A few links

I know the title sucks but I’m having an off week. I can’t even get myself together enough to write a review or two. Anyway, here’s a few links for various blogs around the blogosphere:

  • Alyce at At Home with Books has a weekly feature called My Favorite Reads, highlighting books she read before she started blogging. This week’s pick is Nobody’s Fault by Patricia Hermes, a book that made a huge impact on her as a child. Don’t you just love those kinds of posts?
  • Recently Newsweek came up with a list of Fifty Books for Our Times. Amy at My Friend Amy came up with a great idea to for bloggers to read one book from the list and blog about their experience, telling readers whether or not they think the book should be on the list. Bloggers have been grabbing books off the list left and right. So if you haven’t choose a book yet, why don’t you go over and see what’s on the list? My pick: The Dark is Rising by Susan Coooper.
  • The Telegraph published a summer reading list for children. Written by children’s authors and critics there are some stellar picks on the list such as Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan, Laika by Nick Abadzis, A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L’Engle and How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff.
  • Alea at Pop Culture Junkie and Irish at Ticket to Anywhere came up with the I Dare You to Accept! Challenge. Friends dare others to do at least five of the ten things on their list. Given a deadline, if the challengee doesn’t complete the dare, they have to do whatever the challenger decides.  There are 12 challenegs goes on between bloggers and probably 12 more coming up within the next couple of days. So far bloggers have been challenged to watch fluff movies from the 80s, read plays, watch indie movies, and more. Interested and have someone you want to dare? Go on over to the blog, read the rules, and think of a dare!
  • Claire over at The Bookstore People wrote a great post called Why Won’t My Kids Read my Favorite Books? As a parent, I can confess to begging trying to get my daughter and sisters to read The Secret Garden or The Magician’s Nephew. Did I mention that they’re only in the 2nd and 3rd grade? Or that I just discovered these two books a few years ago myself?

So that’s it. Have a great weekend.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A few links

  1. Eva says:

    I received The Chronicles of Narnia for Christmas when I was 9 or 10, and I read them all straight through!🙂 I think Mom and I read The Secret Garden when I was the age of your kids. But we had lived in England, which probably made it more interesting!

  2. Juliann says:

    Great links – and a simple title works for me. Thanks

  3. heidenkind says:

    I don’t have kids, but when I was younger I read practically all my mom’s books. And my grandfather’s books. I was really a reading machine. But my mom never tried to get me to read her books–in fact, she told me not read them. Reverse psychology?

  4. Alyce says:

    I agree with heidenkind, I think that reverse psychology works. My son that’s in 3rd grade doesn’t want to read anything I suggest to him, but if I show any hesitation about letting him read something then he’ll probably it and anything else the author has written.

    Thanks for linking to the My Favorite Reads post!

  5. iliana says:

    Oh I really liked the link to the 50 Books for Our Times. I briefly glanced at it and quite a few books I’ve never even heard of. Have a wonderful weekend!

  6. Nymeth says:

    Sorry you’ve been having an off week, Vasilly😦

    I loved the Telegraph list!

  7. Rebecca says:

    I’ve been having an off 2 weeks, if that makes you feel any better.🙂 A few links is a good title. Straight and to the point!

    Great group of links, too. I had not made it down the GR list to Amy’s blog yet so I was excited to see that here. Good thing, too, since the books were already on 2nd readers and those were going fast! I signed up for Leaves of Grass, but my 2nd two choices were the one Amy is reading and the one you are reading. Leaves of Grass was already on my tbr list, plus I own it so that made that decision easy.🙂 What a strange list. The only other ones I had heard of I had read or were taken already. Most I had not heard of, including yours and Amy’s picks.

    I’m looking forward to the I Dare Challenges. Already updating my Netflix queue.🙂

  8. Marie says:

    Great links- thanks for sharing that terrific list!

Comments are closed.