How did I sign up for more challenges?

So remember that last post I did about 2010 reading challenges? Well after that post a lot of bloggers decided they were going to start their own challenges and guess what? I signed up! Yay! Before I talk about the newest challenges I’ve joined, let’s talk about the reading lists. WARNING: this post is long but hopefully entertaining.

Bibliofreak has made a new blog dedicated to her World Religion Challenge that starts next year. I’ve signed up for the Universalist path, so I’m reading as many books as I can about as many spiritual paths as I want. My list:

Hinduism
Hinduism: A Beginner’s Guide by Klaus K. Klostermaier
My Family and Other Saints by Kirin  Narayan
Essential Hinduism – Steven Rosen

Judaism
The Talmud and the Internet – Jonathon Rosen
Finding God in the Garden – Balfour Brickner
Living Judaism – Wayne Dosick

Religious Society of Friends (Quakers)
Holy Silence: The Gift of Quaker Spirituality – J. Brett Bill
Quaker Spirituality: Selected Writings
Plain Living: A Quaker Path to Simplicity – Catherine Whitmire

 

Islam
No god but God: The Origins, Evolution, and Future of Islam– Reza Aslan

Wicca
The Pagan Book of Living and Dying – Starhawk

Buddhism
Razor-Wire Dharma: A Buddhist Life in Prison – Calvin Malone (memoir)

Unitarianism Universalism
The A to Z of Unitarian Universalism – Mark W. Harris

Mythology
Don’t Know Much about Mythology – Kenneth C. Davis

Christianity
Easter Everywhere – Darcey Steinke (memoir)
Traveling Mercies – Anne Lamott (re-read/memoir)

Shinto
A Year in the Life of a Shinto Shrine – John K. Nelson

Sufism
The Gift – Hafiz (poetry)
Sufism: A Beginner’s Guide – William C. Chittick

Comparative Religion/Spirituality
God: stories edited by C. Michael Curtis
Best American Spiritual Writing (various years)
The Life of Meaning: Reflections on Faith, Doubt, and Repairing the World edited by  Bob Abernathy

 

I also signed up for the GLBT reading challenge hosted by Amanda from The Zen Leaf. I’m planning to read at least four books. Some of the authors I’m looking forward to reading are:

Sara Teasdale
Langston Hughes
W.H. Auden
Dorothy Allison
John Cheever
Patricia Highsmith
Tennessee Williams
Jeanette Winterson
Rita Mae Brown
Edna St. Vincent-Millay
Ellis Avery
Audre Lorde
Sarah Waters

Aarti over at Book Lust is hosting the Flashback Challenge! I cannot wait to start this re-read challenge. I’m signing up for the Literari level, which is to re-read six books. I have a ton of books on my shelves that I would love to get to, so I’m hoping to re-read more than six.

The TwentyTen challenge hosted by Darren over at Bart’s Bookshelves. Participants are to read two books from ten categories for a total of twenty books.  The ten categories: young adult, tbr, shiny and new, bad bloggers, charity, new in 2010, older than you, and who are you again?. For the last category particpants choose the theme and I’m going with prize-winning books.

The brilliant Lu over at Regular Ruminations is hosting the VPR challenge. It’s a poetry challenge. I don’t read poetry as much as I want to outside of school, so I’ve signed up. I plan on reading at least two volumes of poetry.

Okay. So those are the rest of the challenges I’m signed up for in 2010. Have you added any more challenges to your list for next year?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in reading challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to How did I sign up for more challenges?

  1. I’m trying so hard to be good, as I failed miserably this year on most, if not all my challenges.

    Hence why I’m growing fonder of perpetual challenges like reading the Pulizters, Man Booker winners, Banned/Challenged Books, etc.

    I admire you very much for joining those challenges listed in this post.

  2. Carrie K. says:

    I haven’t even started making my challenge lists yet – but I know there are a bunch I want to join!

  3. docshona says:

    Cool!! And I thought I was the only one who is over doing it🙂 Seriously , some great challenges u have joined .

  4. Welcome to the World Religion Challenge! I’m also signed up for the LGBT Challenge and a myriad others! 2010 is looking excellent!

  5. Amanda says:

    Thanks for joining us with the GLBT Challenge. I’m trying to hold back on some challenges this year, but I’m having a hard time, they all look so tempting!

  6. bermudaonion says:

    I’m doing 4 challenges right now, so I’m trying really hard not to sign up for more. I’m sure I’ll succumb at some point.

  7. Kailana says:

    Good luck on all of those challenges!

  8. Eva says:

    Oh! I didn’t think about the Quakers! I might steal one from your list. :p And I lurve Sarah Waters. I’m joining the Flashback Challenge too, and Darren’s is so tempting! I think I’d fail at Lu’s challenge, but maybe I should sign up since it’d be a real challenge for me…hmmmm

  9. Kathleen says:

    I’ve sworn off challenges but some of these make me really want to sign up. I’ll be content to pick up some great book recommendations for me to read at my leisure and look forward to reading your reviews!

  10. heidenkind says:

    I love Sarah Teasdale! She’s one of my favorite poets.

    I’m trying to resist joining challenges. But it’s soooo tempting.😉

  11. I always end up signing up for more challenges than I mean to as well!

  12. Michelle says:

    If you’re looking for some YA GLBT lit you can ad Levitan to your list.

    I’m giong to do the 2010 Challenge at Bart’s as well😉

    Good luck!

  13. sagustocox says:

    Good luck with all those challenges

  14. Jodie says:

    Yay I’m excited for the GLBT challenge.

  15. Andi says:

    We might be challenge soulmates because I want to join ALL OF THESE!!!! I’m so bad at challenges, though. So bad, but they look so fun. I’m especially intereted in GLBT and TwentyTen. Awesome!

  16. dogearedandwellread says:

    I haven’t picked my challenges yet, there are so many good ones!

  17. I’ve been a challenge fool lately. The 2010 is one I’m looking forward to-but I have to finish a challenge before I can sign up for it.

  18. Kim says:

    I think I have an illness! I really wanted to swear off challenges for the year, but I am just so drawn to them. I am going to write about my choices tomorrow when I have more time to put a blog post together! You have some pretty heavy reading ahead of you!🙂
    *smiles*

  19. Christina says:

    I really want to participate in the World Religion challenge, but I still trying to check my ability to get books on the topics. For sure my college’s library will have books on these topics, but I’m looking for something with a little more pizazz.

Comments are closed.