Shelf Discovery Reading Challenge

shelf discoveryShelf Discovery Reading Challenge
November 1, 2009 -April 30, 1020

Julie over at Bookingmama came up with the great idea to host this challenge based on the book, Shelf Discovery by Lizzie Skurnick. The reading challenge is all about revisiting childhood favorites. The goal of the challenge is to read at least six of the books mentioned in Shelf Discovery. Doesn’t that sound easy?

Here’s my picks:

  1. The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg
  2. A Day No Pigs Would Die by Robert Newton Peck
  3. Are You There God? It’s me, Margaret by Judy Blume
  4. Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell
  5. Homecoming by Cynthia Viorst
  6. The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare
  7. The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken

Have you read any of your childhood favorites lately? If not, what is one you wouldn’t mind revisiting?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in reading challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Shelf Discovery Reading Challenge

  1. Julie P. says:

    Great list! Thanks so much for joining this challenge. It’s going to be a lot of fun reading all these classics.

  2. Pam says:

    I definitely have to get my list on. I have The Westing Game sitting on my shelf so that’s a start. The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler is also going on my list. It was one of my favorites!!!

  3. bermudaonion says:

    I love your list! I can’t wait for the challenge to start!

  4. Marie says:

    I love this challenge, and the idea of rereading some childhood favorites for it. Awesome!🙂 I continue to be too lazy to do challenges, but I applaud your efforts🙂

  5. Carrie K. says:

    I read From the Mixed-Up Files… aloud to my daughter a couple years ago – just as wonderful as the umpteen times I read it while in grade school. I also re-read Witch of Blackbird Pond last year – another of my very favorites.

  6. Michelle says:

    Great list! I’m really looking forward to this challenge.

  7. Nicole says:

    I’m also reading Island of the Blue Dolphins and the WItch of Blackbird Pond. Can’t wait to compare notes.

  8. galleysmith says:

    I’m seriously contemplating doing this challenge myself! I’m a fan of YA so it seems to fit in with what I’m most interested in🙂

  9. vivienne says:

    I shall have to look up this challenge. I have read two of the books on your list and loved them. The Wolves of Willoughby Chase and The Island of Blue Dolphins.

    You featured in my Friday Finds today.

  10. I may end up reading two or three bonus books at this point because they all look good. Especially Island of Blue Dolphins

  11. I wouldn’t mind reading The Phantom Tolbooth again. I remember watching the film version as a kid and then promptly forgot about it until I came across the book.

    Also, The Wishing Chair series by Enid Blyton was a staple of my childhood.

  12. Andi says:

    I haven’t read any of my childhood faves lately, though your list is getting me in the mood for some. Are You There God, It’s Me, Margaret? was always a favorite.

  13. Care says:

    I don’t think I’d heard of the Frankweiler book before I heard of this challenge so I’m curious. And I want to read Wrinkle in Time AND the Secret Garden.

  14. Bree says:

    I won this book and am looking forward to comparing my opinions to the authors. Good luck with the challenge.

  15. Vasilly says:

    Julie: Thanks! I can’t wait to start.

    Pam: If it’s your favorite, I can’t wait to read it!

    Bermudaonion: Thanks!

    Marie: Thanks. I’m pretty bad at challenges but I really wanted to try.

    Carrie: I can’t wait to read both books. I’m asking my girls to join me.

    Michelle: Thanks!

    Nicole: I loved Island of the Blue Dolphins. Can’t wait to compare notes.

    Galleysmith: I hope you join.

    Vivienne: Awww. Thanks.

    Robin: Don’t they? I’ve been thinking about reading more than the required six books too. I just might.

    DamnedConjuror: I’m going to look up The Wishing Chair series. The Phantom Tollbooth is one that I haven’t read though I know I should.

    Andi: I love that book! I’m hoping to get the old 70’s version that’s purple but I doubt it. =)

    Care. I haven’t read the Frankweiler book before either. The Secret Garden is one of my favorite books.

    Bree: Thanks!

Comments are closed.