Sunday Salon: May Reading Plans

I usually don’t write down my reading goals. I’ve found that once I write them down, chances are slim that I’ll accomplish them. Maybe if I keep my goals in a million places all over the house this time, I can remember what I want to do.

I want to read at least 25 books for May. Last month I read 20 books but I wasn’t happy with that number. I think it’s because I’m starting to feel like I’m spending too much time online instead of reading. It doesn’t help that my classes are all online. So this month I’m going to try to management my time better in hopes that I’ll get more accomplish.

Last month I read:

  1. The Tale of Hilda Louise by Olivier Dunrea
  2. Iggie’s House by Judy Blume
  3. Pieces of Me by Charlotte Gingras
  4. Wench by Dolen Perkins-Valdez
  5. The Boy who Ate Stars by Kochka
  6. This is Water by David Foster Wallace
  7. Gemma – Meg Tilly
  8. First Part Last – Angela Johnson
  9. Black is for Beginnings – Laurie Farie Stolarz
  10. The Good Neighbors Vol. 1: Kin by Holly Black
  11. The Good Neighbors Vol. 2: Kith by Holly Black
  12. Morning Haiku by Sonia Sanchez
  13. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie
  14. Pinocchio by Lane Smith
  15. All the World by Liz Garton
  16. Pigs Make Me Sneeze by Mo Willems
  17. Bear Flies High by Michael Rosen
  18. I Am Going by Mo Willems
  19. Life Sucks by Jessica Abel
  20. Fences by August Wilson
  21. Just Julie by Nadia Xerri-L
  22. Bayou by Jeremy Love

At first I thought I could easily name just one book that I loved the most in April, but now I realize I can’t. It’s a three-way tie between Bayou by Jeremy Love, Fences by August Wilson, and Absolutely True Diary by Sherman Alexie.

Right now I’m reading Junot Diaz’s The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao. It’s so different from anything else I’ve read with its footnotes about Dominican history and references to Lord of the Rings, Teen Titans, Star Wars, and so much more. There’s ton of Spanish in the book, so I’ve been using an online Spanish-English dictionary to understand. It’s a slow but fascinating read. I’m thinking about finding more books about the Dominican Republic to read after this.  I’m happy that the book won the Pulitzer for Fiction in 2008.

So I’m off to read. Do you have any reading goals for May? What are you currently reading?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Sunday Salon: May Reading Plans

  1. Ash says:

    I love Fences as well. Right now I’m reading Sunflowers, although I think after reading 11 books in April I’m kind of hitting a drop off point. I haven’t been reading very much lately because finals are the next two weeks for me and I’m having difficulty getting anything done. *Sigh* I know what you mean about writing goals down though. I kind of want to try and read 100 books this year but I’m trying to not take it too seriously because if I do it will never happen. At this point in my life I’m happy to accomplish any reading at all!

    • Vasilly says:

      Sunflowers has been on my TBR list for so long! I can’t wait to read your review of it. Good luck on your finals!

  2. I’m glad to hear you’re loving Oscar Wao! It’s my book club’s pick for May, and I’m hoping to start it this week once I finish Attica Locke’s Black Water Rising (the first of my six Orange Prize shortlist reads). I have it on my Kindle, and I’m curious how the footnotes will work on the Kindle. It will be interesting to see. I’m also curious to see if its built in dictionary includes the Spanish used in the book. I’m looking forward to it!

    • Vasilly says:

      That’s a lot to think about when it’s time for you to read Oscar Wao. I hope you tell us how it is to read the book on a Kindle.

  3. Amanda says:

    My reading plans involve simply trying to get as many books read from my shelf as possible, in anticipation of BEA. I read 28 books in April which is a record for me (the most I’ve ever read before was 21).

    What did you think of The Good Neighbors? I read the first one last summer and liked it okay, but haven’t read the second yet.

    • Vasilly says:

      I like The Good Neighbors. I didn’t know what to think of it at first but it’s an entertaining read. I’m hoping to read Volume 3 when it’s published later on this year.

  4. I find writing down my reading goals can lead to the same results you mention–my interests suddenly running in other directions and my completing them becoming a slim chance. Sometimes though, I can’t help myself. 🙂 I hope you are able to reach your goal this month!

    Have a great week!

  5. Christina says:

    I read Oscar Wao for my literature class this semester and actually just finished my final paper over it this morning. I agree; it’s nothing like anything I’ve read before. I still haven’t made up my mind as to whether or not I actually liked it. It’s just so different.

    As for the Spanish, I found the “Annotated Oscar Wao” to be the most helpful rather than a dictionary as a lot of the words/phrases are slang. You can check it out here: http://www.annotated-oscar-wao.com/

    Right now, I’m really concentrated on finals and term papers, but once I’m on the airplane headed home a week from Tuesday I have two books I can’t wait to get into — Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay and Secret Son by Laila Lalami.

    • Vasilly says:

      Thanks for the link! I’ll definitely give it a try. I’m starting to think Oscar Wao is a book that I need to reread in the future. Good luck on your finals!

  6. Nymeth says:

    I can’t wait to hear your final thoughts on Oscar Wao. I really, really loved it.

  7. Gavin says:

    I loved Oscar Wao. In fact I think I have to read it again. Like Nymeth, I cannot wait to hear you thoughts on it.

  8. I’m hoping to read more French books in May, in preparation for my trip to France at the end of June.

    And a few children’s books by French authors…

    And to learn to speak French, though that’s not really a reading goal exactly….

  9. Frances says:

    Now that is an impressive goal! I have decided on no goals for the month except for a couple of shared reads. And really small books too. Lots of fun. Lots of whimsy. May will be my catch my breath month. Happy reading!

  10. Brittanie says:

    I read 31 books in March but only 14 in April. April was not a good month for many reasons although I liked almost all the books I read. I had work issues. I hope to read many more in May. I have a lot of book tours too. I have been distracted by the Internet and too much TV. I am ready for the shows to have their season finales. I watch House, Grey’s Anatomy, NCIS, Mercy, 19 Kids, Little People, In Plain Sight, Medium, and ICarly. Way too much I know.🙂

  11. Michelle says:

    You had a great month! I hope May treats you as well.🙂

  12. iliana says:

    Same here, as soon as I mention my reading plans I go off and do something totally different! haha… I hope you get to your goal this month!

  13. Bellezza says:

    Isn’t Oscar Wao’s life a fascinating book? It made me sad, but what worthy books don’t touch your heart? It seemed to me indicative of many ‘immigrant’ experiences, not just Hispanic ones like his. It makes me all the more certain to look for the lonely ones in case I can comfort them.

    • Vasilly says:

      Oscar Wao made me sad also but it made me laugh and think. There’s so much I want to take about when I review this book.

  14. Amanda R. says:

    I just used my Sunday Salon to write about my reading plans for May. I might be moving at the end of the month so I know it is ridiculous to plan to read a great number of books, but I did it anyway. I’ve got like 12 or 13 I want to read this month, but I know I’ll probably only finish 5 – 7.

  15. Jenny says:

    I’ll be interested to see what you think of Oscar Wao, in the end. It’s one I’ve been meaning to read for ages (seems like I feel that way about half the books in the world :P). I’ve signed up for two bloggy reading projects for May, which isn’t that many of course but I’m wondering if I should have held back.

  16. Doret says:

    I do plan on reading more adult novels this month. I am actually enjoying reviewing more at Color Online, since I am seeking out more adult fiction.

    Though I do want to read a few books just for me. I have been wanting to get to the Paul Mooney and Satchel Paige bios for awhile. Sometimes its nice to read a book and not having to worry about reviewing it.

  17. Molly says:

    WOW — 25 books in one month! That is an awesome goal, but not one that I would dare try myself🙂 I look forward to hearing your progress and reading all the reviews.

  18. Joanne says:

    I love books with footnotes (it’s the geek in me) and Oscar Wao is on my tbr pile so maybe I’ll read it this month!
    Writing down my reading goals never works for me, I’m such a moody reader and my mind zips from desiring one genre to another so quickly🙂

  19. Pam says:

    Some great books read! I need to read Wench.

  20. Beth F says:

    I am so utterly impressed with the number of books you read! Maybe ROOB inspired you.

  21. nanscorner says:

    My reading has been so bad the last few months. I hope to get back on track for May. Good job reading so many books!

  22. bookmagic says:

    20 seems like a lot to me! I never get past 15 in a month but I didn’t come close to that last month. I was in a reading slump for awhile so I’m just happy to be out. Being back at work has made me so tired I realized I might not do well this month either but I’m going to try!

  23. Edi says:

    Online time is killing me as well. I tell that story to myself that I’m only going to check my email, then hours later I have to get off to go do something else. I have mandated reading for June, so I’ll have to cut the online time. 20 is A LOT of books! Summer for me is reading a classic and I already have my two. I want to make more time to read so that I can post reviews AND so that I can make good recommendations to my students. I don’t want to force myself to make time to read and thus quite enjoying it so much. That’s what happened with my quilting and I haven’t gone back to it yet.

  24. kay says:

    Wow, you had a great month in April! I hope you’ll get to read even more in May. I’m sure you can do it! My plan for May is to read about 15 books, but maybe I’ll do more!

  25. All I can say after all this is move the Alexie book to the top. It’s a quick, light read and will kickstart your reading for the month. It’s one of my favorite books and is one of my most popular reviews on my former blog: http://justareadingfool.wordpress.com/2008/07/02/the-absolutely-true-diary-of-a-part-time-indian/ <– Yes, shameless plug. But I still love the book.

  26. heidenkind says:

    My reading plans right now are just to find time to read! And I have an ARC I have to finish before the month is up, plus Lonesome Dove.

Comments are closed.