Sunday Salon: The Week in Review

I swear this past week has been the fastest week of the year so far. One day it was Monday and the next thing I knew it was Friday. It doesn’t feel like I accomplished much school-wise with two tests and a few homework assignments due. Luckily I’m slowly but surely getting things done.

As for reading, I’ve spent the week engrossed in Kathryn Sockett’s The Help on audio. I’m not much of a audio book listener and I can’t remember what made me download this book from my library, but I’m so happy I did. Every day I’ve spent hours ignoring the world around me as I listen to the book main character’s Aibileen, Minny, and “Skeeter” tell readers what it’s like to be African American or white in 1960s Mississippi. I listened to the book after walking my youngest to school, on my way to pick him up, and instead of doing homework. I even crawled into bed hours before bedtime to listen to the book in peace. I know it’s one of my top ten reads of this year so far.

In my last library loot post (which is really the last post before this one,) I mentioned The Tournament of Books hosted by The Morning News. I’ve also spent the week following the tournament, cheering on The Help, Let the Great World Spin, and The Lacuna against their opponents. I think one of the best things about the tournament is the commentary by the judges, the officials, and random people in the comments and on Twitter #tob. This week I’m rooting for Wells Tower’s short story collection, Everything Ravaged, Everything Burned, The Book of Night Women by Marlon James, Victor LaValle’s Big Machine.

Now I’m off to continue reading The Book Whisperer by Donalyn Miller. It’s about teachers finding more ways to get every student in their classrooms reading. I’m not a teacher but I love reading books about education. What are you reading this Sunday?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Sunday Salon: The Week in Review

  1. vivienne says:

    The Book Whisper sounds good, I could do with that to help me get the girls reading.

  2. Christina says:

    The Help seems to be the flavor of the month (or past few months). I finished three books over my vacation and I read a few more pages of another book on the train from the airport to school, but I doubt I’ll be able to finish it. It’s just not really working for me.

  3. bermudaonion says:

    It sounds like you accomplished a lot to me. I hope you have a great week!

  4. bookmagicdeb says:

    The Help was so good. I just started The Lacuna. I didn’t know there was a tournament of books, sounds fun!

    • Vasilly says:

      The Tournament is really fun! I can’t wait to read your thoughts on The Lacuna. I’ve read positive and negative reviews about it.

  5. Mostly focusing on Sherlock Holmes here later this afternoon…

    I haven’t heard of The Book Whisperer, but it sounds interesting to say the least.

  6. Hmm: I am definitely adding “The Help” to my TBR list now. The Tournament of Books sounds fascinating. I have been irregularly following the similar “Canada Reads” program all week, and am utterly fascinated by it (this is my first year in Canada, so it is all new to me). The winner ended up being the least well known book of the short list – a Quebecois novel called “Nikolski.”

    • Vasilly says:

      I love the title of Nikolski. I’m going to have to research that book. Are you thinking about putting it on your TBR list? How long is the Canada Reads program? The Tournament of Books run for a while month from the second week of March to the second week of April.

  7. Louise says:

    A great week you’ve had!

  8. I got The Help a while back and still haven’t been able to get to it. I am thinking it really should be moved up my TBR list after reading so much about it from you and others.

    As for this weekend, I am doing a readalong for The Savage Detectives, my first, and so far so good. I also just got Raven Stole The Moon by Garth Stein. I liked his other book, so am looking forward to this one.

    However, I owe my blog so many darn reviews it’s killing me. Not to mention my family who are worried as the stack grows ever larger on my desk threatening mayhem.

    P.S. – If I never mentioned it before, I love the new template!

    • Vasilly says:

      I would love to know your thoughts on The Help if you ever get around to reading it. Most people loved it while others think it gives in to stereotypes. Both Stein and Bolano are on my shelves, waiting on me to start reading them. Why don’t you just start fresh and not worry about all the books you haven’t reviewed?😉

  9. Teresa says:

    Very cool that you’re reading The Book Whisperer. I read most of it for work last year and ending up editing an article by Donalyn Miller for the magazine I work for. I love her ideas for turning all students into readers.

    • Vasilly says:

      I love reading about education especially when it comes to literacy. Have you read The Reading Zone? I forgot who the author is but it’s a book I really enjoyed.

  10. Frances says:

    The Tournament of Books is great fun, isn’t it? As for me, today I am reading The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag and loving it.

    • Vasilly says:

      The tournament is a lot of fun to read though most of the rounds have been pretty predictable. I really need to start reading that series. Have a great week.

  11. I read Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides this morning, and so far I really like it. I love your new template too — I don’t think I’d seen it yet!

  12. Carrie K. says:

    I really need to listen to The Help soon! Did you hear it has been optioned for a film?

    I finished If You Follow Me by Malena Watrous, which I ended up liking more than I expected after reading the first half. I also read one chapter (only one, so far) of Admission. I hope to read some more of that and also start The Lotus Eaters for a tour date on the 31st later on this evening. In an hour or so, my dad’s picking me up – we’re heading to the movies to see Crazy Heart.

    Have a wonderful Sunday, V!

    • Vasilly says:

      I heard! The movie would have to be as perfect as the audio version. I don’t even want to read the book now. The audio version is magical!😉 I love the title of The Lotus Eaters so I can’t wait to read your thoughts.

  13. susan says:

    Teachers were my heroes. May look look for this one. I forgot about the tournament. Love to know how that is progressing.

    Thanks. Changing your link.

    • Vasilly says:

      Thanks for changing my link. The Book of Night Women and Big Machine are up this week. I think both will win their rounds. Fingers crossed. . .

  14. Gavin says:

    I discovered The Tournament of Books last year and loved it. I have many of this year’s books on my TBR pile and am right there with you, following along. I just may have to buy a copy of The Help! Have a great week.

    • Vasilly says:

      I hope you have a great week too, Gavin! You may not be an audio book listener, but I’m still going to suggest you listen to The Help on audio. It’s perfect and I’m not a regular audio book user.

  15. Marie says:

    What the heck is the Tournament of Books? LOL I’m going to have to check it out. I finished MAJOR PETTIGREW’S LAST STAND today- LOVED it- and am starting EDDIE SIGNWRITER. Happy sunday!

  16. Jodie says:

    I’m liking the tournament. I usually forget about it until it’s over – looking forward to seeing which dead book gets to come back.

    This Sunday I was reading ‘The Still Point’ which is a piece of lit fiction about Arctic exploration and modern living. I’m really enjoying it and the alternate past present narrative isn’t bugging me at all.

    • Vasilly says:

      I’m the same way with the tournament. Usually it’s almost over before I remember it. I haven’t heard of The Still Point so I’m definitely going to look it up. Happy reading!

  17. Molly says:

    Oohhh…I like the premise of the Book Whisperer – I will have to check that one out!

    I just finished House Rules by Jodi Picoult and really enjoyed it. Now I must try to complete Walden as my first read for summer school.

    It’s spring break here, so I hope to get lots of academic as well as pleasure reading done this week.

    • Vasilly says:

      Yay for spring break! I don’t have it until Easter so I’m counting down! Good luck on the Walden. It’s not a book that I really got through.

  18. Kailana says:

    I find the older I get the faster time flies. Sad, really…

  19. Joanne says:

    I’m thinking I need to download The Help on audio from the library – I’ve read about 50 pages of the actual book, and I enjoy the story, but I find the dialect is giving me a hard time.

    • Vasilly says:

      You should definitely download The Help! I glanced at the book but I knew that I would probably have a hard time reading it because of the dialect.

  20. Care says:

    I keep thinking I should read some nonfic books about education. I am fascinated and curious about how to really be effective in our school systems.

Comments are closed.