-fiction with tons of statistics. I needed something “lighter” so I read other books in the meanwhile like Life of Pi by Yann Martel and The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender (love both). Then I started on West of Everything by Jane Tompkins which is readable non-fiction that analyses the western genre. Add The Best American Short Stories 2010 edited by Richard Russo, Reinventing Comics by Scott McCloud, along with Monsters, Muses & Monsters edited by Elizabeth Benedict, and you see I have my hands full! I have to say that I’m enjoying every book though my reading pace has slowed dramatically.  Maybe I should try to finish one or two of the books this week and continue the rest another time. What do you think?

Have you ever had the problem of being in the middle of too many books at one time? Are you celebrating Banned Books Week? How?


Links :

Books that have been banned or challenged in the past year (PDF)

Banned Books Week Press Kit

ALA’s List of Banned and Challenged Classics

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sunday Salon: Banned Books Week and Reading Too Many Books at One Time

  1. Samantha says:

    That is a lot of books at once!🙂 I find that my reading slows down as well when I’m in the midst of more than one book. I can’t wait to hear what books you read for banned books week. I was thinking of rereading Speak myself.

  2. Gavin says:

    Right now I’m reading 3, no, 4 books. I’m not celebrating Banned Books Week, it slipped right by me, but I am reading Dracula, which has been banned according to the Facts on Files Banned Books: Censorship Histories of World Literature series.

  3. Ash says:

    I actually run into this problem quite a bit. I start a nonfiction book because I like it and want to learn more, but then that on top of reading for school makes me crave a lighter read so I pick up another book, and then throw in an anthology every now and then and I’m read 3-4 books! Sometimes more!

  4. Kathleen says:

    I’m usually only reading one book at a time…boring, I know!

  5. Iris says:

    I certainly have had that problem. Not sure how to solve it, read through it, I guess?

  6. Jodie says:

    Glad to see you’re back and fighting fit🙂 I always used to be in the middle of too many books and I’d never finish anything – I feel so clean and mind healthy now I read just one, or a couple at the same time.

  7. zibilee says:

    I am in the middle of about 5 books right now. Including some audio books, some non-fiction, some nature writing, and some fiction. I don’t really know how this happened, as I never, ever do this!

    I am also glad to see so many bloggers supporting banned books week and will have to see if I can get a post together in time!! I have heard great things about Alexie’s books and am saddened to hear that some places are banning them.

  8. Kailana says:

    I was planning to read The Witches by Roald Dahl for Banned Book Week. I just haven’t got around to it yet! Last year I was reading multiple books at a time. This year I have been keeping it to one except for a few exceptions. Interesting enough, I read more books last year than this year, so maybe I had a good idea and should resume it!

  9. Andi says:

    I’m right there with you! I’m pressed for time which makes me antsy in the book department. This is traditionally how I end up reading too many things at once and my reading slows to a crawl. Blah!

    Good luck getting a jump start. I’m drooling over the ones you have going.

  10. Valerie says:

    So sorry you were sick — hope you are 100% now. I always have the problem of too many books at once🙂. Sometimes it’s only two, but usually around 3-4.

    I’m trying to write a post for BBW — it will go up today or tomorrow. Better late than never, I guess!

  11. Care says:

    Yes, I’m celebrating (is that the right word?) BBW and CHEERING you on as your write these great posts.

  12. Jenny says:

    Usually if I’m in the middle of a bunch of different books, it’s because none of them have really grabbed me yet. So I try to pick out which ones I’m enjoying least, and let them go while I finish the others.

  13. Nelly says:

    Reading too many books at one time?? Hmm It sounds like good!

  14. Yeah, I don’t think I could ever read too many books at a time. It is like book Darwinism – the ones that aren’t right for me at that moment fall quietly by the wayside.

    Meanwhile, I look forward to hearing your thoughts about Reinventing Comics. I loved (and have, on occasion, taught) Understanding Comics, but I have either this one or Making Comics on my shelf and have just never quite gotten around to it…

  15. i love to listen on audiobooks while travelling on a bus, i could learn a lot from it while travelling ;.;

Comments are closed.