It’s Monday! What are you reading?

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is a weekly meme now hosted by Sheila over at One Person’s Journey through a World of Books.

I think I’m finally getting out of my reading rut. Being in a reading rut is bad when you’re a bookworm but it’s even worse when you’re a book blogger. Last week I finally read and finished my second and third adult books of the year: A Photographer’s Life by Annie Leibovitz and  The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. Fingers crossed that I’m able to write reviews this week.

I seem to be on a non-fiction kick so this morning I started How To be an Everyday Philanthropist by Nicole Bouchard Boles. The author gives readers 330 different ways to make a difference without giving money. Another non-fiction book I’m reading is Spilling Open: The Art of Becoming Yourself by Sabrina Ward Harrison. Spilling Open is Harrison’s collection of pages from her journal. So far I love the pages I’ve read. It makes me want to write more in my own journal.

I just started listening to The Soloist by Steve Lopez on audio. Lopez is a LA Times reporter who becomes friends with homeless violinist, Nathaniel Ayers. I’m listening to it because next month is my city’s The Big Read. March kicks off with a lot of great events that I can’t wait to go to that includes author signings, book discussions, and more.

Later today I’m starting another non-fiction read, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot. I’m reading this with Joy over at BiblioAddict. Joy is one of my favorite bloggers so I’m pretty psyched to be reading this with her. Another read-along for this week is Gringolandia by Lyn Miller-Lachmann with Natasha over at Heidenkind’s Hideaway. If you’re not on Twitter, you need to be. Natasha is a bad influence when it comes to books. Because of her I want to read Jane Austen and a ton of art history books. She’s funny and very smart.

So that’s what I’m reading this week. What are you reading?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. Kathleen says:

    I’ll be interested to hear what you think about The Happiness Project. I have it on my Kindle but haven’t been on a plane lately (the only time I read my Kindle) to have a chance to read it!

  2. bermudaonion says:

    I really enjoyed The Soloist – both the book and the movie. I can’t wait to see what you think of Henrietta Lacks since my book club will be reading it.

  3. Bree says:

    Oh, I want to read Everyday Philanthopist and Spilling Open. Must put on my library list.

  4. Colleen says:

    I will be reading Happiness Project later this month for book club – I look forward to hearing what you have to say about it!

  5. I’ve been seeing a lot of reviews of the Rebecca Skloot book – sounds intriguing. Hope you enjoy it, and all of your other reads this week.

  6. I’m reading Rebecca Skloot’s book for a class this semester — my professor has had only good things to say about it.

  7. Bookjourney says:

    Looks good – I like a few non fiction but then I have to go back to fiction. I like that mix. Your books look great! Enjoy your week!

  8. Jenny says:

    I’ve read loads about the Henrietta Lacks book lately, and it sounds quite wonderful. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it!

  9. Teddyree says:

    Reading funks are horrible, glad yours is lifting🙂 Happy reading this week!

  10. Carrie K. says:

    I’m so glad your reading has been going well! Mine, too – I’ve been loving me some essays – both At Large and At Small by Fadiman and The Polysyllabic Spree by Hornby. Also, I started The Importance of Being Earnest last night!

  11. heidenkind says:

    Hmm, I’m beginning to wonder where Gringolandia is going. I’m not liking the dad character a lot so far.

  12. Molly says:

    I think all the non-fiction books sound wonderful and I look forward to reading your reviews!

  13. Eva says:

    All of this nonfiction has me over the moon! Can’t wait for your reviews of the Leibovitz and Rubin.:) And I hope the Philanthropist book lives up to how good it sounds!

  14. kay says:

    Reading ruts are the worst! I hope you enjoyed A Photographer’s Life, I thought it was a great book!

  15. Memory says:

    I love the sound of HOW TO BE AN EVERYDAY PHILANTHROPIST! It doesn’t look like my library has it, but I’ll be keeping an eye out nonetheless.

    I finished THE MOONSTONE by Wilkie Collins at the beginning of the week, and I think I’ll be spending the next few days with DRUMS OF AUTUMN by Diana Gabaldon.

  16. Michelle says:

    Alea from Pop Culture Junkie spoke very highly of the Happiness Project. I’ve been contemplating getting a copy but haven’t yet comitted. I’ll be interested to read your review of it.

  17. Bookjourney says:

    I have been in those ruts…. everything you pick up doesnt sound good. Glad to hear it is passing for you! 🙂

    The Soloist is one I think I would enjoy as well.

    Have a great week!

  18. Lydia says:

    I just saw The Soloist and loved it – I really should get the book.

Comments are closed.