Reading for a Good Cause

24readathonWith the start of Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-thon less than a week away, I thought it might be a good idea to start writing my various posts for the big event.

Chris at Stuff as Dreams Are Made Of recently wrote a post about the charity he will be sponsoring during the read-a-thon. So I’m stealing the idea to tell you about the charity I’m sponsoring.

This year I joined The Year of  Reader challenge. The purpose of the year-long challenge is for bookworms to sponsor literary charities through the books they read. You can have others sponsor you or donate yourself. One of the charities I’m sponsoring is 826national.org.

In 2002 author Dave Eggers opened 826Valencia. The purpose of the organization is:

assist students ages six to eighteen with their writing skills, and to help teachers get their classes excited about writing. Our work is based on the understanding that great leaps in learning can happen with one-on-one attention, and that strong writing skills are fundamental to future success.

Currently there are seven chapters of 826 in Valencia, California; Los Angeles, Boston, Seattle, Chicago, Ann Harbor, and Brooklyn. All seven are under the umbrella known as 826National.

The chapters offer tutoring, field trips, and workshops  in things like  screenwriting, SAT prep, comic book writing, and more.  All services are free for the kids that come in. I wish this organization was around when I was growing up.

Since I am sponsoring two charities this year, I alternate between the two every month. This month it’s 826’s turn. As usual for every book I read, I donate $1.50 to that month’s charity. I don’t have a goal as to the specific amount to donate, but so far this month I’ve read 20 books. I hope to double that amount from now until the end of the read-a-thon Sunday. We’ll see.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in 2009 challenges, challenges, Readathon, Young Readers. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Reading for a Good Cause

  1. Jessi says:

    I can’t participate in the ‘thon this time (I’ll be doing The Great Urban Race in Atlanta), but 826National is a great charity. I’m looking forward to visiting The Brooklyn Superhero Supply Co. when I go to NYC this summer.🙂 Good luck with the reading!

  2. iliana says:

    What a great idea for the read-a-thon. I don’t think I’m going to be able to participate this go around but we’ll see. Now the good part comes and you get to plan which books to have on hand for the 24 hour reading extravaganza🙂

  3. marie says:

    good luck with your challenges- great idea for a read a thon!🙂

  4. Thank you for the compliment! Yeah I was more excited about the read-a-thon earlier in the week, now all I can think about is sleeeeeeep lol. Good luck!

  5. Cindy S. says:

    Thanks for leaving me a comment on my blog. I won’t be taking part in the read a thon this time round. Its a busy weekend with my son’s birthday party. Next time. Good luck to you. Can’t wait to hear how you did.🙂

  6. Joseph says:

    Good luck to you too! See you at the “finish line”.

Comments are closed.