Sunday Salon: A Year of Blogging Deliberately

So about two weeks ago I wrote a post about my reading goals for next year called A Year of Reading Deliberately. Since then I’ve been thinking about my blogging goals also. I started blogging about three years ago after I found out about the Southern Reading Challenge on Maggie’s blog, Maggie Reads. I wanted to talk about the books I’ve read and join in the discussions that were going around the community.

Though I’ve enjoyed being a part of the book blogging community, lately I’ve thought about giving up blogging. It hasn’t been as fulfilling as it’s used to be. It started to feel less like a hobby and more like school and I no longer felt passion or enthusiasm to keep going. So I’ve been seriously thinking about if I continue blogging, what I want out of it and also why should I keep going.

For the past week or so, I’ve been having a mini Bloggiesta of my own, updating my pages and links while searching the internet for inspiration to keep blogging and maybe change the focus of 1330V and also the way I blog. I’ve found articles and interviews, transcripts, posts from some of my favorite bloggers, and more that has given me back my enthusiasm.

My list of things I want to do with this blog is long and one that I’m going to constantly go back and revise. But here’s a few things my readers can look for in 2010:

A Review Policy. I’ve noticed many review policies on some of my favorite blogs. Since I’ve started receiving review copies myself and start asking for copies, I think it’s time for a policy of my own.

Different focus on reviewing. Instead of giving a critical review, I’m going to start focusing my reviews of my reactions and experience with the books I read. As usual, if I don’t have anything to add in the discussion of a book, I won’t write about it.

Number of reviews. By writing about my experiences with a book, the pressure for a perfect review is now off of me. I plan on writing at least two reviews a week.

Focus. I don’t think I’ve always been clear about the focus of this blog. I read many books of different genres and for different age groups. My focus is to write about well-written but lesser known books. These are the books I usually gravitate to when picking books to read. There’s no need to review the most talked-about books. Instead I’ll focus on the books I love that haven’t received much attention.

So that’s a few of my blogging goals for next year. What about you? Do you have any blogging goals for next year?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Bloggiesta, reading, reviews, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Sunday Salon: A Year of Blogging Deliberately

  1. Amanda says:

    I have reading goals, but not really blogging goals for next year, except perhaps to blog a bit less often. I haven’t been doing it for very long, so I’m far from burnt out. I’m glad to hear you’re not quitting, though. ::)

  2. Amanda says:

    I’m not sure what’s up with the 4-eyed smiley…stupid keyboard.😀

  3. Kailana says:

    I need to think about things like this, too. Blogging got a bit unfun this year…

  4. Priscilla says:

    I actually stopped for a while earlier this year, for all the reasons you mentioned, plus I had a new job. Like you, I am more interested in just talking about a book from my own perspective, rather than trying to offer a critical review, and that takes the pressure off. I have decided only to post about books if I feel strongly compelled to do so or if it’s a book I haven’t seen reviewed much elsewhere, not just to add more noise to the fray. Good luck with your goals!

  5. Frances says:

    I like your thinking here! I hope to have my blog become more of an accurate reflection of my actual reading life and not just parts of it. It may remove focus in my case but increase interest too. OR … thought about spinning off and having two blogs – the current one and one just for kiddie lit. Hmmm …

  6. Gavin says:

    Vasilly, I’m glad to hear you will continue to blog as I appreciate your reviews and you comments. I think your goals are well defined and deliberate, wonderfully thought out. My blogging has changed over the past year but I haven’t set defined goals. I am happy with it. Have a wonderful week and enjoy New Year’s Eve!

  7. Marie says:

    I’ve never had any blogging goals, except to keep blogging. I’d like to get Graphic Novel Monday back as a regular feature and keep writing opinion pieces, and a couple of reviews per week. So we’ll see! Good luck with your goals🙂

  8. Nymeth says:

    Good luck with your goals! I think my main one is not to take things too seriously and continue to have fun with blogging😛

  9. I also have my own mini Bloggiestas from time to time! (I hate to sign up officially in case the weekend in question doesn’t work out!)

    I’ll look forward to your “imperfect” reviews! :–)

  10. Ash says:

    Great post! These are things I’ve been thinking about recently too even though I a new blogger. If nothing else it makes me feel better about how I blog and changing it now instead of waiting until later.

  11. vivienne says:

    Good to hear that you won’t disappear from the blogging world. I know sometimes it is hard to keep up with it all. I plan to not push my reading so hard. I went for the 100 book challenge and found it took a little out of the enjoyment of reading as I felt I was rushing, so I won’t be doing that this year. I also plan to do shorter challenges as I get bored of the really big ones with lots of books in it.

  12. I think your goals are realistic and true to yourself. I wish you luck in achieving them (somehow I think you’ll manage quite well).

  13. JoAnn says:

    This is a great post, and it’s got me thinking. So much time is spent on reading goals, but very little has been devoted to my blogging goals…

  14. Bellezza says:

    I’m not sure if it’s my new laptop, but I already like seeing your screen in one column…I get so easily distracted!😉 It’s good to redefine our goals about blogging. One of the things I noticed about agreeing to review books for publishers is that I received a plethora of them. It was like, “Be careful what you wish you wish for, you just might get it” because then I found not much time to read what I wanted from my own piles. Anyway, you goals sound great. I’ll be looking for what you’ll put in your Review Policy.😉

  15. bermudaonion says:

    I think you’ve got great goals! It’s important to keep blogging fun!

  16. iliana says:

    I’m glad you aren’t giving up on your blog! I think it is easy to sort of get lost in our blogging especially when we read other blogs. Your goals sound great!

  17. Excellent goals! It’s always good to re access your goals and decide what is working for you. Glad to hear you aren’t quitting.

  18. Memory says:

    Those sound like some attainable goals! I wish you the best of luck with them.

    I haven’t quite decided what my 2010 goals will be. I’d like to continue to review everything I read, but I think I’d also like to branch out and get into some more non-review content. I’ve been trying to do that for a while now, though, and I’ve failed miserably. I don’t really want to do author interviews (me=shy), and I’m not interested in reposting news articles and such, as I see many other genre-oriented blogs doing. So I’m not too sure what I’ll do in that area, but I do feel like I need to do something to prevent my blog from being a one-trick pony.

  19. Molly says:

    I think these sound like great goals — and I am glad that you have decided to keep blogging🙂

  20. heidenkind says:

    One of the goals I mentioned during BBAW was to read “weirder” books, which I guess is code for lesser-known books. I think my blog is just generally heading in that direction, anyway. I’m planning to change the look of my blog a bit, too, while I’m at it.

  21. Carrie K. says:

    I’m so glad you’re not giving up the blog – I would miss your posts! I think making some blogging goals is a good plan – I need to think about that in terms of my own blog. For one thing, I’m not going to stress out any more if one or two or three days go by without a post.

  22. Aarti says:

    I’m glad you’re sticking with blogging! I think your blog goals sound good for next year. It’s sad- it seems a lot of bloggers are not enjoying it as much as they used to. It’s time for all of us to take ownership of our blogs once more🙂

  23. I have very simply goals. I try to post once a week. I try to visit ten blogs and leave comments there each week.

    Pretty simple.

  24. Kathleen says:

    I’m still trying to figure out what reading more deliberately will mean for me this year. I know I want to take more time with my reading and my reviews and let go of the guilt when my life is too busy and I have to take a few days away from blogging. Good luck on your journey!

  25. Bree says:

    Oh, I like Debnance’s goal of leaving 10 comments a week. I read but rarely comment. So glad to hear you decided to continue blogging. I enjoy seeing what you’re reading and life happenings. Now that I’ve been around the blogosphere for over a year what I find I like the most about people’s book blogs are their non-book related posts. I like to hear the voice of the person behind the blog more than their reviews of books. My wish list and TBR pile are big enough without adding more books.

  26. Great to hear you’re going to continue blogging. I think for me it helps that I enjoy all the subsidiary blogging stuff such as tweaking and maintaining the site, just as much as anything else, if I didn’t blog I wouldn’t be able to do that!🙂

  27. Care says:

    It’s fun to re-evaluate the blogging,yes? I just allow myself to feel unenthusiastic about it sometimes and I know eventually, I’ll get all excited again. I don’t have any goals. yet! ::)

  28. Christina says:

    I’ve done a similar thing, Vasilly, and I’m so glad I did. Suddenly the pressure is gone, and blogging is no longer a chore.

  29. Meghan says:

    I need to think about blogging deliberately too. My blog has definitely begun to feel something more like work and less like fun, and I know I need to improve it somehow so the fun comes back. I’ve been stepping back from it for a couple of weeks to recharge, but I think I need more focused goals.

    I’m glad you’re sticking around!

  30. Michelle says:

    These are wonderful goals for 2010! Sounds like you have enough to do for Bloggiesta in a couple of weeks. Are you planning to participate for a bit?

  31. Jodie says:

    Glad you’re going to stay blogging, you have some really good goals there designed to make blogging work for you. For me I think the goal is going to be quality over quantity, I do not need to post 5 times a week, everyone will not abandon me (I hope).

  32. I think it’s important to keep blogging in perspective and find ways to make sure it stays fun rather than being work. Earlier this year I decided to post less, which took a lot of the pressure off me. I also decided to only post one review a week so I’d lessen the pressure to finish books fast and review them. Doing those things helped me a lot.

    Good luck!

  33. Pingback: I’ve got ninety-nine problems, but a book ain’t one. « The Book Lady’s Blog

  34. Anastasia says:

    “Instead of giving a critical review, I’m going to start focusing my reviews of my reactions and experience with the books I read.”

    Okay, HELL. YES. The critical vs personal review is something I’ve been struggling with lately. I think I started off trying to do more critical reviews, but I found that really boring and when I reread them later on I wasn’t sure what I actually FELT about a book. For the past few months I’ve been trying to incorporate more feelings/experiences, but I’m struggling to figure out exactly how to do that. So I suppose it’s an ongoing process for met– but actually, all I really wanted to say that I’m glad someone else isn’t trying to write critical reviews, because it makes me feel less like a weirdo.😀

    Okay, that was kind of rambling. Sorry! (Happy new year!)

  35. Rebecca says:

    Fabulous goals for 2010! I am thinking of some myself. I just realized my first bloggiversary is next weekend! This is a perfect time to really think about blogging deliberately myself. You’ve given me a lot to think about. Thanks! (P.S. I am glad you are sticking around, too!)

  36. Joanne says:

    So glad to hear you’re continuing with the blogging! Sometimes it is very easy for something you love and enjoy doing (like blogging) to become a stressful thing. Your decision to change your review focus from critical to more personal sounds like a wonderful way to re-invigorate the blogging experience. Creating a review policy is at the top of my to-do list for this year. Hope you and the family had a wonderful holiday season🙂

  37. yellojkt says:

    Thanks for joining NaJuReMoNoMo. I do a monthly blog wrap up of everything I’ve read each month even if it is only one or two books. I find if I wait longer than that I tend to forget some and get lost on what I have and haven’t reviewed.

  38. Pingback: Sunday Salon: Deliberately « Ardent Reader

Comments are closed.