Sunday Salon: I have no idea what to call this post

Right now it is late afternoon and there is little noise in my house. The kids are all drawing or reading and I am getting on the computer for the second time today. Usually I’m on all day but I needed a break. Earlier I was at the library researching books for one of my classes. I was only suppose to check out two books for the project but instead went overboard and brought home an armful  of books. Oh well.

I just finished Bones of Faerie by Janni Lee Simner. I started it this morning and spent most of the day reading it for this month’s  Well-Read Ladies book club selection.  Every month we read books from different genres and write notes on our group blog for discussion. This month was young adult and next month for our classics pick is John Steinbeck’s The Grapes of Wrath. I cannot wait! It’s on plenty of my challenges lists.

Speaking of reading challenges, I’ve noticed that I’m not paying much attention to the challenges I signed up for. I’ve only finished two challenges this year, the Essay Reading Challenge and Young Readers Challenge. I am paying attention to the Spring Reading Thing Challenge though. When I signed up I swore I would read at least eighteen of my unread books or give the difference away. I can change the list anytime I want to but not the number. The challenge ends June 20th so I’m still hopefully I can hit eighteen. Since Bones of Faerie is one of my own books, it’s the first book I finished for the challenge. 17 to go. . .

Just when I was thinking of giving up most of my challenges, I found of that the brilliant  Maggie over at MaggieReads is hosting her annual Southern Reading Challenge. When I think of summer I think of this challenge. The challenge is from May 15th to August 15th and you only have to read three books. I had to join one more challenge! As usual I went overboard, picking more than three books but I am going to read at least three. Here’s a list of the books I’m interested in reading:

  1. Mudbound by Hilary Jordan.
  2. One Writer’s Beginnings byEudora Welty
  3. A  Death in the Family by James Agee
  4. Gods in Alabama by Joshilyn Jackson
  5. All Over But the Shoutin’ by Rick Bragg
  6. A Lesson Before Dying by Ernest Gaines
  7. A Summons to Memphis by Peter Taylor
  8. Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen
  9. The Wednesday Letters by Jason F. Wright

Now it’s time for me to get off and get the kids ready for school tomorrow. After that I plan on curling up with The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society and finishing it before tomorrow.

Have a great week.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in southern reading challenge, Spring Reading Challenge, Sunday Salon, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sunday Salon: I have no idea what to call this post

  1. claire says:

    Good luck on the challenges! I seem to just go ahead and read whatever right now, not really following my original challenge lists. And then I just try to fit these reads in my existing challenges, so that they count at least. He he.

  2. vivienne says:

    Thanks for sharing the Southern Reading Challenge. I looked at your list and saw there were some books on there that I love, so I might have to join too.

  3. Kailana says:

    haha, another challenge, huh? Well, good luck on it. As long as you have fun, that’s all that matters, right? Happy reading. 🙂

  4. Nymeth says:

    Aaaaah! I really didn’t want to join more challenges, but Maggie’s is one I have a special attachment to. It was one of my first ever! What to do, what to do.

  5. raidergirl3 says:

    I forgot I wanted to read A Death in the Family, and I’ve seen The Wednesday Letters a few times already and it looks good. Arg.
    Great looking list.

    hmm, maybe I should try a Joshilyn Jackson book, too?

  6. iliana says:

    I’ve not been paying much attention to my challenges either but I can’t help but want to join Maggie’s. I’ve got Garden Spells and Gods in Alabama also as potentials! I’m still working on my list though.

  7. iwriteinbooks says:

    Oh, your list is great! I think I may go overboard on this one, too. I’m trying to decide on a third and was contemplating The Help but I think I may have to pick a few instead of just one. Good luck on staying out of challenges!

Comments are closed.