Spring Challenges

There’s something about the beginning of spring that makes me so happy. I’m more of a fall-winter person but even I can admit that the first day of spring brings the feeling of new possibilities more than fall or winter. You know it’s spring in the blogisphere when two very popular reading challenges begin:  Spring Reading Thing and Once Upon a Time.

March 20 – June 20, 2010

For this challenge I want to read as many books as I can off of my TBR shelves but with so many obligations, if I can read as many as six TBR books I’m happy. Here’s the pool of books I’m picking my reads from:

A Wish After Midnight by Zetta Elliot, One Amazing Thing by Chitra Divakaruni, The Housekeeper and the Professor by Yoko Ogawa

An Altar in the World by Barbara Brown Taylor, Beloved by Toni Morrison, Two Old Women by Velma Wallis

The Journal Keeper by Phyllis Theroux and The Purloined Boy by Mortimus Clay

not pictured: ZZ Packer’s Drinking Coffee Elsewhere and David Truer’s Little

March 21 – June 20, 2010

For the Once Upon a Time challenge with the exception of A Wish After Midnight and The Purloined Boy, I’ve almost picked a totally different pool of books to read from. This pool is built up of books on my TBR shelves and library holds. I’m doing Quest the Third which is reading at least five books from a mixture of four genres: fantasy, folklore, fairy tale, and mythology plus a reading of William Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream,  Short Story Weekends, and Quest the Fourth which is reading two non-fiction books that cover the above genres. It’s a lot but I’m up for the challenge.

Anthologies edited by Terri Windling and Ellen Datlow

The Green Man: Tales from the Mythic Forest, The Faery Reel: Tales from the Twilight Realm, and The Beastly Bride: Tales of Animal People

Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Bleeding Violet by Dia Reeves and A Fistful of Sky by Nina Kiriki Hoffman

(Not pictured)

Touch Magic by Jane Yolen

Maps and Legends by Michael Chabon

Fathom by Cherie Priest

Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Goblin Market by Christina Rossetti

The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter

The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley

Have you read anything in my piles? Are you joining these challenges also?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in reading challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Spring Challenges

  1. Brittanie says:

    I have joined both these challenges too. This is my first time for the Once Upon a Time challenge so I chose to only do the first book journey. I have particpated in the Spring Reading Thing since almost the beginning so my list is rather long. I loved the Housekeeper and the Professor and hope to reread it at some point this year. Happy Spring Reading!🙂

  2. Nymeth says:

    I loved The Green Man! And I’m sure the other anthologies are great too, because they always are. As you know, I loved Tender Morsels😛 Actually, I loved every one of the books you listed for OUaT except Fathom, which I haven’t read. Happy Reading, Vasilly!

  3. Moo says:

    I read and loved the Housekeeper and the Professor and have recommended to numerous people who have also loved it. I loved Beloved but I know others that have not liked it and complained that it was difficult. I would love to hear your take on it. I look forward to your reviews for the OUAT IV challenge. Tender Morsels is certainly popular this year and I have heard wonderful things about the Bloody Chamber.

  4. bermudaonion says:

    Have fun with the challenges!

  5. Christina says:

    Enjoy your challenges, Vasilly! I did the Spring Reading Thing last year and really enjoyed reading off my bookshelf. Unfortunately I don’t have the time (nor the bookshelves since they’re at home) to do the challenge this year.

  6. Beth F says:

    Amazing reading lists. Wow! I have successfully avoided joining these challenges this year. I need to get a grip. Truly. But once I get a couple more challenges finished up, I’ll be joining up again!

    Good luck — I can’t wait to read your reviews.

  7. Gavin says:

    I’m glad your joining Once Upon a Time! You have a very interesting list of possible reads. A curious note, I picked up A Fistful of Sky from the library on Friday. Have a great week.

  8. deslily says:

    it certainly looks llike you have wonderful books for your challenges! I’ve entered Carl’s myself… I look forward to all reviews!

  9. vivienne says:

    Hey, I see my old faithful,The Mists of Avalon on your list, which I am still working my way through steadily. I will get there in the end. Good luck with your challenges.

  10. Carl V. says:

    I was just thinking about that same Green Man book today while I was reading Charles Vess’ art book. I may end up picking up a copy for the challenge this year.

    The Bloody Chamber and The Graveyard Book are both fantastic books, highly recommended.

    Thanks for joining in again this year. Spring has finally sprung! Though you wouldn’t guess it by the 7 inches of snow we got on the first day of Spring, following a very warm and sunny last day of winter.

  11. Sounds like a fun list! Have fun reading this Spring!

  12. I’ve read and loved A Wish After Midnight! So jealous that you are reading Bleedinv Violet (and I’m happy for you too). I’m so reading it over Spring Break (I have yet bo buy it but I’m determined). I have Beautiful Creatures but I haven’t gotten to it yet (and it probably won’t be reviewed either on the blog but I do want to read it). The Graveyard Book has been recommended to me a few times so I look forward to your review🙂

  13. Andi says:

    Sooo many great books to choose from! I’m trying to decide if I’m going to throw my hat into the fray for Once Upon a Time. I was going to abstain from any new challenges because of the impending baby, but that one lasts a while, so I might be up for it after all.🙂

  14. Susanne says:

    Lots to choose from. I should probably do a challenge where I just read the books I have waiting in my book basket, too. Happy reading!

  15. claire says:

    A Wish after Midnight and The Housekeeper and the Professor and The Graveyard Book were good reads, but Beloved was above and beyond aMAZing. One of my fave books ever. Enjoy your reads! I’m also joining Once Upon a Time and will also be reading Tender Morsels.🙂

  16. Hey Vasilly,

    Don’t give up blogging – you have such a beautiful site!

    I too have been thinking of challenges….so I created the granddaddy of them all pages dedicated to reading challenges. I have spent so much time researching these – and I joined too many!

    Here’s the page:
    Reading Challenges.

    Have fun with your challenges!
    Rachelle

    • Vasilly says:

      Oh Rachelle! Thank you so much! Reading challenges are the best! You make new friends, find new sites to subscribe to, and fall in love with new authors. How many challenges have you joined this year?

      I just devoured your book this weekend and I love it! I plan on reviewing it soon. You have added a ton of books to my TBR list. Thanks!😉

  17. Jodie says:

    Thanks for reminding me I could use Wish and Bleeding Violet for Once Upon a Time – duh I own them, I should use them…

  18. Memory says:

    I’m looking forward to hearing what you think of A WISH AFTER MIDNIGHT! It’s been on my wishlist ever since Eva reviewed it.

  19. I remember enjoying “Goblin Market” when I read it at uni; I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts and the refresher they’ll provide.

    The Bloody Chamber and The Graveyard Book are also brilliant. If you can, read Gaiman’s “Snow, Glass, Apples” (Nymeth, Eva and myself all have links on our blogs to the story online) after you read Carter’s “Snow Child” as I found interesting similarities.

    I’ll be reading Tender Morsels too for the challenge; I’ve been meaning to for the last year so this is the push that I need.

Comments are closed.