Sunday Salon: Read-a-thon Wrap-Up Post

sunday-salon1The read-a-thon is over once again until October. Bloggers have happily put down their books and are sleeping right now. Most of us can finally smile and say we read something on our unread shelves and know we have a ton of books to return to our libraries. I want to thank Trish, Nymeth, and Wordlily for taking on the massive task of organizing the read-a-thon in Dewey’s memory.

The Read-a-thon is one of the events I look forward to every year. A bunch of bookworms getting together for the daunting task of reading as much as they can within a 24-hour period while others cheer us on is crazy but lots of fun.

The books I read were:

  1. Without Blood by Alessandro Barrico – adult fiction
  2. Topdog/Underdog by Suzan-Lori Parks – play
  3. Moxy Maxwell does not love Stuart Little – Peggy Gifford -middle school
  4. Houndsley and Catina by James Howe – kids
  5. Queens by  Michael Cunningham – photography
  6. Emily by Michael Bedard – children’s
  7. The Journey by Sarah Stewart – children’s
  8. The Plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci – graphic novel
  9. The Gardener by Sarah Stewart – children’s
  10. Are you ready to play outside? by Mo Willems – children’s
  11. Louise, the Adventures of a Chicken by Kate DiCamillo – children’s
  12. Oscar and the Frog: A book about growing by Geoff Waring – children’s
  13. Pajama Day by Lynn Plourde – children’s
  14. The Money Tree by Sarah Stewart – children’s

What I didn’t finish but will this week:

  1. Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
  2. The History of Love by  Nicole Krauss

I learned that after reading an intense book like the play Topdog/Underdog, it’s best to have something easy and fun to read like a children’s book. After reading the play, I couldn’t read for an hour or two. I was still so caught up the story.

The books I enjoyed the most were Topdog/Underdog, Without Blood, Queens, and The Plain Janes. All four stayed with me after I finished them and it was kind of hard to separate myself and go to a new read.

My kids were a part of the read-a-thon also. I read children’s books to them between my own reads. One of my little sisters joined the read-a-thon with me and reread Charlotte’s Web. I plan on giving her something for joining me without me having to ask her. I just mentioned the read-a-thon and she was game.

As usual I was a cheerleader and a reader. It was great doing both jobs, reading as much as I could while cheering other readers on. I added a ton of new blogs to my reader.

The integration of Twitter into the read-a-thon was perfect. It helped cheerleaders and readers encourage participants throughout the event. It also made cheerleading easier since cheerleaders didn’t have to just go to individual blogs.

My favorite part of the read-a-thon surprisingly was not the reading but the cheerleading. Cheerleading is an addiction you still find yourself doing the day after the read-a-thon. But it was great to cut into the piles of books I had for the read-a-thon.

Once again I have to thank Nymeth, Wordlily, and Trish for taking the reins and hosting this great event for the blogging community.

Dewey, thanks for being the greatest.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Readathon, Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Sunday Salon: Read-a-thon Wrap-Up Post

  1. Gavin says:

    You readers are amazing! Congratulations and get some rest.

  2. bermudaonion says:

    You had a fantastic read-a-thon!

  3. Kristen says:

    You sure did read a lot! One of these years I’ll have no kid stuff going on and will be able to play along too!

  4. Jessi says:

    Wow, you got a lot of reading done! Way to go!🙂

  5. Nymeth says:

    Thank you, Vasilly. You were GREAT.

    I think cheerleading is at the very least as much fun as reading. I’m so glad you had a great time doing both!

  6. Shanra says:

    Cheerleading is an addiction you still find yourself doing the day after the read-a-thon.

    That is so true! And you got so much reading done on top of cheerleading! That’s amazing!

    It’s so sweet of you wanting to get your sister something for joining the Read-a-Thon on her own. I hope she had a blast too!

  7. Care says:

    I applaud you! and I didn’t nap today (yet?) – I’ve read 100+ more pages in my book. 🙂

  8. Chris says:

    Ummm WOW! A cheerleader, reader, and mom and STILL read 14 books! That’s incredible Vasilly😀 It was a blast, wasn’t it?

  9. JLS Hall says:

    What an accomplishment! I don’t think I could ever spend a whole day (and night!) reading, even though I really love to read. Hope you got lots of sleep today!

  10. Christina says:

    You’re incrediable, Vasilly. I cannot even imagine being a reader and a cheerleader for the whole read-a-thon.

    Cheerleading is an addiction you still find yourself doing the day after the read-a-thon.

    So true. I loved how it’s forced me to become a better commenter. I’m probably the worst commenter, but the read-a-thon was a great way to get myself to leave everyone in my Google Reader a comment.

  11. Wonderful variety of books! Watching and cheering you guys on was so much fun yesterday. I can’t wait for the next readathon so I can participate as a reader.

  12. sumthinblue says:

    wow, that’s a lot of reads. congratulations! it was my first time to join the read-a-thon, will definitely join again next time🙂

  13. Molly says:

    and you were an AWESOME cheerleader!!

    Great reading totals — with lots of variety. I love the fact that you and your sister re-read Charlotte’s Web — what a great idea.

    Do you return to school now? If so, I wish you a great week as you get back into the routine.

  14. Kailana says:

    14 books is great! I am already adding books to my wish list and you are the first blog I have visited today… It’s going to be a long day! lol

  15. Maree says:

    Great going. And I heartily second your last comments.🙂

  16. Ms Alex says:

    Hi,

    Just catching up on my blog reading, seriously impressed with what you managed to read. Hoping I’ll be able to join the next read-a-thon.🙂

    Ms Alex

Comments are closed.