Sunday Salon: Reading, Relaxation, and Resentment

Did you know that today is Do Nothing But Read Day (DNBRD)? The event was started last year by Amanda Lanyon-LeSage because she wanted to take a day off and do nothing but read. I love these kinds of reading events. Between Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-thon, MotherReader’s 48-hour Book Challenge, and other events, every few months you can find a great reason (if you need one), to put your feet up and get lost in a good book.

After having a hectic week of classes, I decided to have a day to myself and join DNBRD. There are many books in my TBR pile, on my shelves and nightstand that I would love to read within 24 hours, but I think that instead of planning my reading, I’ll just glance around and read whatever catches my eye and mood.

The resentment part of this post’s title comes from the ever-present resentment I feel when school is in. I love to learn and my sources of knowledge comes from many different sources such as my textbooks or countless articles or blog posts online or from reading great books. My resentment comes from feeling as if school can get “in the way” of my learning. Strange, huh?

For instance, I’m taking an art history class along with a math class for the summer semester. The semester only lasts a month but it’s a month spent learning five months worth of facts. I’m spending most of my days in class with not many hours left for myself in a non-school way. The semester started last week and I’m already struggling to find the time to read. It’s a feeling I have every semester. I know school is so important for my future career (children’s librarian), but still. . . A few hours to myself to do what I want without guilt is almost impossible while school is in.

Or so I thought.

A year ago I took an amazing class with a professor who teaches study skills. While I was in her class, I learned something new every day about getting the most out of my education. One of the lessons my professor taught is the importance of having a weekly schedule. You make a schedule you can go by most days and fit in time for doing the stuff you love to do along with the things you have to do. I started making my schedule last night, giving myself at least two hours a day to read and three hours to study. I started feeling better before I finished the schedule.

Now I’m off to read for DNBRD. Here’s my Sunday Salon question for you: Do you ever feel resentment about the things you have to do when you rather be reading? How do you make time to read?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Sunday Salon: Reading, Relaxation, and Resentment

  1. bermudaonion says:

    I definitely feel resentment about having to do housework instead of reading!

  2. Lu says:

    I know exactly how you feel, especially when I’m in school. The interesting thing is that I end up reading more during the school year because my reading time feels so scheduled. So I end up focusing much better on the books when I do read. BTW: Love the new look! I hadn’t seen it yet.

  3. amymckie says:

    I totally agree re: feeling resentment! Sometimes I hate having to clean, work, hang out with friends (heh) because I just want to read!

  4. J.C. says:

    It’s because of those feelings I schedule time to read when I know I will be having one of those weeks. I want my reading, and experience, to be as organic as possible. But the possibility of not getting any time to read is worse an idea than simply insuring I will be able to do what I love most.

    • Vasilly says:

      I definitely agree, J.C. I think it’ll be for the best to schedule my reading especially since I don’t get many weeks off from school. What do you do when you have one of those crazy weeks unexpectedly?

  5. Ash says:

    I honestly feel like a lot of the knowledge I have gained in my college career has been outside the classroom. Blogging, readings, jobs, and the literary magazine I’m part of have shaped me a lot more than my classes, so sometimes when I have to take away from those things to spend more time on school I definitely feel resentful. I couldn’t imagine taking two classes in one month- I don’t think I could do it. Enjoy reading today and have some good relaxing.

  6. I’m glad those school days are behind me but I can’t help but feel I accomplished MORE when I knew I had to get things done. I find the summer getting away from me and resent having too much time on my hands! I definitely need a schedule. This past week I’ve started 10 books that I’ve put aside – that’s at least 2 books I could have finished…

  7. heidenkind says:

    Oooh, I’ve been gone for awhile-I didn’t realize you had changed your layout! Very nice.🙂

    I feel resentment against my job all the time for making me be there when I’d rather be doing other things. Reading. Sleeping in. Going to the zoo. Trust me, if you think school is bad when it comes to keeping you from reading….

    I love those summer classes that cram 14 weeks worth of information into 30 days! Taking two at a time is a lot, though. I did that one summer and I don’t know how I survived.😛

  8. heidenkind says:

    Oh, I almost forgot to mention–the best piece of studying advice I ever got was from my Modern US History prof. He told us, “Don’t read every single thing you’re assigned. It’s impossible and you can’t do it, especially if you go on to grad school. You have to learn to skim through material quickly and identify the important bits of information.”

    • Bree says:

      I had a literature professor tell us the same thing which amazed me since it was a lit class and we discussed stories to their death.

  9. Gavin says:

    I feel torn between those things that should be done, like cleaning the house, and things I want to do like reading. Have fun with DNBRD, it’s the first I’ve heard of it!

  10. Jenny says:

    I have a hard time scheduling time to read, apart from the reading I always do before going to bed at night. I always resent things like showers and housework, which need doing regularly but are very dull. When I get really resentful is when I’ve planned a nice, lazy, relaxing evening of reading and eating ice cream, and then a friend rings up and wants to hang out. I love my friends, and I love hanging out with them, but I’m always sad that my plans have to be spoiled. I almost always feel too guilty to say, “Yeah, that sounds fun, but it would severely cut into my scheduled doing-nothing, so…rain check?” :p

  11. kiss a cloud says:

    Oh fun, haven’t heard of DNBRD before! Although I could’ve been participating as I put off work just to finish Steve Martin’s Shopgirl today, lol. Well, yes, I do resent my work sometimes as I’d always rather be reading than doing it. Especially now that my workload has gone up. I also resent doing housework but then I hate clutter so if I didn’t do housework I wouldn’t be able to focus on my reading either. I schedule my reads at night, when everyone’s asleep. Usually 2 to 3 hours till my eyes shut down, but when I’m really engaged it could lead up to the wee hours of the morning, which then leaves me with a little headache when I get up the same time to get the kids ready for school. When this happens, while they’re in school and the baby is napping, I nap with him.
    Enjoy your DNBRD!

  12. I would have loved to have done nothing today but read. I have a feeling it would only work on a weekday since my stepdaughter and husband would be out of the house!

  13. Frances says:

    Well, I am not sure if I feel resentful, but I always would rather do something I WANT to do versus something I HAVE to do. Given a choice between folding five loads of laundry or reading a great book (or any book), I would of course choose the reading. But then again, I always enjoy my reading more if not distracted by the have-tos staring me down. How is that for a downer answer?🙂 Enjoy your reading spree! You deserve it!

  14. Memory says:

    I think it’s awesome that you’ve started making a schedule! I do the same, and I always slot in time for reading, blogging, and other things I enjoy doing. Usually, I’ll make several separate entries for each activity, so that I’ve broken it down into smaller chunks that I can do in and around everything else. For example, I might place “read 50 pages” on the schedule four separate times, so I know I’ll have gotten through 200 pages by the end of the day.

  15. Carrie K. says:

    I definitely resent the things I don’t like that keep me from reading – like housework – but audiobooks have helped a lot with that dilemma.🙂

  16. Andi says:

    The schedule is definitely a good idea. I’ve discovered the art of just reading for pleasure whenever the heck I can. I take advantage of quiet hours at work the most, and I carve out 20-30 minutes before bed.

  17. zibilee says:

    I totally feel resentment when I have to do all the household chores instead of reading. I would love to not have to do laundry, cooking and cleaning, but since my husband considers those things my main job, I am afraid I am stuck with them!! I hope that your new schedule gives you plenty of time to read this semester!!

  18. JoAnn says:

    I didn’t know about DNBR day ahead of time, so I may just have to declare one of my own next weekend! I can relate to your feeling of resentment, too. Carving out the time to read – scheduling it, like you did – is very important. Summer classes can be so intense with trying to fit all that information in over a shorter period of time! Good luck.

  19. Shonda says:

    Like you, I feel life gets in the way of what I want to do vs. what I have to do. Work is definitely the main cause of this. I found myself not reading at all when work gets hectic. I found myself resenting the “all or nothing” thinking, so I started scheduling reading time in my day. I admit it felt odd to do, but I make appts with everyone else, so why not make them with myself? It has helped me read a little each day.

  20. Stephanie says:

    I often feel resentment for the things I HAVE to do, rather than read- but if I don’t do them, we all starve and wallow in our own filth, so I just grumble as I perform those tasks. Or like tonight, I hold the book in one hand and brown the ground turkey with the other.😀

  21. Bree says:

    I found when I did a schedule while in school, I got more accomplished. Need to go back to doing that instead of just winging it.

    Any other tidbits from that class? It sounds like it was very interesting and helpful.

  22. sagustocox says:

    I’m so glad that you are finding a balance between school and the things you love. It really is important to have time for your own pleasure and activities. You don’t want to burn out.

  23. Aths says:

    I totally get what you mean about school! I keep having that feeling of anxiety and sometimes resentment that get in the way of me enjoying a book. I will be so glad when this is over, but I’m sure to be missing it as well.

  24. Kathleen says:

    I ALWAYS feel resentment about the time I have to spend doing other things instead of reading…ha! I make time to read whenever I can and many times, in fact most of the time, that is never very much time. But I have a week long camping trip coming up and I will have lots and lots and lots of time to read.

  25. Beth F says:

    Coming in way late here: yes sometimes I do. But I like to remind myself that most of the “have to dos” are really things I choose to do.

  26. bookgazing says:

    Oh what a fantastic idea. I’m terrible about guilt and reading as I don’t feel any guilt about reading instead of doing what I should (now that I’m out of uni that is, whole different story then as it is for you now). Tidying – pah, I have no nesting instinct at all:) So I very rarely find myself feelign resentment, unless it’s about work. Work steals so much of my time away from me and makes me waste it when I don’t have much to do.

    Good luck with your course, that sounds so intensive to cram five months of stuff into one! It WILL all be worth it, but bet it sucks right now. Allow yourself lots of time in that schedule for yourself so you don’t come to resent learning in school, it’s very valuable.

  27. I’m with Beth…I mean, yes, I’d rather read than work, but reading doesn’t pay the bills.😦

    I’m so clueless in that I didn’t realize you were working toward becoming a children’s librarian. You’re going to make a great one, I already can tell, and I (yes, I!😉 work at a small town library so I know (okay, I have a feeling🙂

Comments are closed.