Booking Through Thursday: Library Week

booking

I saw that National Library week is coming up in April, and that led to some questions. How often do you use your public library and how do you use it? Has the coffeehouse/bookstore replaced the library? Did you go to the library as a child? Do you have any particular memories of the library? Do you like sleek, modern, active libraries or the older, darker, quiet, cozy libraries?


I use my library probably every day. When I read a great review on a blog, I go to my library account and either put the book on hold or my list. The library’s system allows patrons to put books on a list to be ordered later. That way patrons don’t clog up their holds lists.

I visit my library branches probably once or twice a week. I go by myself on my way to school and on other days I take all the kids. Our visits are usually short but we leave with bags filled with  books.

My family and I also use the library’s programs like the ABC Soup that celebrates whatever holiday coming up and kids do fun art projects. Everyone’s favorite program is the summer reading program. The program is for all ages. After reading a certain amount of books, you receive free books of your choice from the library.

When my family no longer wants our books that are in good condition, we donate them to our library. They either keep the books or sell them in their library sales. They help us and we help them.

Childhood

I didn’t start going to the library until I was a tween. I loved the library and I went there almost every day after school. My mom knew if it was dark outside to wait until fifteen minutes after the library closed and she would always spot me coming up the sidewalk, dragging my backpack.

The Look and Feel of a Library

I don’t care if a library is sleek and modern or old, quiet, and cozy. What matters to me is the selection and the ease of access. I want the library I go to to have an easy-to-use OPAC (online public access catalog). It shouldn’t take me more than a few clicks of my mouse to find the materials I’m looking for online.

I also want approachable librarians and paraprofessions that I  feel comfortable going to with questions. The libraries I go to are perfect in those aspects so it’s one of the reasons why I keep going back.

Library vs. Coffeehouse/Bookstore

Libraries win every time.  For me coffeehouses and bookstores can never compare to everything libraries do for their surrounding communities. Libraries are the backbone of a democratic society. Anyone who wants an education no matter their citizenship status can receive one by visiting their local library. Bookstores are great for buying and coffeehouses are great for offering beverages but both  are businesses concerned only with the bottom line.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Booking Through Thursday, meme.. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Booking Through Thursday: Library Week

  1. mizb17 says:

    You’ve won the Zombie Chicken Award! Grab it here, at Should Be Reading.😉

    ~MizB

  2. iliana says:

    Libraries are the best aren’t they? I don’t go to the library as much since we moved last summer. Just because I miss my old library which was wonderful and I’m finding my new one doesn’t compare. But, I should probably just get over that and be happy that I do have a library near me.

    • Vasilly says:

      No, I don’t think you should get over. Selection and ease are very important when it comes to libraries. Are there any other branches near you? I have several in my area. If I’m not happy with one, I can always go to another.

  3. Beth F says:

    My library has a wish list. I never thought of using it. I’m changing my ways today!

  4. vivienne says:

    I love the library too. I must visit at least once a week and always have my full quota of books out.

  5. Jessica says:

    Don’t you just love being able to order your library books online and then picking them up when they are available. Best thing ever invented.

  6. Becca says:

    I completely agree…libraries are heavenly!

Comments are closed.