Library Loot

If you don’t know, library loot is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely Eva and Marg that encourages bloggers to share what they checked out at their local libraries.

As usual I went overboard with my library loot. Between my old loot and what I’ve just checked out, I’m starting to become claustrophobic looking at my shelves. But I’m up for the challenge. I’m hoping that November and December will be my best reading months of the year. I also don’t plan on checking out anymore books until I read at least half of what I have. Wish me luck.

0

 

2

 

3

Old Library Loot

  • Flight Vol 5 – Kazu Kibuishi
  • Distracted: The Erosion of Attention and the Coming Dark Age – Maggie Jackson
  • Faith, Hope, and Ivy June – Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
  • High Tide in Tuscon – Barbara Kingsolver
  • The Haiku Anthology: haiku and senryu in English
  • The Magician’s Elephant – Kate Dicamillo
  • The Wild Things – Dave Eggers
  • Life Among the Savages – Shirley Jackson
  • The Unfinished Novel: and other stories – Valerie Martin
  • Little Brother – Cory Doctrow
  • Sprout – Dale Peck
  • Twenty Years at Hull-House – Jane Addams
  • Love, Aubrey – Suzanne LeFleur
  • Once Upon a Time (She Said) – Jane Yolen
  • Pip: The story of Olive – Kim Kane
  • The City of Ember – Jeanne Du Prau
  • The Forest of Hands and Teeth – Carrie Ryan
  • The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven – Sherman Alexie
  • The Onion Girl – Charles De Lint
  • Uglies – Scott Westerfield
  • Woman Hollering Creek and Other Stories – Sandra Cisneros
  • The Last Unicorn – Peter S. Beagle
  • The Strain – Guillermo Del Toro

So that’s my loot. I plan on posting every day this week but won’t be hanging around Twitter as much as usual. I really want to read as much as possible. What did you check out from the library this week?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Library Loot

  1. Chris says:

    Come Closer does look fantastic doesn’t it? I really want to read that one too🙂 It’s on my wishlist. I started The Magician’s awhile ago and it was bad timing for me. I just wish I wouldn’t have started it when I did because I set it aside and I often don’t pick books back up that I set aside😦 But hopefully your review will make me pick that one back up😉

    • Vasilly says:

      That’s so funny. I do the same thing to books. If I set it down, 90% of the time I’m not going to pick it back up. I always hope I will but I don’t, which explains a number of the unread books I own. I can’t wait to read Come Closer. Maybe I’ll start it tonight! =)

  2. Gavin says:

    That is a fabulous pile of books. What are you going to read first?

    • Vasilly says:

      I’m in the middle of High Tide in Tuscon, Flight, and The Creative Habit right now. Once I finish them I’m off to read The Magician’s Elephant since it’s due Friday. After that I’ll probably go by due date or interest if I can renew the books.

  3. Lightheaded says:

    This is why I envy first world countries a lot – public libraries!!! I mean we do have a library here somewhere (I don’t know exactly where it is in my city, poor me) but it’s not like libraries there😦 Oh well, that’s why I have to buy my books🙂

    I’ve read Cormac McCarthy’s No Country for Old Men. Faithful to the film. Uglies is one of my favorite series ever. And I hope to come up with a post on The Magicians within next weeks, fingers-crossed🙂 Enjoy your reading months!

  4. Shona says:

    I see that u have The Magicians in ur loot. I have so many good things abt this book. Also another one on my reading list is No Country For Old Men. Have fun reading🙂

  5. Julie P. says:

    Wow — that’s a lot of books. I think the Women who Eat book looks very interesting!

  6. Joanne says:

    I’ve been lusting after the Sesame Street book for awhile! Even now as an adult I find great entertainment/educational value in some of the Sesame Street skits, especially when they merge pop culture with learning (the Mad Men parodies are so funny.)

  7. Vasilly says:

    Lightheaded: Awww. Sometimes I take my public library for granted. Next time I’m grumbling about them not having a book I’ll remember to be thankful. Can’t wait to read your post on The Magicians.

    Shona: Thanks!

    Julie: I cannot wait to read it. I will post my thoughts.

    Joanne: I love Sesame Street. I haven’t seen the Mad Men parodies. Will go look them up on YouTube.

  8. Jodie says:

    Women who Eat is a great title (although that chip does have mayo on it and that is not right). The Heroines also looks cool, kind of a Thursday Next appeal, with fictional characters hitting real life.

  9. Bree says:

    Whoa Momma! That’s a lot of books checked out. I thought I was bad. You take the cake. Good luck!!!

  10. Kailana says:

    Lots of good looking books there! I have The Magicians out from the library right now, too.

  11. Kalanna says:

    So happy to find others who bring home piles of books with them. I love the idea of library loot. I’m still working through my old loot but will participate when I get a new pile! hehe

  12. Bethy says:

    Great idea! This week I have Freakonomics: A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything by Stephen J. Dubner and Steven D. Levitt, too many digital photography books to remember, and The Case Against the Global Economy & For a Turn Towards Localization edited by Jerry Mander and Edward Goldsmith.

Comments are closed.