Readers Imbibing Peril 5

You guys may think I’m crazy but it has taken me more than a week to figure out what to read for this challenge. Like most of us, I was counting down until Carl announced the start of the 5th annual R.I.P. challenge. This is my fourth time participating in this challenge and I usually have my reading list ready to go before the start of the challenge.  Not so much this year. I had a few favorite stories I wanted to re-read but couldn’t make up my mind when it came to everything else.

After reading so many of my favorite bloggers’ lists for this challenge and compiling a huge list of books, I finally figure out what I wanted to read. I have more than two hundred unread books on my shelves, so I decided to pick my most of my reading pool from the books I already own. This year I’m participating in two perils:

Peril the Second only calls for two books but judging for my reading pool, I know I’m going to read way more than that. My list:

The Victoria Vanishes by Christopher Fowler
Beloved by Toni Morrison
Amulet Book 3: The Cloud Searchers by Kazu Kibuishi

Sweet Hearts by Melanie Rae Thon
Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury
Fieldwork by Mischa Berlinski

The Purloined Boy by Mortimus Clay
Bradbury Stories: 100 of His Most Celebrated Tales by Ray Bradbury
The Icarus Girl by Helene Oyeyemi

Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan
A Wish After Midnight by Zetta Elliot
Little Red Riding Hood by Trina Schart Hyman (re-read)

Not pictured:

Big Machine by Victor LaValle
A Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender
The House of Spirits by Isabel Allende
The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter
Revolver by Marcus Segwick
Sir Gawain and the Green Knight (re-read)
The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson
Fledgling by Octavia Butler
The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Edit: For some reason, the last few pictures aren’t showing. You can click on the icons to see the covers.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in R.I.P.Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Readers Imbibing Peril 5

  1. Amanda says:

    So many good books on here!! I love seeing people’s RIP lists.

  2. bermudaonion says:

    Everyone seems to love this challenge. I hope you have fun with it.

  3. Andi says:

    Ooh ooh! So many good books. I loooove Angela Carter, and The Bloody Chamber was stunning. It’s one I would even re-read. I was tickled today to find Wise Children on my shelves. The Graveyard Book was on my top 10 the year I read it, and I’m all the more interested to read Octavia Butler since I loved the short story, “Bloodchild.”

    On the other side, I downloaded a sample of Tender Morsels for my nook and didn’t have so much luck with it. I think it was the dialect. I just wasn’t in the mood at the time, but I love the premise.

    Happy RIPing!

  4. Memory says:

    I love your list. BELOVED and THE GRAVEYARD BOOK are such good choices!

    I still haven’t put my pool together. I have one vampire novel and one mystery that I know I’ll read, but I haven’t rightly decided what else I should add to the pot. I’m at something of a disadvantage this year, since I don’t really have a TBR pile. You’d think this would help, since I can pick anything at all, but that’s just the problem! I have too many choices…

  5. Your list is tempting me to add a few more titles to mine. Fieldwork is especially one I want to read. Good luck with the challenge and have fun!

  6. Lightheaded says:

    Loved The Bloody Chamber too! Hope you get around to it. Loved the Bradbury and the Gaiman (yay, I sound like I’m picking furnitures :P)

  7. vivienne says:

    ooh I go away for a month and my favourite challenge appears.

    I loved Beloved and The Icarus Girl. I hope you do too.

  8. Molly says:

    I just wish I took the next two months off from life and do nothing but read books for this challenge. My list is already longer than I can possibly manage, and with each post I read I want to add more books to the pile.

    Congratulations on this being your 4th RIP challenge – I had no idea what a reading challenge was four years ago🙂

  9. You got a great list! And you also reminded me that I forgot to add Beloved to my list, which I own along with the rest of the books. Hope you have a whale of a time reading for RIP V!

    Do check out the books I already read for RIP V. Also you will find my tentative read list.

  10. Gavin says:

    This is a fabulous list of books. I’m starting with two but know I will add more as time goes by. I started think about R.I.P. in June but did not prepare a reading list, I figured I’d wing it! It it great fun seeing so many bloggers joining this challenge!

  11. She says:

    Ohhhkay! Awesome list! Tender Morsels, Graveyard Book, and The Haunting of Hill House are all fabulous. I hope you enjoy and love everything you read.

  12. Kailana says:

    I really like the cover of Fieldwork. Others look good and some of them I hope to read myself!

  13. I swear the RIP challenge snuck up on em this year! I didn’t have my list ready either and since I posted it last week I have added to it. One of the books I added was Something Wicked This Way Comes because I kept seeing it on everyone else’s lists.

  14. Valerie says:

    Ooh. I have “Beloved” in my TBR pile, didn’t think to include it in my RIP pool! Also for some reason I didn’t think to include “Sweet Hearts” (also in my TBR) in my pool — I really should have since it has a deaf character in it. If I have time, maybe I’ll try to get to “Sweet Hearts” also.

    Maybe you are on to something — waiting for a while to start your RIP list; I should have also because then my pool definitely would have grown :-)!

    • Vasilly says:

      You have Sweet Hearts?! You’re probably the only blogger I know who has even heard of Melanie Rae Thon! Let me know if you ever want to do a buddy review of it!

  15. Bellezza says:

    I loved!!! Something Wicked This Way Comes by Bradbury, which I read for the RIP a few years ago. That’s the wonderful thing about these challenges: they cause me to go outside of my box and find something wonderful to read! I hope you love it, too.

    Tender Morsels was weird, but wonderful in it’s own way. Two hundred unread books sounds good to me! XO

  16. Jenny says:

    Oo, good choices! I want to read the Zetta Elliott book myself, but my darn library never gets it. I swear it’s been in their system as “on order” forever.

  17. Care says:

    I want to try and read books from my shelves, too, and have been saving them up. I’m behind on choosing and posting on this! eek…

  18. Carl V. says:

    Well your work paid off because that is a great list of potential reads. I’ll be really interested in your review if you get to the Chris Fowler book. I see them in the bookstore all the time and they always look so interesting.

    The Bloody Chamber is excellent, as is The Graveyard Book and Sir Gawain and the Green Knight. I listened to an audio version of the adaptation by Simon Armitage and Wow!, it was incredible. If you haven’t heard it you really should track it down. I got it from our library.

  19. Ash says:

    Read Beloved! I’d love to hear what you think of it.

  20. Kathleen says:

    I love this challenge and all of the great reading ideas I will get out of it. I hope you enjoy The Icarus Girl. It was my first time reading Oyeyemi and I really enjoyed it. I think it is perfect for the RIP challenge.

  21. Great list of books – good luck!

Comments are closed.