What My Children are Reading

bearskinner

It started a few weeks ago when the weather in California got a little chilly, reminding me of fall’s upcoming arrival. I went to my library and checked out armfuls of book on fairy tales and American tall tales. My kids weren’t really fans of fairy tales and I was hoping to change that by showing them some of my favorite fairy tales by some of my favorite illustrators and writers.

Snow White translated from the German by Paul Heins. Illustrated by Trina Schart Hyman.Of all the illustrators whose work I have seen, Hyman is my absolute favorite. Her pictures are realistic and the viewer sees the light and darkness of the characters. I love the way the seven dwarves look in this translation. They each have their own face and expressions. Heins’ translation of the story is a great one and the story flows. My only gripe is that I didn’t care for the ending.

The Bearskinner retold by Laura Amy Schlitz. Illustrated by Max Grafe. The Bearskinner is the tale of a soldier who makes a deal with the devil to wear a bear’s skin for seven years. He cannot take the skin off or wash until the seven years are over. If the soldier manages to survive the seven years without killing himself, he would be rich for the rest of his life. This is such a creepy tale! When I first read the story, I didn’t think my kids would be able to handle it, but they have. This is one of my favorite Grimm’s fairy tales.

Jack and the Beanstalk retold by Steven Kellogg. The children’s librarian at my library introduced me to the works of Steven Kellogg since he’s one of her favorite illustrations. Jack and the Beanstalk quickly became a re-read in this family. There’s a Wolf at the Door retold by Zoe Alley. Illustrated by R.W. Alley. This is a re-read from earlier this year. This is a collection of several fairy tales: The Boy Who Cried Wolf, Little Red Riding Hood, The Wolf and Seven Little Goslings, and one more whichI forgot. This book is for anyone who like fairy tales, no matter your age. The

Three Little Pigs written and illustrated by Paul Galdone. This story was the first story my youngest, Avi, latched on to. We read the story and listened to the story on tape as read by the author. My son and I loved the ending.

What did your children read this week?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What My Children are Reading

  1. Joanne says:

    Your post made me realize how much I miss the books from when my kids were little🙂 This week one of my boys is reading a Tom Clancy, the other a Halo novelization. Not quite the fairy tales from when they were little (lol)

  2. Gavin says:

    You are always reminding me of great picture and story books. I am looking for books to add to the library at school and The Bearskinner is going on my list.

Comments are closed.