Weekly Geeks and Bloggiesta

blogiesta

This week has gone by so fast. I can’t tell you what I’ve done or where I’ve been. I haven’t even read one adult read this week. Hopefully next week will be so much better for me. I signed up for Natasha’s Bloggiesta challenge that’s going on this weekend and starts tomorrow at 8 a.m. I plan on spending at least 20 hours working on 1330v.

  1. Writing my Nerds Heart YA decision post
  2. Writing my reviews for my Nerds Heart YA books
  3. Add tags to posts
  4. Write a Music Munday post for Kailana
  5. Write at least five reviews
  6. Create a Sunday Salon for the 21st
  7. Tally up my reviews and see how many I have
  8. Come up with a new regular weekly feature
  9. Write at least two short story reviews
  10. Consider writing a review policy
  11. Find out my blog’s grade at WebsiteGrader.com
  12. Re-write “About Me” page
  13. Get rid of both challenges pages
  14. Cleaned up my Google Reader

This week’s Weekly Geeks assignment goes hand-in-hand with Bloggiesta. The assignment is to list any booksΒ  that need to be reviewed and asked readers to ask questions about them. Here are some of the books I need to review:

  1. Where I live by Eileen Spinelli
  2. My Swordhand is Singing by Marcus Sedgwick
  3. Debbie Harry Sings in French by Meagan Brothers
  4. Peace, Locomotion by Jacqueline Woodson
  5. Ethel and Ernest by Raymond Briggs
  6. Miss Rumphius by Barbara Cooney
  7. The Screwed-Up Life of Charlie the Second by Drew Ferguson
  8. Satchel: The Life and Times of an American Legend by Larry Tye
  9. The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet by Reif Larsen
  10. Atmospheric Disturbances by Rivka Galchen
  11. The Unschooling Handbook by Mary Griffith

You guys will be doing me a huge favor by asking me questions about these books. Most are library reads and I’m trying to take back as many as I can read and reviewed.

Are you participating in either event this week? Do you have any books you want your readers to ask questions about?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Dewey's weekly geeks and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Weekly Geeks and Bloggiesta

  1. Frances says:

    That sounds a little too much like work to me. I hope it sounds like fun to you!πŸ™‚ I am feeling the summer lazies today.

    Miss Rumphius is a favorite book of mine, so in that spirit, let’s all pick a way that we can make the world a more beautiful place during the Bloggiesta festivities.

    Happy reading!

  2. Kailana says:

    Oh, yay, on Music Munday! I have to check on your day. Renay is supposed to do this Sunday and then Chris is supposed to do next, but with his computer issues he might not be able to. πŸ™‚

  3. Oh I’m not participating because (a) fear of failure and (b) you all need some people with time to be cheerleaders! :–) You have such an ambitious schedule. I’ll be cheering you on!

  4. claire says:

    Good luck and have fun during the Bloggiesta! I won’t be joining as I don’t have any backlogged reviews, and some friends are visiting. But I’ll sneak in to check on you participants.πŸ™‚

  5. Eva says:

    Does Peace, Locomotion live up to Locomoation?

    I’m joining the GLBT challenge that starts next month. Would you recommend Debbie Harry Sings in French for me to read? Why or why not?

  6. kay says:

    I am participating in the Bloggiesta too! I have written a long to-do list too, but it sounds like fun to meπŸ™‚

    I don’t know any of the books you’ve listed, but by hovering over the books’ links I’ve been curious about “My swordhand is singing”. I guess my question is really “basic” : is it as interesting as it seems to be? And, does it vary from other vampire stories you’ve read?

  7. vivienne says:

    I really don’t have time to participate in the Bloggiesta, as we have a carnival this weekend and Fathers Day on Sunday. I hope you all get loads of things done – my blog could really do with some time spent on it.

  8. looks like you have a lot planned for the Bloggiesta…good luck.

  9. Fern says:

    Okay, I have a question for you – why read My Swordhand is Singing? I attended a speech by Marcus Sedgwick a year or two ago and felt compelled to read some of his books, so I ploughed through two of them (only managed to finish one, and that’s only because it was short) and thought they were incredibly dull. My Swordhand is Singing was better but IMHO should still be patented as a cure for insomnia…are you as critical as me?πŸ˜‰

  10. Valentina says:

    I’m really curious about the Selected works of T.S. Spivet. It looks awesome and I think I’d like to read it, but it looks like it could be daunting as well, with all the side notes and diagrams. Was the story and the characters interesting to keep me going till the end?

  11. Good luck on your list and your reviews. I am now only 3 behind myself. We’ll see what the weekend and the Bloggiesta do about that. Hehe.

    Atmospheric Disturbances is going to be a tough one. The writing, the style, the subject are much more challenging than I thought and I am trying to figure out how to convey this properly.

    We’ll see. I’ll be keeping an eye out for yours to see what you thought.

  12. Sandra says:

    Glad you’re still able to participate to some extent this weekend. I’m working under some handicaps too but there’s no point in us overdoing it. I’ve done about 10 hours work now (I’m very slow) but if things fall apart now, I can be happy I did that much. Happy Bloggiesta.

    I have read Atmospheric Disturbances. I’m interested in what you thought of it. I’ll watch for your comments/review.

  13. Bree says:

    Are the crossed out items the things you completed during Bloggiesta? Congrats! What is your new weekly feature?

Comments are closed.