Sunday Salon: A Day Full of Challenges

sunday salon

I can’t believe it’s been almost a week since the last time I posted. During the mini-readathon I didn’t get as much read as I wanted to. I ended up reading the graphic novel Britten and Brulightly by Hannah Berry. I need to reread it before I write a review but it was an excellent read about a detective nicknamed the “Heartbreaker” and the suicide case he’s working on.

0
I also read Faith, Hope, and Ivy June by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor. It’s a Cybils nominee and I can definitely see why. The book chronicles the lives of two girls from very different classes and the month they spend with each other. I also learned a lot about mining and life in the Appalachian mountains.

Love that Dog was also a reading knockout. Love that Dog is about a young boy who has to write poetry in his notebook for a class. It’s a smart, really funny book that includes classic poems from William Carlos Williams, Walter Dean Myers, and Robert Frost. After I finished it, I started reading it to one of my nine year-old sisters and she’s enjoying it.

Everyday Matters by Danny Gregory is the last book I read. It’s a memoir in graphic novel format about Gregory’s life after his wife became paralyzed from the waist down in a subway accident. Gregory started drawing after that and the book is his story. It was nice and had a few pages I loved, but close to the end of the book I didn’t feel like reading it any longer and stopped. I just stopped caring. It’s a short book at 110 pages long.

On Twitter today one of the many discussions were upcoming reading challenges for next year. I’m a big fan of challenges though I rarely ever finish them. I love learning about new books, making a reading list, and also reading everyone else’s lists too! Already 2010 seems to be the year of the book challenges. There are so many challenges that start in 2010 or end that year. Here are a few of the challenges I’m looking forward to:

Eva, Aarti, and Wordlily’s Women Unbound Challenge. This challenge has already started but I’m glad I’m participating. Dedicated to women’s studies, this is definitely one of the most talked about challenges in the blogisphere.

Shelf Discovery. Hosted by Bookingmama. This challenge is definitely taking me back to my childhood.

Upcoming Challenges

Thankfully Reading Weekend. This challenge runs from Friday, November 27, 2009 to Sunday, November 29, 2009. There’s no prizes or rules. There’s just the joy of reading.

The lovely Michelle over at Galleysmith is hosting a “SeriesPalooza“. Starting December 14, 2009 until December 20, 2009. The goal is to only read books in a series. Michelle is also planning on having prizes. I plan on reading books by Scott Westerfeld, Jim Butcher, and Patrick Ness.

During Christmas break there will be a Book a Day reading challenge. Hosted by Haley at The Infinite Life. The goal is one book each day of Christmas break from December 14 to December 28, 2009. I did a personal challenge like this last year and can’t wait to do it again this year.

Terry Pratchett Reading Challenge. Hosted by Marg at Reading Adventures and runs throughout 2010. I plan on reading three books and already have them picked out. Pratchett is a writer I’m read great things but whose books I’ve never picked up. I plan on reading Equal Rites; Wyrd Sisters; and Witches Abroad.

Becky’s Young Readers Challenge. This is one of my favorite challenges and I’m glad it’s coming back again. The goal is to read 12 children’s books.

Bibliofreak is hosting the World Religion Challenge. The challenge runs throughout 2010. I plan on reading as much of any religion as I like.

Last but not least in this post is the South Asian Author Challenge hosted by S. Krishna. Running throughout the year, the goal is to read a certain number of books by South Asian authors. Books also need to be about South Asia. The authors I picked for this list: Chitra Divakaruni, Monica Ali, Kamila Shamsi, Jhumpa Lahiri, Shaila Abdullah, and Mohsin Hamid.

I’m also looking forward to the Flashback Challenge (re-reading), GLBT, and Essay Reading Challenges but I’ll talk about them next time. What challenges are you looking forward to next year?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in 2010 reading challenges and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Sunday Salon: A Day Full of Challenges

  1. Bellezza says:

    I’m really looking forward to the Women Unbound. I have to be careful not to commit to too many challenges because then I get all compulsive and can’t finish what I’ve got stacked in my own pile.

  2. Carrie K. says:

    I’m having a hard time focusing on NaNoWriMo – I just want to read and post about reading challenges!

    Looking forward to your review of Britten and Brulightly.πŸ™‚

  3. docshona says:

    I feel like participating in all those wonderful challenges but I am limiting it to the one’s I can handle. But I am definitely in the South Asian Author Challenge.

  4. Meghan says:

    There are so many reading challenges! It’s hard to decide which ones I want to participate in. You remind me that I should probably get going on my own before people get overloaded with challenges!

  5. Michelle says:

    I’m so excited to have you join in on Seriespalooza! It’s going to be great fun (at least I hope so). Looks like you have some awesome challenges picked out to join I’m looking forward to picking mine for the year in the next couple of weeks.πŸ™‚

  6. Beth F says:

    Oh yeah — I love finding challenges. I just refuse to stress about finishing or not finishing.

  7. wordlily says:

    Actually, I’m not one of the people hosting Women Unbound; Natasha, Amy and I are hosting another challenge, the Social Justice Challenge.

  8. Care says:

    Yikes – so many challenges! but fun, all very very fun. I’ve got too many starting and just realized I must focus on finishing my 2009 ones. but library is closed on Mondays, darn it. Best to you as you challenge the reading year away!

  9. bermudaonion says:

    I finally finished a challenge, so I suspect I’ll go a little crazy and sign up for more than I can manage!

  10. Julie P. says:

    I am feeling the same way right now! So many great challenges going on! Thanks for joining mine!

  11. Eva says:

    Yay for challenges! I’m excited about too many to list, lol.πŸ™‚

  12. vivienne says:

    There are definitely some fabulous challenges coming up. I am not sure if I can finish this years challenges yet!

  13. Kailana says:

    Lots of good challenges!

  14. Jodie says:

    So far I think I’m taking part in GLBT, Women Unbound, Historical fiction, my own personal poetry challenge and the Printing Press Challenge. That is definately it for me now, although Seriespalooza does sound like a fun activity (see not a challenge, an activity).

  15. Kathleen says:

    I have sworn off challenges or I would be tempted to participate in some of these. I will have to be satisfied to cheer all of you on from the sidelines!

  16. debnance says:

    I’ve not looked at my challenges for…how long? Eek. Thank you for reminding me.

  17. kay says:

    Sorry you didn’t get to read as much as you wanted during your mini read-a-thon; you know I know how you feel!
    There are SO many great challenges for the upcoming new year, I really have to stop myself from joining too many.

  18. Vasilly says:

    Bellezza: I rare;y finish challenges, but I’m usually glad I’ve joined them. They often take me out of my reading comfort zone.

    Carrie: LOL! Good luck with Nano. The challenges will still be here when you’re finished. I’ll reread Britten and Brulightly soon so that I can review it.

    DocShana: I try to have a challenge limit but it never works.πŸ™‚

    Meghan – There are so many great challenges for next year. I cannot wait to see which ones you join.

    Michelle – I can’t wait for Seriepalooza. I have a few series I’m dying to dig into.

    Beth F. – I’m going to adapt that same attitude. Why stress?

    Wordlily: Thank you for letting me know.

    Care: I haven’t focused on my 2009 challenges in months!

    Bermudonion: That’s the spirit!πŸ™‚

    Julie: You have such a great challenge!

    Eva: I can’t wait for next year!

    Vivienne: I don’t think I will finish this year’s challenges.

    Kailana: Thanks!

    Jodie: I know Lu at Regular Rumination is hosting a poetry challenge now. I’ve just finished my list for the GLBT challenge. I will be posting it soon. Can’t wait to see what you’re going to read.

    Kathleen: I swore off challenges also but it lasted only a few weeks! Thanks for cheering. I’m going to need it.

    Debnance: You’re welcome!

    Kay:I thought about stopping but I’m just going to indulge and try to keep track of everything I’m joining.I hope during Seriespalooza I can read a decent amount.

  19. Pingback: How did I sign up for more challenges? « 1330v

  20. BrownGirl says:

    Yes, there are too many great challenges. Thanks for the Divakaruni suggestion. I think I’ll check out Sister of My Heart. I hope you enjoy Atlas of Unknowns.

Comments are closed.