On Your Mark, Get Set, Read!

Good morning, Read-a-thoners! It’s official! Dewey’s 24 hour read-a-thon has started! Now I’m off to read Angela Johnson’s The First Part Last. In a little while I’ll wake up my daughter and sisters so they can participate too. Happy reading!

Hour 1 Mini-Challenge

  1. Where are you reading from today? Right now I’m reading from my computer desk, but I also plan on reading from my bed, the kitchen table, the couch, and outside in my courtyard.
  2. How many books do you have in your TBR pile today? About 40. It’s a mixture of library books, review copies, and books from my own TBR pile.
  3. 3 facts about me: This is my fourth read-a-thon. I’m a single mother. I’m also a college student and future librarian.
  4. Do you have any goals for the read-a-thon? My goal is to read at least six books.If you’re a veteran read-a-thoner, Any advice for people doing this for the first time? To relax and don’t put so much pressure on yourself. Have fun and meet new friends.

Hour 2 Mini Challenge

My kick off strategy was to get up right before 5 am, write my first post, have my first book waiting by my computer, and have my coffee brewing before the read-a-thon started. Surprisingly everything went as planned. Right now I’m at my computer, surrounded by my coffee cup, reading journal, my first read, and my little sister and daughter who are both participating in the read-a-thon with me. I’m prepared to change reading spaces when I get sick of sitting at my desk. Up next will probably be my cozy bed once my boys wake up.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Readathon. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to On Your Mark, Get Set, Read!

  1. kiirstin says:

    Yaaaaaay Vasilly! I’m not an official cheerleader, but I thought I’d drop by before I have to head in to work and say, OMG 5am?! I am way impressed with your dedication. Have an awesome #readathon!

  2. Wendi says:

    Have a great day of reading!

  3. Kay says:

    My coffee is brewing and I’m off to read. Good luck to you, Vasilly!

  4. Bellezza says:

    Books to the ceiling,
    Books to the sky.
    My pile of books
    Are a mile high.
    How I love them!
    How I need them!
    I’ll have a long beard
    By the time I read them.
    ~ Arnold Lobel ~

    I’m so happy to be reading with you, Vasilly, even if by the end of the day we might be growing beards!😉 XO

  5. Christina says:

    Happy reading, Vasilly!

  6. Felicia says:

    Good Luck! Go Team Woodsworth! —Happy Reading!

  7. bermudaonion says:

    I hope you have a great time today!

  8. Meghan says:

    I wish I had a place to read outside! It’s a surprisingly lovely day here. Have fun!

  9. Ari says:

    Good luck, you have some great things set aside🙂
    Ari *cheerleader*

  10. Book Psmith says:

    Our reading surroundings sound about the same:) Happy reading!

  11. Memory says:

    This’s my fourth time, too. Good luck!

  12. softdrink says:

    Traditional read-a-thon blessing:

    May the bookshelf be there to greet you.
    May all the books appeal.
    May the fridge be full of tasty snacks;
    the words fall soft upon your eyes and until the read-a-thon ends,
    may you always hold a book in the palm of your hand.

    Good luck today!

  13. Nise' says:

    How nice to have reading companions! May you all have a great day of reading.

  14. Michelle says:

    I started out in bed (after taking a quick shower), foregoing coffee until I got hungry. I have now gravitated to one of my recliners downstairs, coffee in tow. I imagine I will be all over the house by the time I decided to finish. Having reading companions is awesome. Have fun today!

  15. velvet says:

    hope the reading goes well and the weather is nice for outdoor seating.

  16. Frances says:

    That is one very impressive and ambitious to-be-read pile! Enjoy your reading company and have a great time. Happy reading!

  17. Kathleen says:

    Have a wonderful day of reading. It sounds like you have everything ready to go. I’ll be cheering for you “officially” tonight but really all day long!

  18. nanscorner says:

    Hope you are enjoying your books! Happy reading!

  19. How are your sister and daughter holding up? My goal is to convince some students to do this with me and hold it at the school. This is only my second real participation so I think I’ll be reading to roll it out in October!

Comments are closed.