Library Loot or where am I ever going to find the time to read all of this?

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Eva and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library.

It’s been a few months since my last library loot post. First there was the BLOB game that I was playing with other bloggers than the ROOB game. May is a no-game month and I started placing books on hold two weeks ago to celebrate! I pretty much went overboard with my loot but I don’t care. There’s something about having books physically close to me that always make me feel better.

Last year May was deemed National Short Story Month. This year I haven’t read any posts about it yet but I decided to celebrate the month anyway by reading a few short story collections and anthologies.

The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven by Sherman Alexie. After reading The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, I want to read everything that Alexie has ever written.

The Green Man and Faery Reel anthologies edited by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling. Windling and Datlow have edited dozens of anthologies together over the years. These collections were recommended to me a few times in the past year plus they count for the Once Upon a Time Challenge.

Other short story collections/anthologies not pictured:

Drenched by Marisa Matarrazo
Best American Short Stories 1996 edited by John Edgar Wideman

I’ve started developing a love of Pulitzer-prize winning plays a year ago when I was looking for books to read during a read-a-thon. Since then I’ve read twelve plays and loved all of them with one exception. My long-term goal is to read every play that has ever won the award.

Rabbit Hole by David Lindsay-Abaire. 2007 winner.
Fences by Augsut Wilson. 1987 winner.

Not pictured: Anna in the Tropics by Nilo Cruz. 2003 winner.

Shadow Tag by Louise Erdrich. Since I’m interested in reading more books by Native Americans, I thought I would read Erdrich’s latest novel.
After the Workshop by John McNally
Nutureshock by Po Bronson and Ashley Merryman

The Dream of Perpetual Motion by Dexter Palmer. I checked this out after Chris over at Stuff as Dreams are Made On wrote a great review of this book a few weeks ago.
Cosmic by Frank Cottrell Boyce.
Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin.

All Other Nights by Dara Horn.
The Crow-Girl by Bodil Bredsdorff.
Sweet, Hereafter by Angela Johnson.

Logicomix: An Epic Search for Truth by Apostolos Doxiadis and Christos Papdimitriou. Logicomix is a graphic novel that tells the life of philosopher Bertrand Russell. It was on the short list of The Morning’s News Tournament of Books but lost out to Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel.

I plan on reading Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale for the Margaret May read-along.

Not Pictured:

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz. I’ve started reading this two days ago and love it! I even bought the audio book of this to listen to. Diaz is definitely panty-worthy.

The Night Fairy by Laura Amy Schlitz.

Take me with You by Carolyn Marsden.

So that’s my library loot. Well until I go back to the library on Tuesday. Have you read any of these? Any recommendations?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Library Loot. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Library Loot or where am I ever going to find the time to read all of this?

  1. Molly says:

    WOW — this is an impressive stack of books!

    I have Shadow Tag on a summer reading list as well.

    • Vasilly says:

      I can’t wait to read your thoughts on Shadow Tag, Molly. Have you read Love Medicine by Erdrich? I think I might read it also since it’s the author’s most known work.

  2. Nymeth says:

    The Green Man is so good! And I’m sure The Faery Reel is as well. I hope you do find the time, Vasilly, though I get how hard it can be.

    • Vasilly says:

      Thanks, Nymeth! I’ve started reading a story from The Green Man and love it so far. I’m hoping to read at least one short story a day. We’ll see how it goes.

  3. Becky says:

    You’ve got a great stack of books there! I really enjoyed Cosmic and Where the Mountain Meets the Moon.

  4. So glad you’re enjoying OSCAR WAO. After I saw Diaz at the National Book Festival last year, I definitely thought he was pantyworthy!

  5. bermudaonion says:

    I hope your library gives you long check out periods!

  6. At least half of those are books I want to read too! It is sad, that we can’t get more reading done in a day! :–)

  7. iliana says:

    That is some serious loot! I love The Handmaid’s Tale. It is so wonderful. I hope you’ll enjoy it. I really want to read the Oscar Wao book. I read a short excerpt from that book in a short story anthology and thought it was great.

  8. Bookjourney says:

    Oh my! The more I looked the more I wanted to read! The Green Man and Feary Reel look wonderful!

    • Vasilly says:

      Thanks! I hope you find a book in my stack that you’ll enjoy. Many of the books featured in this post, I found out about because of other bloggers.

  9. Carrie K. says:

    What a gorgeous bunch of books you have assembled! I loved Handmaid’s Tale when I read it in high school – it’s probably time for a re-read. I really want to read the Diaz, too.

  10. a comic about Bertrand Russell? I’m there!

  11. Chris says:

    I’ve had Green Man and Faery Reel on my shelves for ages now…I really wanted to dip into them for OUaT this year, but still haven’t done it😦 I think I’ve owned them both since the FIRST OUaT challenge!! And I’m so thrilled to see The Dream of Perpetual Motion on your list😀 I so hope you enjoy it!! I think you will😉

  12. Sara says:

    Logicomix is absolutely fantastic. The art is clean and crisp and the story compelling and thought provoking.

  13. Gavin says:

    What a great pile of books! By the way, you have me reading plays:) Have a lovely weekend!

  14. Your library pile looks like mine, which is exactly why I don’t post a Library Loot. I never know when books will come in or how long I’ll have them for, and I admit I read probably one in ten (and end up requesting and checking out the same books over and over again!)

  15. zibilee says:

    I see you will be enjoying another Alexie book, so yay! Also, I loved The Handmaid’s Tale and thought it was just an amazing book. I’ve also heard great things about Shadow Tag, so I will be interested in hearing what you think of it. Come to think of it, I will be interested in hearing what you think of all your new arrivals! Happy reading!!

  16. Melissa says:

    I’ve been reading Pulitzer Prize winning plays this year and have really enjoyed it. I read Rabbit Hole last year, before seeing it performed, and loved it. I’m curious which play you were disappointed with.

  17. Sasha says:

    Hope you’ll have a good experience with McNally. When I read it, it easily became one of my favorite books.

    Oh, and Short Story Month 2010 is officially official. :] Hope you join us. :]

  18. rebeccareid says:

    I can totally relate to this post title. I check out too many books every week! I need to read some more plays, and I love the idea of reading Pulitzer plays.

  19. Jodie says:

    Wow you went overboard! So many great things here, how will you ever decide where to start.

  20. heidenkind says:

    I often ask myself that question. In fact, just the other day I told my dad, “You know what’s really sad? I’ll never have the time to read all the books I want to.”😦

Comments are closed.