It’s Monday, here’s some memes

mondayI started reading so many books last week that I ony finished one. This week is starting out great since I read and finished a book yesterday.

Last week I read: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I finally gave in to all the hype on the blogisphere and read it. What a great book!

So far this week I read: Bones of Faerie by Janni Simner.

This week’s reads are:

  1. Moby Dick by Herman Melville. I’ve already started reading it and so far I’m enjoying it.
  2. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society by Mary Ann Scaffer  Annie Barrows. This is a book filled with great characters.
  3. One short story collection. I found out that it’s unofficially National Short Story Month so I’m going to start on one of the many collections that’s been collecting dust on my shelves.

Hopefully I’ll read more than this pitiful amount this week.

musing-mondaysMusing Monday

How many books (roughly) are in your tbr pile? Is this in increasing number or does it stay stable? Do you ever experience tbr anxiety in the face of this pile? (question courtesy of Wendy)

At last count a couple of months ago, I had close to 200 unread books on my shelves. I know it’s a small number compared to others but it feels so huge to me. Since I put myself on a book-buying ban two months ago, I’m glad to say the only books that have come into my home have been gifts, won from giveaways, or I’ve used my paperbackswap credits to get.

Do I experience anxiety? Yes. I try not to feel too bad because I have a rule when it comes to buying books. I only buy books if the library doesn’t have it or I’ve read it already and know I’m going to reread it. My library has a great selection of books but since book bloggers get a lot of books around the time of publication, well my shelf space has gotten a lot smaller.

I’ve joined several challenges in hopes of reading from my TBR shelves. So far this year I’ve only read about seven books from my shelves and my goal is thirty. If I don’t reach my goal, I’m happy to give away the difference.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in meme.. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to It’s Monday, here’s some memes

  1. J. Kaye says:

    Ugh! I am going to have to read “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins! Everyone says it lives up to all the hype. Gotta read it…lol!

  2. vivienne says:

    I have ordered the Hunger Games and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel society from the library. I can’t cope with everyone talking about them and being the only one who has not read them.

  3. Nymeth says:

    I’ve been in the mood for short stories. I think I’ll tackle some collections soon too.

    My TBR pile definitely makes me anxious. But I also love being surrounded by unread books and the infinite possibilities they offer.

  4. Lisa says:

    You’re right, Guernsey is filled with great characters. I was reluctant to read that one, but was surprised by how much I liked it!

  5. caite says:

    another thumb up for Guernsey!

    a TBR pile should not be a cause for anxiety, but a reminder of future pleasure.

  6. Mary says:

    Ditto J. Kaye on the Collins book. Also, “Guernsey” was one of my top reads of 2008. Have a great week reading!

  7. Maree says:

    Don’t feel too bad _ I only finished one book last week.
    Happy reading!🙂

  8. Yvonne says:

    I joined reading challenges for the same reason. It’s worked out pretty well so far.

  9. iliana says:

    Ooh I didn’t know it was short story month (even if unofficially!). That’s great. I was doing so well with reading short stories and that’s another thing that I’ve sort of tapered off in the past month but I’m hoping to get back to reading them. I still have lots of great Tin House issues waiting for me thanks to you🙂

  10. Vasilly says:

    J. Kaye: You’ll love it! I haven’t meet one person who hasn’t yet!

    Vivienne: I can’t wait to see what you think of the two books. Happy reading!

    Lisa: That is so good to hear.

    Caite: I totally agree. I’ll try better to take more pleasure in it.

    Mary: Thanks!

    Maree: Happy reading!

    Yvonne: I just don’t have an interest in most of the challenges I signed up for so far. I think I’m just going to work on the ones I’m interested in for now.

    Iliana: I really need to start reading the collections on my shelves. I’m going to try this month.

Comments are closed.