It’s Monday! What are you reading?

*Creative Commons-Licensed Content

After much brainstorming this weekend, I’ve decided to try a different format for many of my posts. Instead of just making a list of books I’m planning on reading for the week, I’ll give you more information about the books I’m in the middle of.

Leaving A Trace: On Keeping a Journal by Alexandra Johnson. I first read Leaving a Trace a few years ago and fell in love with the writing. I picked it up again because I really needed some inspiration to help me get back in writing. In the book Johnson explores the reasons why so many people keep journals or diaries. Not only does she gives examples of writings from famous people like Virginia Woolf and Willa Cather but she also gives examples from ordinary people who thought to write down the details of their lives. Readers can also find techniques and exercises to help start or keep pursuing journal writing.

Reading Like a Writer by Francine Prose. I’m noticing with each book I re-read, I become a slower reader, taking in the passages that I’ve once skimmed over in my last reading. Rich with information, I’ve only been reading less than a chapter a day. Right now I’m at the end on narration, reading about the short stories of Mavis Gallant and Stuart Dybeck.

So that’s what I’m reading this week. I have my eye on a few more books but I’ll wait until later on this week to show them to you. So what are you reading this week?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in meme.. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. Molly says:

    I read the Francine Prose book a couple of years ago and loved it!

    I have already placed Leaving a Trace on my hold list at the library – this sounds like what I need to jumpstart my writing as well!

    Have a great week!

  2. vivienne says:

    These look like really interesting books that would definitely appeal to me. I need to get back to writing properly and love books that encourage me.

  3. Sophie says:

    Both books sound interesting. I might just pick up Leaving A Trace on my next visit to the bookstore.

    Planning on finishing The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood this week and going through my pile of magazines.

    Have a nice week!

  4. Eva says:

    Leaving a Trace sounds so interesting!

  5. Carrie K. says:

    Love Reading Like a Writer – I really need to re-read that one.

    I’m reading Dragon House by John Shors and Storm Front by Jim Butcher.

  6. Kailana says:

    I am having a terrible time reading lately!

  7. iliana says:

    I really liked Leaving A Trace too. I need to check Amazon because I thought she might have a follow up to the book. Wouldn’t that be neat!

  8. Pam says:

    I am reading Merlin’s Harp, then Beautiful Dead, then maybe Thirst vo. 2 by Pike and I want to read Pillars of the Earth, been on my shelf for a year now!

  9. Joanne says:

    I read a fiction novel by Francine Prose called Goldengrove – it was very good. And it was only when I finished and read the author description on the inside back cover that I found out she had written many more books. I’m hoping to tackle some more of her fiction as well as non-fiction.

Comments are closed.