Sunday Salon

sunday-salon2After participating in last week’s read-a-thon, I just knew that I would be on a reading roll. I fantasized I would be reading book after book. I would be unstoppable. . . It did not happen. Instead after the read-a-thon,  I didn’t finish even one book last week.I was so tired, it wasn’t until Thursday that I felt like myself. I’ll plan better for the next event in October.

I have a ton of books due next week that I would really like to read. I’m a little addicted to my library’s holds system and it doesn’t help that I can put books on hold any time of the day. So I’m hoping to read and finish:

  1. A Curse as Dark as Gold by Elizabeth C. Bunce
  2. The Seance by John Harwood. I’ve already started it and love it so far.
  3. A Fine and Private Place by Peter S. Beagle
  4. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Already started it and in awe of Collins.

Kailana and I are having a read-a-long together and are reading Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan and Drood by Dan Simmons. We’re hoping to be on chapter six of Lanagan and twelve of Simmons by this Saturday. Feel free to join us.

I also have to start reading Moby Dick for class. Thank goodness I have three weeks to finish it and write an essay. So that’s it for this week. I better go and get started on my books.

Has the read-athon affected your reading? What are you reading this week?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. Christina says:

    It seems the read-a-thon has everyone a little down. I keep asking “where did everybody go?”.

    Enjoy your books!

  2. Amanda says:

    I loved The Hunger Games. Collins way exceeded my expectations there.

    I wish I could join you guys for both Tender Morsels and Drood. Unfortunately, I”m already in the middle of several books that need to go back to the library, and Drood has a backlog of holds so I won’t even be able to get ahold of it for weeks. Ah well.

  3. I really liked Drood. I hope you and Kailana are enjoying it!

    Right now I’m finishing up The Game by Laurie King, then it’s onto Locked Rooms by the same author. I want to have the entire series re-read before the new LRK book comes out on Tuesday. I should be able to do it if I don’t have too many distractions today.

  4. claire says:

    I certainly feel a little burnt out but fighting it. Steph and I are preparing to read 2666 in May. Are you still up for it? No pressure, though.😀

  5. Frances says:

    I was also wondering where everyone is this week. Readathon hangover I think. Might chime in for Drood because it would be fun to read with others. Also moving on the new Laurie King like Ruth. Going to an author event with her here in DC next weekend. Very excited.

    Today I am finishing The Heart is a Lonely Hunter. Happy reading!

  6. Vasilly says:

    Christina: Thanks!

    Amanda: Ah! Maybe next time.

    Ruth: Good luck on finishing.

    Claire: I’m definitely up for it.

    Frances: I hope you and Ruth have fun. Please join in if you can! Happy reading.

  7. Debbie Nance says:

    Yes, I’ve found blogworld strangely quiet this week as well.

    And I haven’t read much this week. Best read was The Housekeeper and the Professor. Very subtle story.

  8. Memory says:

    I limped along this week too. I only finished a couple of books, and neither was very long. Grrr to those post-read-a-thon blues!

  9. Lissa says:

    Hey Vasilly! I have an award for you on my blog. You can see it here: http://lissaslongyarn.blogspot.com/2009/04/i-got-awards.html

  10. Chris says:

    Oh no! You have to read Moby Dick? I’m sorry, lol. I just hated that book…couldn’t do it.

    I think we’re all kind of dragging from the readathon. I don’t know if there is any proper planning, lol. This is my third time doing it and I feel the same way after it every time.

    I understand your love/hate relationship with the library’s hold system. I have 12 books out from the library right now with three more to pick up tomorrow!! I’ll never read all of those, lol. Good luck with yours!

    • Vasilly says:

      I’m still trying to figure out how I’m going to read all of that. Hopefully listening to it on audio will help though I do have to have excerpts from the book for my essay.

      Maybe I should take the week after the read-a-thon off next time! I’ll probably need a break from school then.

      I can’t wait to see what you bring home from the library. Happy reading!

  11. I didn’t finish a book until Thursday either! Time just disappeared. I want to read Drood but it’s pretty long. How much are you reading a day? Would love to join you!

    • Vasilly says:

      We would love to have you! We’re going by chapters. We’re trying to read to chapter 12 by Saturday. That’s 202 pages this week, about 28 pages a day.

  12. Gavin says:

    I know what you mean about library holds. I end up bringing home books and then have to turn them back in:( I can’t wait to hear what you think of Tender Morsels. The Seance looks interesting.

  13. vivienne says:

    I like the sound of The Seance – just my kind of book.

  14. Shanra says:

    Hmm… I managed to finish a few books on Tuesday, but zip since then. I was a cheerleader, though, so that rush of reading simply passed by.

    Glad to hear you seem to be getting past the feeling, though! (And Moby Dick is on my list of books to avoid at all costs. What snippets I caught of it have always scared me off. Good luck with reading that!)

  15. J. Kaye says:

    I am going to have to read “The Hunger Games”. I don’t have time this year, but I will next year.

  16. Anna says:

    I’ve heard so many good things about The Hunger Games. I’m going to have to pick up a copy.

  17. Rebachin says:

    Um, I just noticed that with wordpress you can reply to a specific comment.
    That is so much cooler than blogger.

  18. Rebachin says:

    Oooo, Drood.
    I actually have that on audio, but haven’t started listening to it… I like to volley back and forth btwn long and short reads and I am just finishing up 3 longish reads.
    BUT, if you guys’ll be chatting about it, I could always join in the party.

  19. Kailana says:

    haha! I was a cheerleader in the read-a-thon, but I didn’t read, and I still am hardly posting/reading. I guess I can’t blame it on that!

    I think I am going to start Tender Morsels today! And, I really need to read the chapters in Drood that I have left to read. Did we really decide on 12? Where did I get 15 from. I need to write things down!

  20. iliana says:

    The two times I’ve participated in the read-a-thon I don’t think it affected my reading but I definitely needed time away from the computer. All the update posting and visiting all at once just wore me out!🙂 I missed the read-a-thon this time but hopefully I’ll join in next time.

  21. Megan says:

    I’m so anxious to read The Hunger Games, but now that I’ve heard it’s a trilogy I kind of want to wait until they are all published. A friend of mine absolutely loved it. I’ll be waiting to hear what you think, though! Perhaps you will change my mind about waiting.

  22. Mary says:

    I’ve read a lot of good reviews for The Hunger Games. Enjoy!

  23. Care says:

    I’ve always wanted to read Moby Dick (but I think it’s only so I can say so…) Perhaps you have inspired me to pick this up next? We’ll see…

  24. Jennifer B. says:

    Vasilly, I drew your name as the winner for Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson on my blog. Please contact me by email so that I can get it mailed out to you.

    Jennifer

    kairilily at yahoo dot com

Comments are closed.