2010 Challenges

Hopefully this is my last challenge post for awhile. Since my last post so many great challenges have posted by fellow bloggers  that fit in with my “deliberately reading” focus for next year and I’m dying to sign up.

Essay Reading Challenge 2010January 1, 2010 to November 31, 2010

I am so excited that Carrie of Books and Movies decided to hosted this challenge once again. It’s  one of my favorite challenges. Participants sign up to read 10, 20, or 30 essays. I love essays and enjoy reading them so I’m signing up for the 30 essays level though I’m hoping to read much more than that. For extra credit, participants can write an essay and link it to the challenge page. The grand prize for participants who read and review at least one essay will be The Best American Essays of 2010 edited by Mary Oliver. Look out for Carrie’s post filled with essay recommendations this Sunday.

African Diaspora Challenge
Hosted by BrownGirlSpeaks
When? All of 2010

The goal of this challenge is for participants to read books written by Black authors and set in Africa, North America, South America, Central America, South America, Central America, the Caribbean Islands, or Europe. There are three levels of participation and I’m committing at the scholar level which is to read at least twelve books. I’m not coming up with a list. I’m going to make it up as I go.

Art History Challenge
hosted by Sarah
All of 2010

Joining this challenge just like almost every challenge I’m joining is part of my goal to read deliberately next year. I don’t think I’ve ever read any books that have to do with art so this challenge is really outside of my comfort zone.

My goal is to participate at the curious level and read at least 3 books about art, non-fiction or fiction.

Chunkster Challenge
Hosted by Wendy of Caribousmom
February 1, 2010 through January 31, 2011

Chunkster: 450 pages or more of adult literature (non-fiction or fiction)

I always felt a lot of pressure to read smaller books because of blogging. There’s nothing wrong with larger books but I’ve always wanted to post often and smaller books help. Next year, instead of giving into my own induced guilt, I’m reading a few chunksters. So I’m committing to the smallest level: reading three books also known as The Chubby Chunkster.

A few of the chunksters I’m looking forward to reading:

  1. The Little Stranger – Sarah Waters
  2. Gone with the Wind – Margaret Mitchell
  3. East of Eden – John Steinbeck
  4. Admissions – Jean Hanff Koreltiz
  5. The Fellowship of the Rings: Part 1 of Lord of the Rings – Tolkien

Cybils Award Challenge
Hosted by Michelle over at Galleysmith
December 1, 2009 to December 31, 2010

Every year when the Cybils Awards open up for nominations, people of all ages flock to the website to nominate some of their favorite reads of that year. Michelle came up with the great idea to host a reading challenge based on the award’s nominees.

I’ve decided that I’m going to read five nominees from each of the following five categories:

Non-Fiction: Picture Book

Fiction: Picture Book

Fiction: YA

Fiction: Middle School

Graphic Novel: MG

One lucky participant who signs up for the “categorically speaking” level and reads and reviews every book from at least one of the categories will be eligible to win a $100 gift card to Borders Books.

Young Readers Challenge 2010
All of 2010

Becky at Becky’s Book Reviews is once again hosting this challenge. The goal is to read at least twelve children’s books. I love children’s books so this challenge will be no problem.

That’s How I Blog Twenty Minute Book Club
Hosted by Nicole over at Linus’s Blanket
December 29, 2009 to December 31, 2010

Nicole has a great radio show called That’s How I Blog! Every Tuesday night she interviews  a blogger from around the blogisphere. It’s always fun to listen in to the conversation and chat in the chat room. During the last 20 minutes of the show, Nicole has a twenty minute book club where bloggers can call in and discuss one book chosen by the interviewee.

Nicole says,

The purpose of this challenge will be to read the books being discussed for the Twenty Minute Book Club portion of That’s How I Blog! It’s a great opportunity to share a reading list with your fellow readers.  In addition to the show there will be a Google Wave for each book we discuss (no cliques here, contact me for wave participation) and twitter discussion with hashtag #20minbc.

I’m participating in the Aluminum level, which is read four books from the 2010 list of books.

So that’s a few more of the challenges I’ve signed up for in 2010. Have you signed up for more challenges too?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in 2010 reading challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 2010 Challenges

  1. Nicole says:

    Yay! I’m glad that you will be joining. You have to call in for your 4!

  2. Eva says:

    I’m joining the African Diaspora at 12 books too! But I will be making a list, because that’s what I DO! lol Although honestly, BrownGirl Speaks had such a great list, I might just use hers.😀 Have you read Someone Knows My Name yet? If not, add it! Now!

    And the Art History Challenge-I LOVED E.H. Gombrich’s The Story of Art, which was my first ever art history book last January. It looks huge, but it’s at least half pictures, and it’s so readable. So I’m recommending that one too.🙂

    That essay challenge is neat,but how do you read individual essays? Are they available for free online, like short stories? If so, sources please!🙂 (And if you haven’t read any of Atul Gawande’s essays, he’s awesome.)

    • Vasilly says:

      You are adding to my TBR pile!😉 Thanks for the recommendations. For individual essays go to Powells.com They features essays by many writers on a variety of topics.

  3. claire says:

    I have Anne Fadiman’s book of essays, At Large and at Small, which seem like easy and quite enjoyable reads. Have not read them but Eva also said she loved it.

    Good luck on all your challenges! You read quite fast so am sure you can do it.😀

  4. Shona says:

    Art History Challenge sounds tempting but I have too many already :)Though I might sign up for Chunkster Challenge🙂 Good luck to u for all ur challenges for 2010.

  5. Michelle says:

    You’ve chosen really great challenges to participate in this year! Welcome to the Cybils Award Challenge I’m excited to have you joining in with me.

    Good luck!🙂

  6. bermudaonion says:

    Wow, that’s a lot of challenges! I hope you complete each and every one.

  7. sagustocox says:

    looks like you have a lot of great challenges. I hope you’ll consider the 2010 Vietnam War Reading Challenge I am cohosting with Anna here: http://warthroughthegenerations.wordpress.com/current-challenge-and-sign-up-info-2010/

  8. vivienne says:

    Wow – I haven’t seen any of these challenges around. They do look good.

  9. So many challenges this year! You’ve got some great ones – and I’m so glad you’ll be joining us on the Essay Challenge!

  10. Kailana says:

    That’s a lot of challenges! Good luck to you!

  11. rebeccareid says:

    Wow, what a great list of challenges! I’m trying to resist most of them…..

  12. Vasilly says:

    Nicole: Will do!

    Claire: Thanks! Fadiman is a great writer. Happy reading.

    Shona: Thanks!

    Michelle: I’m so excited to be joining! It took me forever to think about my participation. I’ll probably read more than what I signed up for.

    Bermudaonion: Thanks! I’m hoping that I do better on next year’s challenges than I did on this year’s.

    Serena: Thanks for letting me know about your challenge.

    Vivienne: You have to go visit A Novel Challenges blog. There are so many challenges listed on the site for next year.

    Carrie: I’m so glad that you’re hosting your challenge again. Can’t wait to start.

    Kailana: Thanks!

    Rebecca: Good luck resisting. We’ll see how you do!😉

  13. JoAnn says:

    So many great challenges here…I plan on signing up for a few of them myself. Good luck!

  14. Christina says:

    I think the only book dealing with art that I’ve read is The Girl with the Pearl Earring, which I enjoyed. I’m also doing the Chunkster Challenge, and I think you’ll enjoy Gone with the Wind. It’s a little frustrated in the beginning, but stick with it because it’s so well-written. And I too am planning on reading a Steinbeck novel. His The Grapes of Wrath is on my What’s in a Name? Challenge list.

  15. Rebecca says:

    Great group of challenges to sign up for, Natasha! Good luck with all of them!

  16. Bellezza says:

    Goodness sakes, girlfriend, I’d never be able to keep up with you! I’ve only committed to Women Unbound and What’s In a Name 3. But, I’m joining some read alongs this year to come, for the very first time: L’Engle’s Time Quartet, and Woolf in Winter, as well as The Woman In White, which will be a reread, but certainly a worthy one. Well, the Time Quartet is a reread, too, but I reread those every couple of years or so. Maybe that’s why I don’t have time for new challenges, d’you think?!

    • Vasilly says:

      LOL! I’m signed up for a ton of read-alongs for next year including Woolf in the Winter, The Little Stranger, and East of Eden. I read a lot so I’m hoping that these challenges are going to be easy to finish. We’ll see. Re-reading is great! I want to do it more often next year. Good luck on your challenges.

Comments are closed.