10 fiction books for the summer

When summer hits the only thing about my reading that changes is the amount of books I actually read. Like most readers I read more during the summer. This summer I signed up for Molly’s Summer Vacation Reading Challenge, joined Andi for her personal challenge, Reading In Order, and also joined Shauna for her June challenge, 30 books in 30 days. Callapidder Days challenge, Spring Reading Thing, ends June 20th and I want to complete the books I signed up for. Between reading and keeping the kids busy, my summer is packed.

Here are ten books of fiction I’m looking forward to reading this summer:

1

Miles from Nowhere by Nami Mun. Mun’s debut novel takes place in 1980’s New York. The main character, Joon-Mee, is twelve years old when she runs away from home and lives the life of a runaway teen. The book gives the reader six years in Joon-Mee’s life.

Delicate Edible Birds by Lauren Groff. Andi at Estella’s Revenge recommended that I read Lucky Chow Fun, the first story in this collection of short stories. I read it and loved it.

2

The Knitting Circle by Ann Hood. Last year when I read Ann Hood’s memoir, Comfort, about the death of her young daughter, I feel in love with author’s voice. The Knitting Circle is a book about grief and trying to live after tragedy.

In Hovering Flight by Joyce Hinnefield. I found out about this book while on Twitter from fellow blogger, Wendy at Caribousmom.

The Angel of Forgetfulness by Steve Stern. This book has been sitting on my shelf for much too long. A fallen angel, his half-human son, a young woman named Keni, and a long-forgotten manuscript make up this story about love and memory.

3

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. Chris would probably seriously harm me if I don’t read one of his all-time favorite books soon. (Just kidding, Chris!)

Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout. You can never go wrong with a Pulitzer winner.

The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet by Reif Larsen. Meghan at Medieval Bookworm told me about this debut novel. A talented 12 year old hitchhikes across America. It’s more complicated than that, but still. . .

4

The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck. Steinbeck is one of my favorite authors of all time and I figured summer is the best time to Steinbeck.

Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in fiction, summer reading, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 10 fiction books for the summer

  1. Louise says:

    There are some really interesting books on your challenge lists for summer. I have The Time Traveller’s Wife here at home sitting on my shelf, where its been for at least a year. I don’t know why I haven’t gotten around to read it yet! Will look forward to your thoughts about it.

  2. Kailana says:

    Good luck with all that! I never make lists because I don’t follow them anyway!

  3. Christina says:

    You should totally read The Time Traveler’s Wife, and The Grapes of Wrath is on my nightstand right now just waiting to be read.

  4. suziqoregon says:

    Looks like a great list of books. I have TS Spivet. Hope to be able to get to it soon! It looks like a lot of fun.

  5. Nymeth says:

    Those are all books I want to read too! Well, except for The Time Traveler’s Wife. But only because I’ve already read it😛 And actually, I want to read it again, so scratch that.

  6. Steph says:

    It looks like you have a great roster! I also want to read Olive Kitteridge, and The Grapes of Wrath is in my TBR pile as well (I do love Steinbeck, so I really do need to get on this one). I read and reviewed The Time Traveler’s Wife earlier this year (my review contains spoilers, I think, because I assumed I was the last person on earth to read this one), and I felt pretty let down by it, but most people seem to love it. Also, I have mixed feelings about Lauren Groff having read Monsters of Templeton earlier this year as well, and I think she has a lot of talent but could use a more stringent editor!😉

  7. Lu says:

    You know, I started All Souls but something about the very first page put me off. I don’t know what it was. Definitely pick up Plague of Doves, it was such a great read.

  8. Lu says:

    Also, you’re in for a real treat with Time Traveler’s Wife, it’s one of my all-time favorites too. I’m looking to read The Grapes of Wrath this summer as well. Interested in doing a readalong??

  9. Lu says:

    It’s up to you, I’m pretty open for the next couple months. I just wiped out a big stack of TBR, thankfully!

  10. Vasilly says:

    Louise: I’ve heard some great things about the book and it’s been sitting on my shelf for a year now.I really want to read it soon.

    Kailana: I’m pretty bad at following lists but I’m determined this time. Almost half are from the library so I want them to go back read.

    Christina: I cannot wait to read them both.

    Suziqoregon: I love the inside of it. It’s probably going to be one of my June reads.

    Nymeth: I’ve heard so many great things about it. I feel like I’m one of the last on Earth to read it.

    Steph: I had a few problems with Monsters of Templeton also. Hopefully the short stories are much better. Lucky Chow Fun is a great story.

    Lu: I will be reading The Plague of Doves this summer.A readalong will be great!

  11. Becky says:

    I have plans to read Grapes of Wrath this June.🙂 Is the 30 Books in 30 Days a challenge open to others? If it is, I’d love to sign up🙂

  12. JoAnn says:

    I loved Olive Kitteridge! Steinbeck is one of my favorites, too. Last year I reread Of Mice and Men and The Red Pony. Hope to get to The Grapes of Wrath one of these days.

  13. Lu says:

    June 7th sounds great!! Can’t wait🙂

  14. Jill says:

    I hope you enjoy Olive Kitteridge – I really loved it. I have the T.S. Spivet book on my summer reading list too.

  15. Carrie K. says:

    You’ve got some great books ahead of you this summer!

  16. Jill says:

    ooooh, you’ve got some great books on your list! I absolutely loved The Time Traveler’s Wife, but I know a lot of people who don’t like it at all. I’ll be interested in seeing what you think about it.

  17. claire says:

    Great summer list! I did in some ways enjoy The Time Traveler’s Wife even though the writing was quite unremarkable. Olive Kitteridge and Grapes of Wrath are on my wishlist, also TS Spivet. I just acquired East of Eden though, so I’ll be getting to that first before Grapes.. Happy summer reading!!

  18. Bree says:

    Wow – 30 books in 30 days! That’s amazing. Good luck finishing that one! I could maybe do 30 Magazines in 30 days. Which now that I think about it maybe I should try that in July as I probably have 30 magazines that I haven’t read from this past year. Or maybe 30 YA books of the smallest size in 30 days. More likely my speed would be 30 brochures in 30 days. LOL

  19. Pingback: Sunday Salon: Reading events « 1330v

  20. Joanne says:

    Lots of great looking summer reading! I much preferred Delicate Edible Birds over Monsters of Templeton. I cannot wait to read TS Spivet – looks like a gorgeous book.

  21. Marie says:

    I”ve really gotta read Olive Kittredge too. Really really!🙂

  22. Rebecca says:

    These are all wonderful choices! Most of them are on my TBR list, but not The Knitting Circle. It looks interesting though! Thanks for the list, that is fun!

Comments are closed.