March Reading Wrap-Up

March has been my best reading month yet this year. In total I read forty books! Don’t get too excited; only fifteen were adult reads. My list is at the end of this post. I signed up for The Year of Readers Challenge in January, supporting 826National.org and FirstBook.org. Because I’m supporting two charities instead of one, I alternate every month between the two, donating $1.50 for each book I read in that month. Firstbook.org is the charity this month, so I’m donating $60 to their cause.

These were my favorite reads of the month.

Favorite graphic novel–  Fables Vol. 10: The Good Prince by Bill Willingham. I can never say enough how well-written this series is.

Favorite adult readThe Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery.

Favorite non-fictionThe Rights of the Reader by Daniel Pennac.

Favorite young adult read- East by Edith Pattou. East is based on the Norwegian fairy tale East of the Sun, West of the Moon. I stayed up all night Sunday reading this book. That says a lot coming from a mother of three small children.

Favorite picture bookWhere the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak. It had the advantage against all the other picture books I read this month because it’s the childhood favorite.

Favorite short story– It’s a tie between “Godmother Death” by Jane Yolen  and “Alef the Idiot” by Jonathon Keats, from the short story collection The Book of the Unknown. “Godmother Death” is about Death being a godmother to a peasant boy who later becomes a doctor and tries to trick Death for the love of a woman. In “Alef the Idiot”, Alef is the village idiot married to  Chaya, the smartest person in the village. One day Alef is tricked into giving up his soul to become smarter, which he thinks will make Chaya happy. I won’t tell you anything more except to say that this is one of the best love stories I’ve ever read.

Books in blue are adult reads:

  1. Fat Cat – Margaret Read MacDonald
  2. Fables Vol. 3 – Bill Willingham
  3. Fables Vol. 4
  4. Fables Vol. 6
  5. Fables Vol. 7
  6. Fables Vol. 8
  7. Fables Vol. 9
  8. Fables Vol. 10
  9. John, Paul, George, and Ben – Lane Smith
  10. The Bill Martin Jr. Big Book of Poetry – Bill Martin Jr.
  11. Dinosaur vs. Bedtime – Bob Shea
  12. I will surprise my friend – Mo Willems
  13. Playground Day – Jennifer Merz
  14. Someday – Eileen Spinelli
  15. Biscuit goes to school – Alyssa Satin Capucilli
  16. Ella: The Elegant Elephant – Carmela & Steven D’Armico
  17. Ella sets sail – Carmela & Steven D’Armico
  18. East – Edith Pattou
  19. The Scarlet Letter- Nathaniel Hawthorne
  20. The Big Green Pocketbook – Candice F. Ransom
  21. The House in the Night – Susan Marie Swanson
  22. A Good Day – Kevin Henkes
  23. Scaredy Squirrel at the Beach – Melanie Watt
  24. Scaredy Squirrel makes a friend – Melanie Watt
  25. My Friend, the Starfinder – George Ella Lyon
  26. Ella Sarah Gets Dressed – Margaret Chodos-Irvine
  27. The Rights of the Reader – Daniel Pennac
  28. Bats at the Library – Brian Lies
  29. Old Bear – Kevin Henkes
  30. Wake Up, Sun – David L. Harrison
  31. Hansel and Gretel – Cynthia Rylant
  32. The Wall: Growing up Under the Iron Curtain – Peter Sis
  33. Anne Leibovitz at Work – Anne Leibovitz
  34. The Little Bit Scary People – Emily Jenkins
  35. Notes to Self – Samara O’Shea
  36. The Octupus – Denys Cazet
  37. Where the Wild Things Are – Maurice Sendak
  38. Bonsai – Alexander
  39. The Elegance of the Hedgehog – Muriel Barbery
  40. How to Heal a Broken Wing – Bob Graham

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Monthly Wrap Up. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to March Reading Wrap-Up

  1. Gavin says:

    Yeah, what a month. You did good! I can’t wait to get The Book Of The Unknown from the library. I have a couple more of the Fables coming as well.

    • Vasilly says:

      I feel like I should have read more adult reads. Oh well. There’s always next month. You are going to love The Book of the Unknown. I can’t wait to see what you think of the latest Fables!

  2. Molly says:

    VERY impressive!!

    I absolutely LOVED The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

  3. Kim says:

    40 books is amazing (even if a bunch weren’t adult books — it still takes time to read those). Nice job!

  4. vivienne says:

    40 books – I am impressed! I wish I could do 40 -even with some children books, I feel that it would be impossible.

    • Vasilly says:

      I didn’t realize I read so many. It felt like I had only read a few but the children makes sure to put a book in my hands.

  5. Kailana says:

    Well, I read 42 books and most of them were graphic novels, manga, and young adult novels. So, I get a bit excited by the numbers, but was it really that hard… I should be reading more adult stuff, I guess!

    • Vasilly says:

      We’re not going to worry about the adult stuff. Let’s just read for fun and not worry.

  6. iliana says:

    Wow, even 15 adult books is a great number! Hope April is another good reading month for you.

    I have Elegance of the Hedgehog on my list of course🙂

  7. Chris says:

    40 books?! that’s crazy!! lol…congrats!

  8. Sandra says:

    That’s a good month in reading. I enjoyed The Elegance of the Hedgehog and The Scarlet Letter myself. Happy reading in April.

Comments are closed.