Sunday Salon: Reading and Blogging Goals

It’s amazing to me that it’s July already. The year is going by so fast that it seems like December is just around the corner. I decided that now was a good time to look back at the blogging and reading goals that I made at the beginning of the year and see how I’m doing so far. I decided that for the goals I’m behind on, July and August will be the perfect months to play catch up.

Blogging

When it comes to my blogging goals I’ve found that I still need to increase the number of reviews I post. I doubt that I’ll ever become the type of person that posts a review every day but I would love to at least post two reviews a week.

I really need to update my blog more often. According to my “books read in 2010” list, I’ve only read 95 books but I know I’ve read about 20 more books since the last time I’ve updated that list.

Reading Deliberately

I’m still not having the great reading year that I want to have but it’s getting there. I wanted to read more writers of colors and more books in translation and I have. Two of my favorite adult books this year are Junot Diaz’s The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and Sherman Alexie’s The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian. Both books blew me away and I haven’t read anything else by any writer that has blown me away since.

I also wanted to start reading more books from my Project Fill-in-the-Gaps list, which still hasn’t happened. Since this is a five-year project and I’m going very slowly through the list, I’ll probably have to dedicate years four and five to just reading books off the list. I’ve added two books from my project’s list to this month’s reading goals: The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien and The Color Purple by Alice Walker.

Something New. Maybe.

Because I love children’s books so much, the majority of my reading every year is in this area. I’m starting to think more seriously about starting a kidlit blog. I plan on writing many reviews first before giving out the site’s url. Having a blog that’s dedicated just to children’s books will be challenging but very fun. Right now I’m trying to come up with a name.

For all my American friends, have a safe 4th of July. Happy Sunday everyone!

My question for you today is: how did you come up with your blog’s name?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Sunday Salon: Reading and Blogging Goals

  1. bermudaonion says:

    Your blog is a hobby so don’t stress over it too much. My son named my blog – at the time I didn’t know I was going to blog about books so much and it seemed okay, but now it seems rather silly. Happy Independence Day!

  2. I wish I could post a review every day too but there is just no way. I don’t read enough to have that many reviews but, like you, I aim for two reviews a week.

  3. Meghan says:

    I think you’re doing better with your yearly goals than I am! I do try to post a review most days, but it just doesn’t happen sometimes.

    My blog got its name because I like reading and I like medieval history. I meant to combine the two, but I like blogging about books a bit more than I like blogging about history, I think.

  4. alitareads says:

    A few months after I started my blog, I tried blogging every day, and it didn’t take long for me to feel burnt out. Plus, it left less time for reading! Goals are definitely important (I try to do at least one review a week, and would like to do two), but blogging should remain something that’s fun to do.

    I kind of wish now I had come up with a more creative blog name. When I was setting up my blog, all I knew was that it was going to be about what I had been reading, so I threw alita.reads. in, and it just stuck.

  5. Christina says:

    Sounds like a kidlit blog would be perfect for your current reading tastes.

    I’ve always loved the word “ardently” and I wanted to incorporate it into the name of my blog somehow. I originally started out with “reads ardently”, but changed it to “ardent reader” after playing about with those two words for a while.

  6. Sherry says:

    I read a lot of kidlit, but I just hodgepodge everything at one place. I can’t imagine keeping up with two blogs.

  7. Sherry says:

    Oh, and my daughter named my blog. I really like the name, though. It’s just different enough to make people remember it.

  8. Carrie K. says:

    I love your idea for a kid lit blog! I need to do a “how is my reading deliberately plan going” post soon, too.

    When I first started my blog, I didn’t really think it would take off so I didn’t give the name much thought – just named it after the two things I knew I’d blog about the most. It’s not very clever, but I don’t want to change it cause everyone knows me as Carrie K. from Books and Movies now.🙂

    Hope you’re having a great Independence Day! My review of On Beauty is going up tomorrow – I know you’ll want to read that book!

  9. Ash says:

    I don’t know anyone who posts a review every day, and I think your posts are interesting and unique, so don’t worry about how often you do it. I would love to see your thoughts on children’s books, it’s a passion of mine as well. As for the name of my blog, I was actually at an event and the speaker was talking about how he was reading Dan Brown. He said, sometimes you need some junk food, and from there I came up with the name English Major’s Junk Food. Since then my blog has evolved past just junk food, but I’d like to think I’m promoting an idea still.

    • Vasilly says:

      I was wondering how your blog got its name! Thanks!I think one of the things I hope for the most when it comes to my posts is whether or not they’re interesting! I have a fear that I’m boring people!🙂

  10. That’s kind of a funny question, since I have twenty blogs…don’t ask!

    But the blog with my Salon post…I named it after one of my novels…An Accidental Life.

    Here’s my post:

    http://laurel-rainsnowsaccidentallife.blogspot.com/2010/07/sunday-salon-july-4.html

  11. I was totally lacking in imagination when I named my blog. I had music on and was listening to Rhapsody in Blue, so my impoverished brain took its cue from that!

  12. Gavin says:

    I love the idea of you doing a KidLit blog as long as it doesn’t become too stressful. I used to worry about how often I reviewed books but now I just write when I am inspired. I do not review every book I read. Have a great week!

    • Vasilly says:

      I think I write when I’m inspired most of the time except when it comes to blog tours. Then I know I need to write something about a book!😀

  13. Memory says:

    I’m looking forward to your new kidlit blog!

    I stumbled across my blog’s name by accident. Back around the turn of the last century, there was an initiatory order named Stella Matutina, which means morning star in Latin. I thought this was a ton of fun to say, and I’m up for anything that references magic or mysticism. I was kind of worried that everyone would think I was a Satanist, but most people don’t seem to know what it means. They just think it’s my name (which I think is kind of weird, because how many people name their blogs after themselves? I mean, they might call it “Sheila’s Book Blog” or something, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen a non-author blog called, like, “Sheila Desjardins”).

    • Vasilly says:

      I love how original your blog’s name is! Maybe I should find a name in another language. I don’t understand why people would think it’s your name though. Maybe because of the Stella part?

  14. Wendy says:

    You know, my philosophy on goals are that they are elastic…ie: they can be flexible and change as needed. I love your blog – so I think you are doing something right🙂

    Re: my blog’s name…well, it was named after my dog who was my partner and friend and constant reminder to keep things “real!”

  15. Iris says:

    I hope you don’t stres yourself out too much about your blogging goals. I think most bloggers want to be able to post more (I know I do), but blogging should remain a hobby as well.

    • Vasilly says:

      Yes! I definitely agree, Iris! The minute blogging doesn’t feel like fun, I’ll take a break from it. Sometimes I forget to look at the big picture.

  16. Michelle says:

    Sounds to me like you’re making your goals and then some! Good luck with the kidlit specific blog. Long ago I thought of breaking mine up into two seperate but then decided against it because of the time involved in maintaining it. You’re going to do a great job!

    • Vasilly says:

      Thanks! I’m hoping that it won’t be too much to maintain two blogs. If it gets to be too much, I’ll just combine the two blogs together!

  17. Molly says:

    I think you are having a successful reading and blogging year! And I love the idea of a kidlit blog – only if it will be a fun and not stressful venture🙂

    • Vasilly says:

      I don’t think it’ll be too stressful (yet) since I’m going to build it up before looking for readers. Fingers crossed that I find a name soon!

  18. zibilee says:

    Love the idea of a kidlit blog! I also think that you have been pretty successful with your goals so far. I think that I only had one or two goals in mind this year, and I didn’t get any of them accomplished. Haven’t even started, and the year is half over!! I wish you continued success with everything you are doing.

  19. Jodie says:

    Have you tried Alexie’s ‘Reservation Blues’? I finished it a few weeks ago (gah also must review more like you) and thought it was excellent, so maybe the answer is to continue reading everything by him until you find an equally cool writer.

  20. Stephanie says:

    I haven’t been having a great reading year either- way too slow, but it’s picking up. I think this year constituted the biggest, longest reading slump I’ve ever been in. Thank goodness THAT is over!

    Blog title- I knew someone who made liberal use of the phrase “Open mouth, insert foot,” so I changed that up a little. I like the idea of taking off the top of my skull and cramming in as many books as possible.🙂

  21. Jenny says:

    Yay, Alice Walker! I hope you like The Color Purple, it’s one of my absolute favorite books of all time.

    I named my blog Jenny’s Books, which was rather dull, because I didn’t really think about other people reading it…I’ve been thinking for a while I need to change it, but so far haven’t thought of anything brilliant to change it to.:/

  22. iliana says:

    Oh I wish I could do reviews more often but I get lazy🙂

    Good luck with your reading goals! I would like to have a bit more variety in my reading so we’ll see what books I get in the coming months.

    Blog name… I think Bookgirl was just a username I used in some forums and that was sort of simple. I actually didn’t think too much about it as I never even expected to keep blogging for so long but well here I am six years later!

  23. Kathleen says:

    My blog’s name isn’t very descriptive of my blog which is dedicated to books and reading. I named it “boarding in my forties” after the idea that as I reached middle age, I will living life to the fullest and trying new things like snowboarding. The whole snowboarding experience became a metaphor for what I have been doing in my life since hitting 40, almost seven years ago now! Good luck with your kid lit blog and I hope you find just the right name for it.

  24. Good question! I came up with the name after talking with an old friend about my taste in music/tv, and that it was pretty dorky. He told me it was ok to be dorky, as long as you’re also a little bit sophisticated to balance it out. I thought Sophisticated Dorkiness was a funny blog name and just went for it🙂

  25. Only 95? WAAAAA!!!!🙂 Give me a break. I’ve only read 31 so far. Take that.😉

    As for the Sherman Alexie book, I couldn’t agree more. It’s still my most popular review: http://unfinishedperson.com/2008/07/03/the-absolutely-true-story-of-a-part-time-indian/

  26. heidenkind says:

    Just keep thinking about it and the perfect name will come to you.🙂 I got mine from watching Moulin Rouge, but I’d been thinking about it for a while and I knew when I had thought of the right one.

  27. Beth F says:

    Late to the party! I think you’re doing fine with your blog. I don’t read enough for pleasure to write a review a day. I ready only about 100 books a year, so 2 reviews a week is all I can manage.

    My blog name is a fake name because my husband wanted to preserve some privacy and I originally thought I’d also blog about being an editor, so I wanted to use my real name or business name for that. Now I wish I hadn’t gone with the fake name.

  28. My friend over @ Browngirl Speaks starting calling me Notorious Spinks and it was history.

  29. Care says:

    Wow – you have read a ton! Don’t stress about it, right? (I do, too.) My blog name is boring and only now trying to be… what’s the word? ACCURATE?! ha.
    Happy July to you!

Comments are closed.