Lots of books and plenty of time

Last week was a great week for reading. I usually read a book a two a week but last week I read a total of ten books: four young adult, two middle school, two adult, and two picture books. I’ve been in the mood for young adult fiction so I checked out an armful of books from the library last week.

This is what I read last week:

  1. My Swordhand is Singing by Marcus Sedgwick
  2. Debbie Harry Sings in French by Meagan Brothers
  3. Ethel and Ernest by Raymond Briggs
  4. Into the Forest by Anthony Browne
  5. Bone Vol. 1: Out from Boneville by Jeff Smith
  6. Locomotion by Jacqueline Woodson
  7. Peace, Locomotion by Jacqueline Woodson
  8. Where I live by Eileen Spinelli
  9. The Great Paper Caper by Oliver Jeffers
  10. Say, Hello by Jack Foreman

This week I plan on reading:

  1. Grayson by Lynne Cox
  2. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows
  3. The Family Man by Elinor Lipman
  4. The Latent Powers of Dylan Fontaine – April Lurie
  5. The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
  6. Bone Volume 2 by Jeff Smith
  7. Bone Volume 3 by Jeff Smith
  8. Everyday Matters by Danny Gregory
  9. Full Dark House by Christopher Fowler
  10. The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet by Reif Larsen

I know it’s a lot of books but many of them can be read in one sitting. I’m also participating in the Summer Reading Blitz, which challenges readers to read 30 books in 30 days for the month of June. We’ll see if I can finish every one of these books by next week.

What are you reading this week?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in It's Monday, meme., Summer Reading Blitz. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Lots of books and plenty of time

  1. J. Kaye says:

    Mr. Linky is too slow in loading, so I moved your link to the actual post. I think I am going to start doing this on Mondays because the widget is too unstable.

  2. Bree says:

    Wow that’s a lot of books. Good luck getting them all done! You’ll only have 10 left to finish 30 in 30. Wahoo!

  3. heidenkind says:

    Well, right now I’m reading a romance novel called Indecent Proposal or Proposition or something like that. It’s indecent, that’s all that matters. Haha.😉 And after I finish that I’m planning on reading a book mjmbecky recommended to me.

  4. Mary says:

    I loved “Guernsey”. Hope you like it too.

  5. vivienne says:

    Wow – what an achievement. I am so impressed and hope you read as many this week. I have the Marcus Sedgwick one to read as well. I loved the Guernsey book too.

  6. Lisa says:

    That is an ambitious list you have there! Good for you! I had a good week last week but still only finished 3 and that’s a record for me! Seems something always comes up to take me away from my reading! Have a good week!

  7. Nan says:

    Wow! I’m so impressed with your reading!Enjoy your books this week.🙂

  8. Marie says:

    busy busy. I don’t know how you read so much! I should be getting the Guernsey book soon though.

  9. Kailana says:

    Oh, good reading week! 🙂 Good luck with your accomplishments this week.

  10. Gavin says:

    Great list of books, some I will add to my monster of a TBR list. Right now I’m reading Nemesis by Jo Nesbo, a fun break after several intense reads!

  11. Teddyree says:

    Holy cow, what an awesome week you had. Hope this week is just as good. I’m also looking forward to reading The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society!

  12. kay says:

    That’s a lot of reading!🙂 I don’t know most of these titles, but I’ve been curious about “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society”. I’ve read a lot during the 48hours challenge, and now I don’t know what to read. Pobabaly “Madapple”, “The Bone Garden” and “The Ghost writer”, since I have to get them back to the library soon!

  13. Rebecca says:

    Hey! I have an award waiting for you here: http://imlostinbooks.blogspot.com/2009/06/bookfriends-award.html

    Because you rock.🙂

  14. Louise says:

    Well….I also have an award🙂

    I have awarded you the Lemonade Award😉 Please share the love when you have time:

    http://louspages.blogspot.com/2009/06/lemonade-award.html

  15. iliana says:

    Wow, that’s a lot of books in one week! Hope you can meet your goal for the challenge!

    I just finished the Guernsey book and thought it was so sweet. I hope you’ll enjoy it.

  16. Frances says:

    Is there a better state of things than lots of books and plenty of time? I envy you the week ahead of you while I hold on just a bit longer until the 17th and summer freedom from employment. Maybe two weeks from now my reading life will look as promising as yours now. Think you will enjoy Guernsey. It was a happy surprise for me.

  17. Lu says:

    Very impressive!!

    You asked what book by De Lint you should start with. I just told Steph, I haven’t read them all, or even a lot of them! I’m not sure what real hardcore, completist De Lint fans will tell you, but I fell in love with him almost instantly after reading three books. I can’t remember which order I read them in, but I read one and went to the store and bought everything they had by De Lint the next day. They were:

    Dreams Underfoot (Short stories, set in Newford)
    The Onion Girl (also set in Newford)
    Waifs & Strays (YA Stories)

    I’ve also read:
    Yarrow (Okay, not amazing, but still interesting)
    The Mystery of Grace

  18. Stephanie says:

    I just purchased The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society in paperback so hope to get to that one soon!

  19. Joanne says:

    Oh I hope you enjoyed Ethel and Ernest! I adored this memoir. I’m really interested in Debbie Harry Sings in French – at first because I am a total Blondie fan, but after reading what it’s about I’m intrigued in the story as well. Great week of reading🙂

  20. Jodie says:

    Oo oo ‘The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society’ is so good – I have a review all written up about it to post later this week. Jump right in!

    Also I really need to get my hands on ‘Dylan Fontaine’. I want to read almost everything from NHYA.

Comments are closed.