Reading Journal: March in Review

First off I want to thank everyone who left a comment on my last post, “What inspires you to keep blogging?” I plan on going back to this post over and over again to remember all the great advice left in the comments. I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m going to keep blogging but quit thinking about imaginary critics. I’m putting excessive pressure on myself.

This month I read:

  1. Tan to Tamarind: Poems about the Color Brown by Malathi Michelle Iyengar
  2. A Really Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson
  3. 13 Ways to Look at a Novel by Jane Smiley
  4. Chrysanthemum by Kevin Henkes
  5. Running Shoes by Frederick Lipp
  6. The Lion and the Mouse by Jerry Pinkey
  7. Independent Dames by Laurie Halse Anderson
  8. Mrs. Malarkey Leaves No Reader Behind by Judy Finchler
  9. The Girl who Hated Books – Manjusha Pawagi
  10. I am Going: An Elephant and Piggie Book by Mo Willems
  11. Nate the Great and the Hungry Book Club by Marjorie Sharmat Weinman
  12. Princess Hyacinth: The Surprising Tale of a Girl who Floated by Florence Parry Hyde
  13. The Book Whisperer by Donalyn Miller
  14. Read, Remember, Recommend by
  15. My People by Langston Hughes. Illustrations by Charles R. Smith Jr.
  16. The Three Little Pigs by Paul Gladone
  17. This is Water: Some Thoughts, Delivered on a Significant Occasion, about Living a Compassionate Life by David Foster Wallace
  18. The Cuckoo’s Haiku and Other Birding Poems by Michael J. Rosen.
  19. The Eternal Smile by Gene Luen Yang
  20. Girls Think of Everything by Catherine Thimmesh
  21. Sky High: The True Story of Maggie Gee by Marissa Moss
  22. Jellaby: Monster in the City by Kean Soo

Short works read:

  1. The Next Invasion by Philip Reed.
  2. Marrying Libraries by Anne Fadiman from the essay collection, Ex Libris.

Favorite March reads: Tan to Tamarind and This is Water

I’m pretty satisfied with my reading though I mostly read children’s books. One of my goals this year is to read more adult books so I’m hoping April is the month where I actually start on this, especially with the ROOB (Read Your Own Books) game, Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon, the Angela Carter celebration, and spring break all taking place. Plus April is National Poetry Month. I don’t think there’s a better month than April!

How was your reading in March? Do you have any reading plans for April?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in reading, Reading Journal. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Reading Journal: March in Review

  1. Pussreboots says:

    Jellaby Monster in the City… I’ll be reading that for ROOB. It’s a library book but I got it before March 15.

  2. Carrie K. says:

    Those imaginary critics can be so…well, critical – can’t they? I’m glad you’re going to ignore them.🙂 And you had a fantastic March!

  3. heidenkind says:

    I plant to read a lot of not-classics. haha

  4. Lu says:

    I’m *so* happy to hear that!!! I was going to miss you too much!

  5. vivienne says:

    Wow you read a lot of books. Even though they were children’s books,you still read loads. I am glad to hear you are sticking around.

  6. Ronnica says:

    I had a great month in March, reading 23 books. Looking forward to April and the Read-a-thon!

  7. kay says:

    Wow, you had a great month! I wish you another great one for April. I wish I could join the read-a-thon too!

  8. kiirstin says:

    My reading month was kind of pathetic, but that’s all right. It will pick up again soon, I think. Slowly but surely! This month I hope to clear out the backlogged library books and start in on the backlogged books of my own. I don’t do challenges, but maybe I really should check into ROOB…

    I’m glad you’ve decided to stay.🙂

Comments are closed.