Sunday Salon: Is it Summer Yet?

Right now it’s freezing here in SoCal!  The sun is shining but the wind is blowing. It’s the perfect day to curl up with a good book and a hot cup of coffee, which is what I’m going to do after I write this post.

The semester ended a few days ago and everything has been turned in. I’m so relieved that I can finally relax. I wasn’t able to read much last week with so many presentations and projects due. Now I have a month off until the start of the next semester and I’m taking advantage of it.

I’ve been anticipating the start of summer for the past two weeks, checking out as many books as possible from the library. It’s doubtful that I’ll finish every book that I borrowed plus my old library loot, but it’s going to be fun trying.

Though my sidebar says I’m currently reading Heaven by Lisa Miller, Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White (for a read-along with my son), and A Wish After Midnight by Zetta Elliot, I’m also reading Talent is Overrated by Geoff Colvin, Logicomix by Apostolos Doxiadis and Christos H. Papadimitriou, and The Passage by Justin Cronin. Every book is such a joy to read.

So now I’m off to read. What are you reading today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sunday Salon: Is it Summer Yet?

  1. Ash says:

    It looks like you’re reading some good books, I haven’t read Charlotte’s Web in forever. I’m reading five books right now but I’m really enjoying This Book is Overdue! by Marilyn Johnson. I hope you get some reading in over the next month! I was dealing with the same stuff over the past few weeks and I’m so excited to get down for some stress free reading.

  2. bermudaonion says:

    I hope you enjoy your break! I don’t know how you read so many books at once!

  3. Debnance says:

    I found Logicomix at the librarian conference…very unusual,

  4. Just based on the cover, that Logocomix looks pretty interesting. I’ll be having to check out what it’s about later…

    …today, I finished A Slight Trick of the Mind by Mitch Cullin. While it was good, it wasn’t great and didn’t move me like some other books in the past have. But it was diverting to be with Sherlock Holmes at the age of 93 as he visited Japan and lived in Sussex.

    Next up: Good Behavior by Donald E. Westlake, part of his John Dortmunder series. Dortmunder is a burglar/bungler.🙂

  5. zibilee says:

    Oh, The Passage is a book I am very excited about! I hope that you are enjoying it, and all your reads, and I will be checking back to see what you think of them!!

  6. Andi says:

    First off, I love your new bloggy look! If it’s been a while since you adopted it, pardon me. I’ve been so out of the bloggy loop on maternity leave, it’s ridiculous! Plus, my laptop died and I don’t enjoy surfing quite as much on Chuck’s Mac. Blarrg!

    All that aside, I’m going to have to investigate Logicomix. The title’s got me!

    • Vasilly says:

      Thanks, Andi! I just changed the theme last week.I definitely understand being out of the bloggy loop for kids! Too bad about your laptop. I hope you enjoy Logicomix.

  7. Memory says:

    It’s just getting into winter here in the southern hemisphere, so it feels like every day is a good day to just curl up and read! I just finished IN THE GARDEN OF IDEN by Kage Baker, and have now started rereading THE VAMPIRE LESTAT by Anne Rice and first-time reading MANHOOD FOR AMATEURS by Michael Chabon. I’m approaching the later in chunks; it’s an essay collection, so I plan to read a few each day until it’s finished.

  8. Kathleen says:

    I didn’t realize you were in SoCal! I am in Northern California (SF Bay Area) and we have been freezing up here too. They say we will have sunshine (finally) for the holiday weekend. Here’s hoping for both of our sakes that it’s true!

  9. Kailana says:

    All three of those books look really good!

Comments are closed.