Mondays- June 22

musing mondaysToday’s Musing Monday is about library browsing. . .

Do you restrict yourself on how many books you take out from the library at a time? Do you borrow books if you already have some out? Do you always reborrow books you don’t get to?

If you’ve ever seen any of my Library Loot posts on Thursdays you’ll know I am unable to put myself on restriction when it comes to library books. I don’t restrict myself, the library does that for me. I’ve  even manage to get around the library limit by using my kids’ library cards!

I go to the library several times a week, usually planning to only pick up the books that are on hold for me. Then I start browsing or I see a book that a blogger wrote good things about and I end up walking out of the library with bags of books instead of just an armful. If I have to take a book back to the library unread, I usually try to check it out again at a later time. There’s no cure for the too-many-library-books-checked-out-at-one-time disease and I don’t think I would want one anyway!

mailbox mondayMailbox Monday

I haven’t participated in this meme in a long time. Since I check out so many books from the library and post my loot most weeks, I don’t want readers thinking that the only reason I blog is to show off the books I receive. This Mailbox Monday post is different from the others I’ve ever posted. This post is to say “thank you” to every blogger I’ve either won a book from or generously sent me a book just because.

hatchette asian

Free Food for Millionaires by Min Jin Lee
Trail of Crumbs: Hunger, Love, and the Search for Home by Kim Sunee
The Fortune Cookie Chronicles: Adventures in the World of Chinese Food by Jennifer Lee
Transparency: Stories by Frances Hwang
A History of Asian Americans: Strangers from a Different Shore by Ronald Takaki

I won the Hatchette Book Group’s Asian Heritage Month giveaway from Terry over at Reading The Leaves a few weeks ago. I stumbled upon her blog months ago and have been a dedicated reader ever since. Terry has great taste in books and I love reading her thoughts on the books she’s read. The books featured in the Asian Heritage giveaway looked so great that I was determined to read them whether I won the giveaway or not.

123

Tanabata at In Spring it is Dawn sent me Vernon God Little by DBC Pierre. I won it months ago but we both forgot about it.

Caitlin from Unbridled Books kindly sent me In Hovering Flight by Joyce Hinnefeld. I’ve been wanting to read this for a while now. It doesn’t hurt that Ursula Hegi, one of my favorite authors ever, has a blurb on the front cover. I can’t wait to sit down with it. Thanks, Caitlin!

Jill at Fizzy Thoughts and I were talking about The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe when she offered to send me her copy after she finished reading it. That was so generous of her.

124

Heather from A High and Hidden Place threw a giveaway during the Twitter BEA party. I won a book of boxes. One of the books included in the box was Follow Me by Joanna Scott. I think Heather is to thank for all my luck in the weeks following winning her giveaway. It started an avalanche of books coming into my home.

As a child I used to watch The Borrowers cartoon on television. So when Chartoose from Bloody Hell, It’s a Book Barrage, (Don’t you love the name of her blog?), hosted a giveaway of The Borrowers complete series by Mary Norton, I signed up and won!

Patches of Grey by Roy L. Pickering Jr was won from Rebeca as Alvah’s Books. She wrote a passionate review for this book. Click on its title to read her review.

mcdonnell

Last but not least is the Hatchette Book Group Earth pack giveaway I won from the organizers of Dewey’s read-a-thon. Included in the box was Patrick McDonnell’s The Gift of Nothing. Thanks!

So that’s some of my Mailbox Monday for the last couple of weeks. I want to thank everyone for the books. I promise I am not signing up for any more giveaways until I read most of this stack!

Did any books come into your home last week?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in meme. and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Mondays- June 22

  1. Susan says:

    I won the Asian book giveaway, too. Can’t wait for them to arrive. Happy reading.

  2. Cheryl says:

    Wow, I couldn’t get through all those in a year!🙂

  3. bermudaonion says:

    Holy cow! You had books coming out of your ears last week. What fun!

  4. heidenkind says:

    You know I can’t get out of the library without an armload of books at the very least.🙂 I haven’t reached the limit, though–yet.

    The Katharine Howe book looks like it might be interesting.

  5. That’s a hugely wonderful pile you got! They have lots of fun looking covers too!

  6. Alyce says:

    What a great list of books! I really liked The Borrowers when I was younger too.

  7. shannanlee says:

    Wow, It looks like you won the book lottery. Enjoy your reads.

  8. That was a good lot. I like the covers of some!

    Monday whereabouts

  9. kay says:

    Some great reading you have ahead of you! The Asian Heritage giveaway looks particularly interesting!

  10. Bree says:

    Oh, I loved the Borrowers too. I tried to get my kids turned on to them when they were young but no go.

  11. congrats on all the lovely book wins. Happy reading.

  12. Jodie says:

    Just a quickie to let you know you won one of the prizes from my NHYA contest. Contact me with your address and I’ll send you your books.

  13. vivienne says:

    I think your library addiction is similar to mine. My hubby thinks that I should just go and work there. Not that I would get a lot done – all those books distracting me! The Borrowers – I have this.

Comments are closed.