Booking Through Thursday: Sticky

booking

“This can be a quick one. Don’t take too long to think about it. Fifteen book you’ve read that will always stick with you. First fifteen you can recall in no more than 15 minutes.”

  1. Locomotion by Jacqueline Woodson
  2. Bird by Zetta Elliot
  3. Tales of Outer Suburbia by Shaun Tan
  4. Daphne’s Book by Mary Downing Hahn
  5. All of Us: The Collected Poems by Raymond Carver
  6. Stones from the River by Ursula Hegi
  7. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
  8. East of Eden by John Steinbeck
  9. The Rights of the Reader by Daniel Pennac
  10. Homecoming by Cynthia Viogt
  11. Mothers Who Think edited by Camille Peri
  12. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
  13. Annie on my Mind – Nancy Garden
  14. The Babysitters Club series – Ann M. Martin

Every single one of these books have stayed with me whether I read them twenty years ago or two days ago. It surprised that half of the books are children’s books or young adults reads. I’ve also noticed that some of the recurring themes within a lot of the books are loneliness, family, and dreams. I cannot wait to read what books are on everyone else’s lists.

What’s on your list?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in meme.. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Booking Through Thursday: Sticky

  1. Ohhh the Secret Garden – good one! Great list!

  2. lisamm says:

    The Secret Garden is on my list too, and if I had thought of it, I would have added Stones from the River as well. But the list is up, and I will leave it ‘as is’ LOL. http://lisamm.wordpress.com/2009/06/04/sticky-booking-through-thursday/

  3. Jacqueline says:

    I was a Babysitter’s Club geek! Loved Of Mice and Men too. Here’s mine.

  4. MOG says:

    I forgot East of Eden. My daughters loved the Babysitters books.Thanks for visiting my blog.

  5. Jessica says:

    I absolutely loved The Babysitters CLub when I was a kid — great choice!

  6. Meghan says:

    I loved the Babysitters Club books too! Oh, and The Secret Garden was another favorite. I’m surprised to see Stones from the River on your list. We read that in my high school English class and I remember everyone hating it, but I hardly remember what the book was about. Perhaps I owe it a reread.

  7. Melissa W. says:

    haha! Babysitters’ Club! I did always love the Special Editions where they all when to Disney, or New York, or California or something….oh, and the Ski Trip one, that was hilarious.

  8. Nymeth says:

    Bird! Thank you for reminding me that I want to read that. Also, can you believe I’ve never read The Secret Garden? I’ve been meaning to for ages! This year, though…this year.

  9. JoAnn says:

    Another Steinbeck fan! I only included East of Eden,but could easily have listed a few more.

  10. 3m says:

    I have children’s books on my list, too. It’s amazing how they get so ingrained in your mind.

    http://1morechapter.com/2009/06/04/btt-sticky/

  11. heidenkind says:

    The only books on your list that I’ve read are Of Mice and Men, The Secret Garden, and The Babysitters’ Club (I love that you put that series on your list! ^_^). I have a lot of books on my list from when I a teenager or pre-teen, too. It’s really amazing how the books you read when you’re that age affect your tastes and attitudes.

  12. vivienne says:

    How bad am I. I have only read one on your list – Of Mice and Men. Perhaps I need to investigate the rest of your list.

  13. Kailana says:

    The Right’s of the Reader is one of the books that you blogged about that I can’t get. 😦

    I loved Of Mice and Men! I should do this one…

  14. Sandra says:

    Interesting list. I really enjoyed both Steinbeck books too. I may try Stones From a River since you like it that much. My list is up.

  15. Steph says:

    Great list! I think that if I do this one, I will also have to put the BSC on my list! I looooved those books so much when I was younger.

  16. Vasilly says:

    Jen:Thanks! It’s one of my favorite books.

    Lisamm: It’s funny that I haven’t read Stones from the River in years but it has stuck with me. It’s time for a re-read.

    Jacqueline: Of Mice and Men is so short but so powerful.

    MOG: I’ll be visiting more often.

    Jessica: Thanks!

    Meghan: Please reread it. The language is beautiful and the story is powerful. Hegi is one of my favorite authors.

    Melissa W: Those were some of my favorite editions!

    Nymeth: You have to read it !It’s such a great book.

    Joann: Steinbeck’s the best. So far East of Eden is my favorite book by him.

    3m: Reading as a child shapes you forever.

    Heidenkind: I agree.

    Vivienne: Yay!I would love to hear what you think of them.

    Kailana: I really to stop talking about books that you can’t get! =)

    Sandra: Stones from the River is a great book!I hope you try it.

    Steph: Me too! I don’t know if I would even be a reader if it wasn’t for them.

  17. Violet says:

    East of Eden ,The Secret Garden and The Babysitters Club series are on my wishlist. I need to get to them soon. Great List!!!

  18. Ladybug says:

    I can’t wait to listen to my audio book version of The Secret Garden.

  19. Frances says:

    I love how everyone has mentioned childhood “stickies.” The remembrance of what defined us as the earliest of readers. Books like The Secret Garden. Did anyone else have the necklace that came with one edition of the book? Thanks for sharing your great list! Happy reading!

Comments are closed.