Library Loot: The Blame Game

After the BLOB game ended on Monday, I practically ran to my library yesterday to check out new books and pick up holds. I checked out a few books during the BLOB game, but of course it cost me points. Being free to check out books without penalty felt great. One of the good things about the BLOB game is that now I’m a little more serious about what I check out. If I don’t think I’ll read a book within a month or two, I’m less likely to check it out. That way I’m not stressing out over renewing books or library fines.

I’m calling this post The Blame Game because so many of the books that I’ve checked out yesterday,  I found on posts throughout the blogisphere or because of recommendations on Twitter.

Blame it on: Eva at A Striped Armchair

Caramelo by Sandra Cisneros. Eva and I are staff members over at Color Online. Last week she reviewed Caramelo. I’m a huge fan of Sandra Cisneros and this is the only book of hers that I haven’t read.

Eating Animals by Jonathon Safran Foer. Have you read Eva’s review of this? You haven’t? Here’s the link.

Blame it on: Nymeth at Things Mean a Lot

I think Nymeth adds almost as many books to my TBR list as Eva.

The Midnight Charter by David Whitley. Nymeth wrote a review about this months ago and I was ecstatic to find out that my library was in the process of ordering this book.

The World Without Us by Alan Weisman.

Blame it On: Liar author Justine Larbalestier

On her blog, Larbalestier talked about The Talented Miss Highsmith: The Secret Life and Serious Art of Patricia Highsmith by Joan Schenkar. Her thoughts on the book made me laugh so hard. I had to wait more than a month for the book to come to my library.

Blame it On: The Tournament of Books

This year I want to read many of the books that made this year’s short and longlists. The tournament starts March 8th and ends April 15th.  Click the above link for more info.

Miles from Nowhere by Nami Mun.
Lowboy by John Wray.

Everything Else

Sapphistries: A Global History of Love Between Women by Leila Rupp. (GLBT challenge and for Women’s History Month)

The Savage Detectives by Roberto Bolano translated from the Spanish by Natasha Wimmer. (For Read-along with King Rat and Bibliolatrist)

The Boy Who Ate Stars by Kochka translated from the French by Sarah Adams.

Tribes by Seth Godin.

Wench by Dolen Perkins-Valdez. I’ve read about this book everywhere! I can’t wait to sit down and read it.

Two Old Women: An Alaska Legend of Betrayal, Courage and Survival by Velma Wallis

Also Known as Harper by Ann Haywood Leal.

Junebug by Alice Mead.

The Chill by Romano Bilenchi. Translated from the Italian by Ann Goldstein.

The Letters of Vincent Van Gogh

Beauty Salon by Mario Bellatin. Translated from the Spanish by Kurt Hollander.

So that’s my loot. What have you picked up from the library lately?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Library Loot: The Blame Game

  1. vivienne says:

    Aren’t Eva and Ana so naughty! They are responsible for so many of the books that I bring home too. YOu have a fantastic collection of books from the library this week. Wench intrigues me; can’t wait to hear more. I have been trying to get hold of the Velma Wallis one for my next stop on my journey through America. I will be heading to Alaska after Alabama and this looked like a good book to read.

  2. Molly says:

    WOW – such a varied list of delightful books! I know you will have a great time reading them.

    I love the “blame game” — I need to do a better job of keeping track of who to blame for my ever-growing TBR list.

  3. Jenny says:

    Not necessarily the point but I am suddenly craving a Caramello candy bar. They are so sweet and delicious.

  4. Andi says:

    GREAT post! I love the blame game and am always looking for new bloggy friends to blame for awesome books. lol

    Enjoy your new stash!

  5. Steph. says:

    I had also intended to try to read as many books for the 2010 ToB as possible, and even snagged copies of Lowboy and Everything Ravaged, Everything Burned. But I’ve really been letting my whims guide my reading this year and so I haven’t made reading any of the ToB books a priority, and I’m not sure I really will. Last year I was underwhelmed by many of the titles I read (though some were fantastic), so I may just see how everything plays out without reading along. We shall see..

  6. Oh my goodness, thank you so much for pointing me towards Justine’s review of the Highsmith bio. I can’t believe I haven’t been reading her blog before now. I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts on the Highsmith book too — it sounds fascinating.

    I know what you mean about Eva and Nymeth adding to the wish list! (It doesn’t look like you linked to Eva’s review of Eating Animals though.)

    Enjoy all your books!

  7. Samantha says:

    I just had The World Without Us checked out from the library but have to return it back unread as it was due. I’ll be really interested in hearing your thoughts on it as it sounds SO interesting! Looks like you found a bunch of good reads.

  8. Jodie says:

    And now you’re adding to my list! So many of these looks so good. Thanks for the link to The Torunament of Books, I didn’t follow it this year but I anticipate lots of new shiny recommendations.

  9. Aarti says:

    My goodness, that’s a lot of books! Does that mean that your drought is over, do you think? Maybe one of them will just get you all excited again!!

  10. Eva says:

    Loved this post!😀 I try to be deliberate about books I get from the library too, but inevitably I have a whimsical mood and always end up with at least a few completely random ones. lol I don’t mind returning library books unread though, because they’ll always be there for me to check out later!

    That Highsmith biography sounds interesting-I really want to read some of her thrillers one of these days! But I’ve seen the movie version of Talented Mr. Ripley, so I might try starting elsewhere.

  11. Cat says:

    Oh my………..what a fantastic load of loot. So many I want to check and see what my libary has. Guess I blame you for future excessive library looting.🙂

  12. bermudaonion says:

    I’d love to know what everyone did on the first day after BLOB ended! LOL I can’t wait to see what you think of Eating Animals.

  13. pussreboots says:

    What is BLOB? I like your new blog theme. My loot is here.

  14. She says:

    I’m interested to see what you think about Eating Animals. I’m still torn on whether I want to read it or not.

  15. heidenkind says:

    I keep staring at my holds list, waiting for my books to come in, but they never do.😦

  16. jill says:

    What a great stash!!! Enjoy!

  17. Carrie K. says:

    What a wonderful stack! I really want to read Wench – let me know what you think of it!

  18. Kailana says:

    You changed your layout since the last time I was here. Very nice! Enjoy your books!

  19. Kathleen says:

    I love your new layout…the colors are fantastic. I have a lot to blame Nymeth and Eva for also! Ha
    Enjoy your guilt-free (now that BLOB is over) loot!

  20. Honestly, I wouldn’t even know where to start if I were you!!

  21. Frances says:

    Larbalestier isn’t kidding about how over the edge Highsmith was. This bio is well-written, occasionally very amusing, but pretty dark too. Think that I much prefer to stay with Highsmith’s fiction. The Ripley novels are fantastic (and there is a great re-design set out now) but her lesser known novels are even better in my opinion. Happy reading with all that loot!

  22. Beth F says:

    LOL!!! I got two books out of the library, downloaded 3 digital audios from the library, spent 2 Audible credits, and bought 3 books for my eReader. Blob backfire???

  23. I love the blame game idea! Most of the time I can’t remember which blogger made me want to pick up a book though…

  24. Bellezza says:

    I enjoyed Caramelo very much, but my favorite Cisneros remains The House on Mango Street. I don’t think I’ll ever forget the stories there, particularly the one of the teacher insisting some raggy old sweater was the girls. It broke my heart. Stupid teachers, which is why I became one to try to undo some of the destruction they’ve caused.

  25. Lu says:

    So many great books that I want to read and haven’t! I have Caramelo and just need to read it, but if you haven’t read it, like Bellezza The House on Mango Street is awesome! I really want to read The World Without Us, Wench & Junebug too. I’ll be reading The Savage Detectives for my thesis soon too.

  26. olduvai says:

    What a great haul of books… many of these are already on my TBR list and I’m going to have to add some of the others! The book on your list that I’m most curious about is the Mario Bellatin, I look forward to your review!

  27. bookmagic says:

    Wow, that is a lot of books. I get so excited when I have tons from the library, then I get overwhelmed and then I and up taking them back if I have renewed once but still not picked them up to read. The holds seem to all come n at once. Enjoy your reading!

  28. April says:

    Wow!! What a great variety and number of books!! That should keep you busy for a bit, lol. Enjoy and have a great week!

  29. Rebecca:) says:

    Lovely bunch of books!

    I’m interested in your take on The World Without Us. I want to read that one pretty badly but haven’t found how to stick it into my reading schedule yet. I am also interested in Wench and Caramelo.

Comments are closed.