Sunday Salon: Happy Mother’s Day

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms. Hugs to everyone out there who can’t celebrate today with theirs.

Right now it’s very early in the morning. My daughter and I are the only ones up. I’m sitting at my desk typing this while she listens to the radio and write. My plans for today includes reading, doing homework, cooking, and visiting my grandparents.

Since my last Sunday Salon post I’ve read nine books:

  • The Book that Eats People by John Perry
  • The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz
  • Imogene’s Last Stand by Candace Fleming
  • When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
  • Magickeepers: The Eternal Hourglass by Erica Kirov
  • Magickeepers: The Pyramid of Souls by Erica Kirov
  • Redwoods by Jason Chin
  • Mattoo, let’s play by Irene Luxbacher
  • Gossie Plays Hide and Seek by Olivier Dunrea

I loved almost everything I read this week but When You Reach Me and The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao are my absolute favorites. Both books are definitely going on my “best of 2010” list. When You Reach Me is a MG (middle grade) book that is almost indescribable. The main character, Miranda, keeps receiving these little notes that tells her what’s going to happen in the future. She has no idea who wrote the notes or why. Miranda’s favorite book is Madeline L’Engle’s A Wrinkle in Time. You see the book being talked about over and over in the story. Now I need to re-read both When You Reach Me and A Wrinkle in Time.

If I were to rate The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, it would be a 5 out of 5 rating. Oscar Wao is everything you want in a book: it tells you something you don’t already know, surprises you, makes you laugh, cry, and think. . . This is a book that is so well-written, I didn’t want to read anything else while I read it. I preferred to stay in the life of Oscar and his crazy family who went back and forth between the Dominican Republic and New Jersey. This book is the reason why I didn’t post anything last week.

After having such an incredible week of reading, I’m hoping this week is just as great. Currently I’m reading Newspaper Blackout by Austin Kleon. I’m hoping to finish it today, making me weekly total ten books read.

So that’s my week. How’s your week been? Read any good books?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Sunday Salon: Happy Mother’s Day

  1. Amanda says:

    I’ve wanted to read When You Reach Me ever since my friend Karen reviewed it back in September. In fact, she started a book blog BECAUSE of that book.

  2. Sounds like a very productive week. Hope you enjoy the next one.

    Here’s mine:

    http://laurel-rainsnowsaccidentallife.blogspot.com/2010/05/sunday-salon-happy-mothers-day.html

  3. Frances says:

    Happy Mother’s Day to you too! That is an impressive list for a week. Completely agree with you about When You Reach Me. It resonates well with children too. Have trouble keeping track of the wait list at the school library. And I am also doubly motivated to pick up The Brief Wondrous… after your glowing reaction. Happy reading!

    • Vasilly says:

      Happy Mother’s Day to you too, Frances! When You Reach Me was such an unexpected read. I’m hoping to get my sisters and daughter to read it too. Yay about Oscar Wao. I hope you enjoy it.

  4. Gavin says:

    Happy Mother’s Day! I’m glad you enjoyed all your books, particularly your favorites. I want to read both again. I am tempted to try Oscar as an audio book and, like you, want to read A Wrinkle In Time and When You Reach Me again, maybe concurrently. I picked up Anna in the Tropics from the library and can not wait to finish what I am reading so I can jump into it!

    Have a great day and a wonderful week.

    • Vasilly says:

      Happy Mother’s Day to you too, Gavin! If you try Oscar Wao as an audio book, go with the UK version, The US audio version is so dull. I’m so glad that you’re reading plays too! Anna in the Tropics is on my reading list for this week. Have a wonderful week!

  5. Aarti says:

    I’ve never read Oscar Wao before, but it sounds so great! You did really well this week with your reading. I spent much of the week trying to finish up a fantasy series which ultimately disappointed me, but now I’m reading my book for Spotlight Series and it’s quite good! That always makes me feel better🙂

    • Vasilly says:

      Thanks! I’m glad your book for the Spotlight Series is a good read! There’s nothing worse than a book that disappoints.

  6. I really want to read both Wao and When You Reach Me! How lucky for you to have done so already! And Happy Mother’s Day!!!

  7. Yvonne says:

    Sounds like you had a great reading week. Have a great Mother’s Day!

  8. Chris says:

    Wow!! That really is an incredible week in reading!! Happy Mother’s Day to you😀😀 Hope it’s a wonderful one😀

  9. I loved When You Reach Me when I read it last year. It’s such a special book. I’ve almost finished Oscar Wao, which I started yesterday. I love it too. I was worried I wouldn’t have time to finish it before book club, but once I started reading, I knew it wouldn’t be a problem. Happy Mother’s Day!

  10. Excellent week. Two strong reads…yes, I’d rate that an excellent week for you.

  11. Joanne says:

    I was reading about Newspaper Blackout the other day, I’m not much of a poetry reader but it was fascinating to learn about the magic marker/newsprint technique.

  12. Kay says:

    Happy Mother’s Day to you! I loved WHEN YOU REACH ME when I read it last year. Just a really interesting book and not terribly well know i don’t think, even though it ought to be.

  13. bermudaonion says:

    I hope you had a great Mother’s Day! You definitely had a great week in books!

  14. Carrie K. says:

    I have When You Reach Me lined up to listen to on audio as soon as I finish Whitethorn Woods. Glad to hear it’s so wonderful!

  15. Molly says:

    I have had When you Reach Me on hold at the library for about 2 months now. I think I am now number 14 in line, so hopefully within the next couple of weeks I will have a chance to read it.

    Looks like you had a great reading month!

  16. zibilee says:

    Happy Mother’s Day, Natasha! It sounds like you have been reading some great things. I have heard amazing things about Oscar Wao, and I will be eager to see your review! I hope you have a wonderfully bookish week!

  17. kay says:

    I see more and more great reviews of “When you reach me”. I’m thinking I’m going to have to read it! I’m glad to hear you loved it so much!

  18. iliana says:

    I hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day! I really want to read Oscar Wao… That just seems like a kind of book I’d love. Hadn’t heard of the Stead book but that sounds like another one for my list. Hope you read some great books this week!

  19. Shelley says:

    Any character whose favorite book is Wrinkle in Time is okay by me….

  20. Memory says:

    Happy belated Mother’s Day! You had such a productive reading week.

  21. Kathleen says:

    Hope you ended up enjoying your day. It sounded like you had some nice things planned.

  22. Care says:

    Oscar Wao was a RIDE, wasnt’ it? I think back on it fondly, even if it did have some tragedy. some?!

  23. Ronnica says:

    LOVED When You Reach Me. Felt much deeper than it’s MG exterior.

Comments are closed.