Sunday Salon: Spring is here!

sunday-salonLast Sunday night I started reading East by Edith Pattou.  I read so many great reviews from fellow bloggers about the book and then my English professor recommended the book to my class.  So far she’s recommended The Book Thief, The Graveyard Book, and The Book of Lost Things. All three I’ve already read. Why am I the only person  in class who write the titles down? I cannot pass up a book recommendation.

So I started East after the kids went to bed and stayed up topattou1 about 1 a.m. reading. East is based on the Norwegian fairy tale called East of the Sun, West of the Moon. One night an enchanted polar bear comes to the home of a young girl and her family. He asks if the girl would live with him in exchange for good health and money to come to her family. She agrees and off the two leave.  Filled with adventures and amazing characters, it’s  a great read for readers of all ages.

I finished East the second I woke up Monday morning. I finished it and immediately started on the last volumes of the Fables series. I sat and read six volumes, occasionally coming up for air and snacks. Now if only I can read this well during the read-a-thon!

I want to describe Bill Willingham’s Fables to you but I can’t. I can tell you what it’s not. It’s not a modern retelling of fairy tales like Snow White, The Big Bad Wolf, Rose Red, Prince Charming . . . The setting is modern-day New York City in a section just for them called Fabletown. And happily ever after is for the birds. Anyway. . .

willinghamMy favorite volume of the series is volume #10: The Good Prince. This is Flycatcher’s  a.k.a. The Frog Prince story. After centuries of denial he finally deals with his grief over the loss of his wife and children. You see Flycatcher’s transformation throughout the book. At first he’s drawn like he normally was throughout the series then you see a gradual change. When I’m off my book-buying ban I will be buying this volume.

When I finished reading Monday, I felt like I had came back from my childhood. With so many obligations it’s so rare for me to be able to sit and read without worrying about the other things I need to do. I felt so lucky.

Right now I’m in the middle of about six books. I know that’s crazy. I’m currently reading:

  1. The Book of the Unknown by Jonathon Keats. It’s a short story collection and I’m almost finished.
  2. Vintage Hughes – Langston Hughes. I’m in love with this book. It’s really short and contains some of Hughes’ best poems.
  3. All of Us: The Collected Poems by Raymond Carver. I’m so happy that with all the great feedback from Carver’s poems I’ve been posting.
  4. Drood by Dan Simmons. I just checked this out of my library and it’s going pretty well.
  5. Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass. No matter how much I read about slavery, it’s still shocking the horrors that so many people endured.
  6. The Asthma Sourcebook by Francis V. Adams. I’m trying to learn as much as I can about asthma because of my little one, Ollie.

I plan on finishing every book this except Drood.  Kailana and I are having a read-along with Drood, so feel free to join us. We’re reading the first ten chapters this week.

This week I read (Yeah I know. I’m packing a lot into one post):

  1. East – Edith Pattou
  2. Fables 6 – Bill Willingham
  3. Fables 7- Bill Willingham
  4. Fables 8 – Bill Willingham
  5. Fables 9- Bill Willingham
  6. Fables 10 – Bill Willingham
  7. Fables 11 – Bill Willingham
  8. Princess Peepers – Pam Calvert
  9. Planting the Trees of Kenya – Claire A. Novola
  10. Hooray for Reading Day – Margery Cuyler

How was your week and what are you reading?

Gravy

No other word will do. For that’s what it was. Gravy.
Gravy, these past ten years.
Alive, sober, working, loving and
being loved by a good woman. Eleven years
ago he was told he had six months to live
at the rate he was going. And he was going
nowhere but down. So he changed his ways
somehow. He quit drinking! And the rest?
After that it was all gravy, every minute
of it, up to and including when he was told about,
well, some things that were breaking down and
building up inside his head. “Don’t weep for me,”
he said to his friends. “I’m a lucky man.
I’ve had ten years longer than I or anyone
expected. Pure gravy. And don’t forget it.”

Raymond Carver, from All of Us: The Collected Poems

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Sunday Salon: Spring is here!

  1. Nymeth says:

    I’m really glad to heat you enjoyed East😀 And The Good Prince is one of my very favourite Fables books too. Btw, it sounds like your English professor has fantastic taste in books!

    Fingersmith by Sarah Waters took me most of the week to read, but it was so worth it. What an amazing book.

  2. Molly says:

    I have not heard of the Fable books before, but I think I am going to check out the first one and perhaps add it to my pile of 24-hour read-a-thon books.

  3. debnance says:

    Two more books added to my wishlist….I’ve not come up with a definite list for Read-a-Thon, so Fables sounds like a wonderful possibility. And how is it that I’ve never heard of East?

  4. vivienne says:

    I am confused because East sounds like a similar story to North Child by Edith Pattou, which I have. Are they the same book or do they follow on from each other. i will have to check it out now, as I hate not knowing.

  5. Vasilly says:

    Vivienne: I looked it up. East and North Child are the same books. East is the U.S. version.

    Deb: I just heard of East myself a few weeks ago. I haven’t came up with my definitive list yet but I’m almost there.

    Molly: I hope you enjoy it!

    Nymeth: I just added Tipping the Velvet to my TBR list. My professor has some great taste!

  6. Priscilla says:

    I look forward to hearing your thoughts on Drood. That seems to be getting a lot of good reviews. Happy reading!

  7. claire says:

    Lol. My Sunday Salon post is packed with lists too! And you know, you just made me put the Langston Hughes collection and the Raymond Carver, both, on my must-purchase list!😀

  8. Gavin says:

    Lists are good! I’m glad you liked East, it is one of my favorites. I’m going to pick up two of the Fable series form the library tomorrow or Tuesday. Have a great week!

  9. Michelle says:

    East sounds really good. I love books that keep me up past my bedtime.

  10. Vasilly says:

    Priscilla: Thanks!

    Claire: I hope you enjoy reading the two.

    Gavin: Happy reading!

    Molly: Thank you!

    Aerin: You’re the best!

    Michelle: You would love it.

  11. Kailana says:

    April is starting off as a very slow reading month for me. Too much other stuff going on. I hope to finish a few books tonight, so fingers crossed April starts to pick up!

    I really need to get volumes 10 and 11 in the Fables series…

  12. iliana says:

    I typically only like to have 3 or 4 books going at the same time but it seems like lately I’m adding more to the pile!

    I’m enjoying the Carver poems you’ve posted. I really haven’t read anything by him so it’s a good intro!

  13. Sandra says:

    I have several books going at once-I change them as the mood strikes. I really enjoyed Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, I’m sure you will too. Love the Carver poem. I’ve never read him but it seems as if everyone else has.

  14. Carl V. says:

    I’m so glad you are enjoying the Fables series so much, it is such a fun series. I enjoy the art and the story so much. My only disappointment is that James Jean has stopped doing the covers.

Comments are closed.