Sunday Salon: Slow motion

This week has been one of the slowest reading weeks for me in a long time. It started out promising with me hoping to finish the finish reading the books that I had started. Then Wednesday night my 5 year-old son’s asthma started acting up, his medicine was taking forever to do its job. I spent the rest of the week at home with him going back and forth to the doctor while getting only three hours of sleep. Now he’s on new and better medicine and all of us are happy.

I’m still reading The Reading Zone by Nancie Atwell. The Reading Zone is Atwell’s account of how her school encourage reading. Kids read for at least an hour a day at school. Though comphrension and skills are a concern for every student, by encouraging kids to read both will improve over time. I’ve just been reading it and wishing I had went there when I was younger.

fablesOne of the best things about this week besides new medication was that my library finally put the last books of the Fables series on hold for me. I finished books four and six yesterday and will be starting seven in just a couple of minutes! The Fables series is engaging, disturbing, beautiful, funny. . . It has everything you want in a story. When I finish reading the book eleven, I plan on writing a review on it.

Required reading this week for school is Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, Uncle Tom’s Cabin, and Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl. This is for one class. Let’s hope I get it all done.

yenneI also plan on reading Sitting Bull by Bill Yenne. Isn’t the cover great? The words get out of the way to show you Sitting Bull. When I was younger I read a speech by Sitting Bill and my curiosity for him appeared. I plan on taking my time reading this biography.

So that’s it in my corner. What are you doing this Sunday? What are you reading?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sunday Salon: Slow motion

  1. Frances says:

    Glad your wee one is feeling better! That assigned reading for school will be better than you think I hope. Then back to the fun stuff like that appealing Sitting Bull book.

    Finishing The Post Office Girl today and loving it!

  2. claire says:

    Good to know your son has better medicine, and that he’s feeling better.😀

    I’m reading Ex-Cottagers in Love by JM Kearns, Canadian dick lit, and enjoying it so far.

  3. marie says:

    I’m sorry your son had a tough week- it sounds like everyone did, but I’m glad he’s doing better.🙂 I’m trying to stay out of the rain and keep myself awake!

  4. Kailana says:

    I read all three of those books for one class when I was in university, too! Good stuff, actually!

    Hope you continue to enjoy Fables and that this week is better than last!

  5. Priscilla says:

    I’m also happy to hear your son is doing well. Asthma is so tough, especially for little ones.

    Happy reading this week. Sometimes slow is good, anyway!

  6. vivienne says:

    I have Sitting Bull too sitting in my book pile. I hope your son is feeling better now – I suffer quite badly with asthma so I have a fair idea of how horrible he must have felt and how frightened you must have been.
    I have never heard of the Fables books – I shall add them to my list.

  7. Yvonne says:

    I’m happy to hear your son is better. I’ve given you an award. Stop by my blog to check it out.

  8. Gavin says:

    Glad to hear your son is better. Finding the right medication can be a scary process. I’ve started reading the Fable series and am loving it. Sitting Bull looks intriguing, I’m curious to know what you think of it. Have a great week!

  9. Vasilly says:

    Frances: Thanks! I read the description for The Post Office Girl and now I’m putting it on hold at my library.

    Gavin: Thanks! He was diagnosed with an asthmatic cough a year ago but now it’s asthma. I’m still trying to learn all that I can. Have a great week too!

    Yvonne: Thank you!

    Vivienne: You have to read the Fables series. It’s so addictive! I was terrified when his asthma started flaring. Thankfully it’s over for now.

    Priscilla: Thanks! Happy readings to you too!

    Kailana: I’m glad to hear it! I was worried because we also have an essay to turn in this week w/ the reading.

    Marie: Take a nap! Rainy days are the best!

    Claire: I’ll be looking out for your review. I need to start reading more books by Canadians.

  10. I am glad your son is doing better on the new medication. My friend recently had to switch over to a new one too. It took awhile, but she finally seems to be doing okay again.

    The reading zone project sounds like a good one. I know my mom encourages the children to read in her classroom each day during quiet time. I don’t think it’s quite as formalized as Nancie Atwell’s school’s efforts though.

    I really need to have my husband break out his Fable volumes for me to read. I keep hearing how great the series is.

    I hope you have a good week, including getting all your reading done. I hope to finish up my current book today and start on the next one this evening. First I need to start on the laundry though.

    • Vasilly says:

      Nancie does the same thing in her classroom, reading aloud. I’m currently in college and have an English teacher who reads aloud to us. It’s a great thing.

      I hope you try the Fables series. I just finished reading three volumes in the last 24 hours. It’s amazing I completed any homework!

      I hope you have a great week too.

  11. Nymeth says:

    Yep..Fables really is everything you want in a story. Looking forward to your review!

    I’ve been curious about Frederick Douglass for a long while. One of these days I’ll pick it up.

    I’m glad your son is doing better, Vasilly! My brother used to have bad asthma attacks when we were little, and it was hard on the whole family. The good news is that they disappeared almost completely once he reached his teens.

    • Vasilly says:

      Thanks, Nymeth! Asthma is hereditary in my family, but often it leaves around the teen years. I really hope so. Have a good week!

  12. Eva says:

    I thought I’d gotten Fables Volume 3 from my library, but it’s the third volume of the spin-off series Jack of Fables. I’m soooo sad that my library seems to only have the later volumes of Fables.:/

Comments are closed.